We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your pick”
Review of Artha Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artha Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 415 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2011

All about Artha Hotel starts and ends with Mally the Owner of this place.

I haven't come across a warmer host. On the day of our arrival..which went well past midnight...he came out on the street and heartily welcomed us.

I had forgotten to exchange enough money and Mally actually lent me a 1000 baht that night for going out. I was flattered at his gesture!! ( I had not even paid him for the room at this point)

Superb Guy. Even his guests were super friendly and one guy actually carried our huge bag all the way to the fourth floor to help us.

As for the Location....The location isnt too bad according to me. Yes the karaoke places opposite do make noises. Its far from Patong Beach, Bangla Road etc. It can be convenient only if you hire a bike( which we did). Walking back late at Night may not be a good idea I guess and its a good 20 mins walk too.

If on a bike..location is good as you can easily access patong and other attractions and is quiet otherwise. Also bang on the road going to Karon.


Rooms nice, large and clean. A/C inadequate and wanting for the size of the room.

We were given the room on the 4th floor. No elevators. steep stairs...not an easy job to carry luggage unless you have a backpack or one of mally's friendly guests helps u!!

We had booked for 4 nights and checked out the second day and Mally was absolutely fine with it and charged only for one night and no cancellation charges etc.

Room charge was 600 baht per night. But for that price or slightly higher you can get incomparable value for money just around this place.

We shifted to Hotel Amaan residence ( just next doors) and at 700 baht with breakfast and amazing rooms and service..i found it a steal.

All in all.. the host is fantastic and very friendly..but I think there are better options around( many not listed on tripadvisor also).

I must add here that though we checked out.. we went and said hi to Mally and also wrote to him once back..simply because he was so warm!!

So guys take your pick.

Room Tip: avoid higher floors..no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exchangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 263 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

We couldn't really ask for much more during our stay. Cheap, clean and quality accomodation. Good location and facilites. Mal the owner certainly adds to the stay in a friendly and helpful manner! He gave good advice on all aspects of Phuket and sorted out any trips we needed. We enjoyed our time spent in the hotel bar with Mal and friends with good conversation and banter! Overall I would recommend the hotel to anybody who was planning on staying in Phuket. I will definitely stay again whenever I go back. AVFC

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the Artha for four days and I must say that the place is very well managed. For the price we were paying we got an excellent deal. The rooms were clean, the housekeeping tidy and the place is perfectly located, with a plethora of good eats and places to explore all a hand's throw from it. As for the noise factor, you can't expect to come to place like phuket and expect a little noise every now and then.

Mally (short for Malcom the owner) is very friendly and extremely helpful. His knowledge of all matters local is probably a big USP for people travelling blind to the place for he's pretty keyed into most of the best deals and was a load of help with all the useful tips about places to visit and dine in. The ManU themed bar on the ground floor is pretty quaint and comes alive on days when EPL team's playing. All in all, a great deal!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prithvi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was our first trip to Phuket and as usual we were very careful abt where we booked our hotel stay. We looked at several hotels before we decided on Artha Hotel. When the owner Malcom Russell himself befriended us, kept in touch with us and advised us all the way until we checked out after a stay of 5 days, we realised that we had made the right choice.

The Artha hotel is a nice small and cozy place to stay for a group of friends or families. Malcom took great care in making our stay as comfortable and organised as possible by arranging our day trips to the islands (a lot cheaper than the published rates)and suggesting good restaurants and watering holes.

Mrs.Russell and her housekeeping team do a great job in keeping the guest rooms and public areas very clean and tidy.

All in all a well run place and a must visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikhil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Artha Hotel, Phuket Thailand
Summary in under 10 words: Bad location and Impossible to get sleep.

Detailed Review:

We booked The Artha Hotel based on reading the first 3 pages (30 passionately positive reviews) on TripAdvisor. Boy, do we ever wish we got to the 4th page in our search results where there is ONE truly accurate review by Sydney-Bound1.

We wanted a weekend vacation in Phuket to be the cherry on top of our Asia trip but instead we got NO sleep and could barely breathe from the heavy smoke fumes that rose into our room.

Pros:
*Large & tidy room. Nice owners who speak English.

Cons:
* BAD location - on a busy street surrounded by Karaoke bars where drunk singers bellow all night long! During our stay, they howled well into the next afternoon!

No exaggeration here, the owner Mally says this unfortunately happens all the time with these karaoke bars (It is so loud that it sounds like you are standing right next to the screaming singers, street drunks & thundering speakers).

*Thick smoke wreaks throughout the lobby, bar, check-in, stairwell, rooms...etc. The smoke stench from the chain-smoking hotel lobby loungers never let up during our time there thus making it difficult to breathe anywhere in the hotel.

The Artha Hotel was more than a 15 minute walk to the main Patong beach area for us. We later found other budget hotels that were newer, nicer and closer to the beach for the same price.

Although the owners are friendly, the overall stay was not comfortable, the location is not great and the area is too "rock concert-like" loud.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 604happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Absolutely lovely hotel with a real homely feel !!! Excellent location <5 mins walk to Patong Beach !! Great atmosphere back at the hotel and always a bit of banter from the owner Malley. Making this my regular hotel for staying in Patong. Perfect spot A+
Seán

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean_O_C1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Guys this is my first review on Tripadvisor, although i follow Tripadvisor very closely but never written review before...

four of us went for vacation to Thailand for week and our first destination was Phuket.. we made choice of Artha based on location and rates...

Hotel was very conveniently located near patong beach.. beach and walking street distance is about 15- 20 mins walk.. Mally hotel owner is great person.. we spent about 3 days in Phuket and Mally helped us in everything from showing us best places to visit, helped us in booking our island trips and arranged for transportation etc..

about hotel.. hotel location is good, rooms are clean & specious, with free WIFI and locker facility..Mally's bar at the entrance of hotel is good place to spent couple of hours in night...

Finally rate... guys you cant even imagine... rate was just 600 batt per room (Oct Month).. I truely loved the place and I think it is best place in terms of Value for money.. we all were bachelors but hotel is good for couples as well... Mally is very nice and friendly person...

only thing which you should take care while using local transport to Hotel is please make Cab/Bus driver speak to hotel guys for location.. local people get confuse Artha with hotel called "Arita"... make sure you keep hotel number and Mally's number with you...

net net.. great place, great location, great hospitality.. superb value for money...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Guesthouse
Absolute Guesthouse
#5 of 415 in Patong
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 331 in Patong
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#17 of 232 in Patong
194 reviews
1.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artha Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artha Guesthouse

Address: 262 Phung Muang Sai Gor Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 415 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: $16 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Artha Guesthouse Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing