We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guesthouse, Amazing Staff!”
Review of Artha Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artha Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 405 Patong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Patong, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Guesthouse, Amazing Staff!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Artha Guesthouse and Mally's bar, run by Mally and his wife, is a fantastic place to stay in Phuket. The rooms are spacious and cleaned well every day. I stayed at Artha with my boyfriend after iniitally moving to Thailand, and one room was plenty of room to house both of us and all of our luggage. A friend joined us after a few days, and Mally let all 3 of us stay in one room for an extremely cheap price, and all of our luggage still fit.

While the rooms are fantastic quality for the price, the best benefit to Artha is Mally and his wife. They have gone far out of their way to make our stay as easy as possible, giving us the best recommendations for taxis, food, and even driving us places themselves and letting us borrow a motorbike for free. When you stay at Artha, you are treated as family and it is a welcome feeling in a foreign country! I highly recommend Artha Guesthouse for the price, quality and unbelievable staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Connor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    27
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
73
60
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Artha Guesthouse is nothing short of impressive. The rooms are rather spacious for two people. The beds were always cleaned the next day and there was air-conditioning and hot water (something that I didn't even find in 4 star hotels in Thailand)

I came about the Artha Guesthouse as my girlfriend and I were traveling around Thailand looking for teaching jobs. In need of a place to stay in Phuket last minute, we saw the great reviews on this guesthouse and booked a room. Upon arrival we found out exactly why the guesthouse was receiving the reviews it did... The management is superb. Not only did the manager, Mally, found us a taxi to drive us from the airport to the guesthouse in the middle of the night, but he waited up for our arrival. He greeted us with a smile, and he said that he would be here to help in any circumstance. Before we went to bed we shared with him the purpose of our stay.

The next morning we caught him in the lobby, and he told us he had something to show us. We went to his computer, and there he had pulled up a list of teaching jobs available in the Phuket area. However, it didn't stop there. He also contacted some of his friends who are teachers and asked them if they had any advice for us.

Not only did he Mally us with our job search, he also lined up any sort of transportation that we needed and had great suggestions of places for us to visit in our free time. There was one day that he even offered to take us with him on a snorkeling trip.

All in all, the guesthouse itself is absolutely amazing and Mally and his wife are even better.I highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Mally helped with airport transfers, internet needs and all accommodation needs. Rooms were clean and spacious. Good location and far enough from the bars that stay open too late.
Thanks Mally for your hospitality

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Even before arriving mally had advised me to contact him when getting my travel into patong from the harbour where my boat had arrived. i duly called and his wife spoke to my taxi driver (very helpful if you do not speak thai) and my journey begun. Upon arriving at artha I was greeted by Mally and his lovely wife and children. I was shown to my room which was big, clean and very practical. After a quick shower I headed downstairs where Mally asked what I planned on doing, after explaining my plans he told me exactly where to go, asked how I wanted to get there and arranged for my travel and made sure I paid the correct price (as sometimes taxis, tuk tuks and motorbike taxis try and overcharge). Even when out he dropped me a text to ask if everything was ok and if I needed any other advice. I enjoy a party so asked where a good nightclub was, yet again Mally was keen to help and advised me of a good club not far from where I was. The club was great and I was very glad of his advice. I stayed for a total of 4 days and every day the advice I received was invaluable to ensuring my break was as easy and stress free as possible. Can't speak highly enough of the place, as I say, not just a guesthouse but a guide as well. Of all the guesthouses I stayed at throughout Thailand this stood head and shoulders above the rest.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevie_T666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a fantastic time at Artha Guest house. Mally and his wife made us feel like part of the family from the moment we arrived. Anything you want to do just speak to Mally and he organises everything. Rooms were large and clean. Can not fault this place at all. Highly recommended.

P.S Coldest beers in Thailand!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Love this place. We felt at ease right from the start which is really saying something as we have stayed at numerous places over many trips to Patong. This was a relaxing stay, largely due to Mally and his wife as they are very helpful and caring.There are some stairs, so if you have problems with them it is something to keep in mind. It is a 20 min walk to Jungceloyn shopping centre and another 5 or 10 to Bangla Rd but its an easy walk, or 200 Baht set fee for a tuk-tuk anywhere in Patong Beach. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived Mally and his wife couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are very spacious and kept very clean. The wifi is very fast compared to most places. Everything is in a short walking distance but far enough away that the nightlife doesn't keep you awake. The bar down stairs is quality, Man utd themed. I can't recomend the place highly enough and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RossB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.1 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
0.3 mi away
Patong Princess Hotel
Patong Princess Hotel
#66 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.7 mi away
FunDee Boutique Hotel
FunDee Boutique Hotel
#133 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspira Prime Patong
Aspira Prime Patong
#61 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artha Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artha Guesthouse

Property: Artha Guesthouse
Address: 262 Phung Muang Sai Gor Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 405 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Artha Guesthouse Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing