We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was too salty!”
Review of 99 Seafood

99 Seafood
Ranked #248 of 549 Restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was too salty!”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We ordered two lobsters (1.8kg), four king sized tiger prawns, one chicken pad see ew and two mango shake. The bill was 3440baht. We thought everything was cooked to perfection, however, please let the cook know that you do not want your food to be seasoned with too much salt as our pad see ew was inedible! You can haggle for the lobsters, as they were quite expensive. We got a few hundred baht off the total bill.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tresbelleboutique007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    56
    35
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal this trip”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My family and I found this Restaurant to be the best this trip. We tried No6 very dissapointing, Enjoy-the food ok but the owner a pain,Sabai Sabai great as always. But 99 Seafood was the best. Great food great service great price.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My partner and I had eaten in joes downstairs and da maurizio which we did enjoy but our best meals were in 99, the staff were fantastic and even stopped the traffic for us to cross the road, now that's what I call putting your customer first. The food was extremely good value for money with plenty flavour and always fresh. We stayed for 21 nights in patong and probably ate at 99 14 nights, we just couldn't walk past. Don't be put off by the White plastic seats and decor as this place will most probably serve you the best food in Patong.
We can't wait to return next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We wanted to dine on the freshest seafood but without paying overboard prices. No.99 did not disappoint.”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The waiters were touting us to come in, little did they know that we had read reviews and already decided to visit the place. We were brought in and at once shown the "live" display, where we chose the lobster and garoupa. Some negotiation ensued and we shaved 200 baht off the price for the lobster.

We decided to steam the fish HK style and fry the lobster with garlic and pepper. Knowing that Thais like sweet dishes, we told the waitress to withhold the sugar.

The dishes came in reasonable time, served with steamed rice and an extra side order of vegetable for two. Everything was delicious as evident from the empty dishes at the end of the meal. Staff was attentive and cordial. If we had to find one fault, it would be that all the dishes were too salty for our palate (if we had known we would have asked for less salt). However, we mitigated it by eating with steamed rice.

Prices are reasonable and definitely cheaper than back in Singapore. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennislwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lot better then RedBoat which is just beside it”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We tried the one beside it and It was bad... We had grilled fish here and It was great. Although it is the priciest along the stretch but I think it was for good reasons...

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plationz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 99 Seafood also viewed

 

Been to 99 Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing