We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy to Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Albany. WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy to Return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the resort for the last two weeks of September. Were a little concern with some previous comments from other reviewers, Firstly the comments about the decking needing repairs/maintenance, well it commenced being done in the last week of our holiday, I’m guessing that it may take 3 to four weeks depending on how hard they work. They commenced at the pool bar area then started heading around towards the restaurant. They removed and would appear not replacing the decking that covered the pool draining area. The next section they removed the whole corner area and had commenced replacing it, but had long way to go when we left to come home.

We found most of the staff friendly, reception, Restaurant (especially Jack and Liela), Pool Bar and House-keeping. We really think that you need to visit a foreign country with a smile and a friendly attitude. Breakfast had sufficient variety to satisfy most tastes. We had a couple of meals in the restaurant both lunch and tea and found it to be quite acceptable. The Resort supplied 2 free shuttle buses to Banglia Rd, they run 10.30am and 2pm if you didn’t want to walk, We did not find the walk to taxing, they say it is only 900m, can confirm that it was a easy walk, I felt that it was only 2 and a half blocks.

Bedrooms were clean, mattress relative soft by Thailand standard, but we did ask and were given a mattress topper. And for a change the bedrooms had ample power outlets. You are also supplied with 2 free bottles of water. There was Free wifi all over the resort, I personally didn’t have any problems with connection, my wife did however but I put it down to a different type of tablet.

We do have some negative comments- We found that the rooms had limited cupboards/draws for two travellers, with one of us having to live out of the suitcase. We found the entry to the shower which is over the bath, you are required to step up and over a high bath through a gap between the wall and the glass partitioning, there are safety rails to hold but I found this slightly dangerous. Water temperature control was hard with it running hot then cold.

There are a couple of 711’s nearby, we would strongly recommend the restaurant Eat24, out the front of the hotel, turn right and it’s about 50m and on your right. The meals were filling and cheap, 770Baht for 3 entrees, 4 main, and 4 drinks, that’s about A$24 for four people in total.

We are back and are planning a return visit to Patong for next year, would we stay there again the answer would be YES!
Cheers

Trevor & Donna

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdbmj2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawaddi Patong ... R, General Manager at Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences. We are delighted to know that you enjoy many aspects of our services.

We are very delighted to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Your cheerful feedback sharing is very much appreciated as it really encourages our team to continue doing better.

We believe that you will always enjoy when you come back again and again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    354
    104
    30
    19
See reviews for
155
295
78
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We moved to the Sawaddi for 4 nights after spending 2 at the RCB. I liked the Sawaddi much better and would stay there again. For my tastes, this side of Patong was better and quieter. If you want night life/action, it might be too quiet for you. The rooms we got were extremely spacious, while not new, were very well maintained. The wi-fi was not great, it cut out and was a bit pokey. I could not use iMessage, but could do other functions. Our rate (about $50USD) included breakfast daily and I thought this was one of better breakfasts we had while in Thailand.The pool was pleasant and we went there each afternoon when we returned from the beach. We ate dinner in the Roydi Restaurant a few times. They were running a special on Indian food and it was tasty, but the portions were very small. Butter chicken had 5 small pieces of chicken! Contrary to many contributors, I found the staff throughout the hotel spoke very decent English. The tour desk, manned by a young lady from Japan, was helpful and she arranged a day trip to Phi Phi Island for us. We did not use the spa, because the Thai massage outside the hotel, within walking distance, were very adequate & inexpensive. Overall I was completely satisfied with the relaxing stay we had and highly recommend the Sawaddi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftyonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawaddi Patong ... R, General Manager at Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Sawaddi and for sharing your experience to tripadvisor's readers.

Thank you very much for sharing good time and feedback with us. We are also very happy to see you are happy during the stay and even more happy to know the feedback.

We treat your feedback as our encouragement for you to come back for even better experiences

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My first night at the hotel I had bed bugs and after asking to change rooms I had to wait for over an hour to move and was actually put into a room that wasnt as nice as the first. I wasnt given any upgrade or offered anything for the hassle, which I thought was very poor.
The WIFI is great most of the time and the breakfast is good for Thailand.
The staff at reception can hardly speak a word of English, wish doesnt help when most of the guests staying there are Westerners. However a special mention to one member (Rose) who spoke excellent English and helped when she could, but when she wasnt working the rest of the reception staff were useles and other guests commented on this also. I booked the hotel through the website for 4 nights which gave me a free massage, but as the staff couldnt speak English they didnt understand when I requested the free massage so I lost out - very annoyed by this. So I decided to have a massage and had to pay - the spa therapists were lovely and I had one of the best treatments by them.
The pool i snice - they were doing some work to it.

I would not advise to stay at the hotel and its over priced!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawaddi Patong ... R, General Manager at Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the point of service at the front desk. This is not normally our reputation. We will investigate and make sure that the team can operate and provide good & professional service in all circumstances. Please accept our apology in the case that we did not upgrade and/or any compensate offer.

We appreciate all the comments. Some are cheerful. Some are for us to make better jobs. For the free spa in our record show 2 nights booked direct and 2 nights through the agent. We will careful recheck send detail to your personal email.

We are again very sorry that some of our service upset you.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

spacious rooms,beautiful clean pool, close enough to restuarants and shopping without all the nightlife noise of Patong. would recommend this hotel to travellers wanting a pleasant, relaxing holiday experience. special thanks to Jintana for all her help and kindness. best wishes Kevin Page Darwin Australia

Room Tip: with balcony overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is quite average for a four star. Pool was nice, and rooms were nice but the three things that we weren't happy wth were - buffet breakfast was very average, wifi was not great, (kept cutting out) and it was quite a distance walk to the main part of Patong. Although it wasn't absolutely terrible, we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli-Baxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawaddi Patong ... R, General Manager at Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at Sawaddi Patong Resort on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to read that our room and pool are nice. Regarding the location, may we take this opportunity to clarify our location, we are located in Patong area but not in the busy or noisy area and with only 1.8 Kms to Patong beach and 0.8 Kms to the Jungcylon Department Store and Banglar road, this help to create a peaceful and privacy atmosphere while stay in, additional we are provide a daily shuttle transfer to beach, shopping area and Banglar road with free of charge.
In the point of wifi signal and breakfast, on behalf of our team I would like to apologize for the aspects of your experience that fell short of expectations .We take the comments where we did not meet expectations as opportunities to review and improve our performance.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great hotel for people who not into nightlife. Quiet surrounding but still can hear minimum sound from the pub if you get the city view. 7-10mins walks depends on your speed. Free shuttle bus to jungceylon and patong beach 2x daily. Room is spacious and clean. Would recommend this hotel for travellers on short trips, family and couples not for elderly. 90% would come back to this hotel if the price is right. Cheers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skafac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranebennur, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was a nice experience to be housed in such a beautiful and comfortable environs of Sawaddi Patong...meaning Welcome to Patong...undoubtedly a good welcome to thailand and to phuket in particular...our first trip overseas and to thailand...overall a pleasant stay and we won't forget the "lost and found" case of my wife's Ipad...!!!Thanx to the FantaSea and Sawaddi Patong....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Wrawei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Patong Beach
BEST WESTERN Patong Beach
#18 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Phuket Deevana
Ramada Phuket Deevana
#15 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#47 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa

Property: Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
Address: 21 Sainamyen Road | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#22 Family Hotel in Patong
#26 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect LocationPeacefully but conveniently located in Patong on the south-west coast of Phuket island, within a comfortable stroll of Patong’s renowned entertainment heart land Bangla Road and the glorious beach. Just a 40 minute drive from Phuket International Airport, we aim to be your first choice when booking your Patong Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawaddi Patong Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing