We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't bliss for me....”
Review of The Bliss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bliss
Ranked #45 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Bliss in Patong in January 2013. Right up front will say I travelling alone, but didn't want to spend my nights alone. Patong is known for its nightlife and of course the centre of that is Bangla Rd!

The pros: Great location, across street from lovely beach. Room was fine, comfy bed. The food at breakfast was good.

Cons: I asked before I got there about whether the hotel was "guest friendly" was assured it was. Checked it--double checked yes I had registered as two. After first night, my guest and I go to breakfast and that is when trouble begins--the restaurant staff have me as solo--guest will have to pay...making a scene--which is of course embarrassing to me and more so to my guest. I complain to desk-they will sort it out---this repeats itself the next morning. By third morning it was finally sorted out and no hassle. Lots of stares and looks--not great place in general for those with guests.

Other cons--the wifi sucks--very unreliable especially in room. Front desk says they will book trips--but refused to help me book the boat trip I wanted to Phi Phi---because it was cheaper and they would get no kick back. Generally not the friendliest staff around. Bit of hike to Bangla which is a pro and con--not quite so crazy. Perhaps a bit pricey for Patong and facilities.

All in all--OK---if you are a couple, I would say it likely it would be good...solo guys I can't recommend it....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuelphPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for The Bliss
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 515 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

After a long flight we arrived in the wee hours of the morning and went to our room with minimum fuss only to find a few issues. Upon discussing these with the Manager we were upgraded to a suite for an additional fee. The location is excellent and quiet as it is far enough away form the night life but not so far as to be able to walk.
We thoroughly relaxed during our twenty-one day stay and really wanted to stay longer, but dutifully returned to our commitments.
Desk staff were always eager to help and the night security person was most pleasant. Room attendants were also most obliging.
We were sad to leave but will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a quote for a suite.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ati2dSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

When assessing this hotel I'm drawn between a good review and bad review.

1. Checkin. prety quick by thai standards and we did not have to hand over a credit card, which is a bonus.
2. location. Great. straight across the road from patong beach on the very south of the beach. The only bad thing that comes with this is noise. the rooms are not double pain glass so all road noise and the endless amount of fireworks being let off at the beach can be heard 24 hours a day.
3. rooms. This is where the potential word appears. The pool suite which i stayed in is large, very large, about 80 square metres with a plunge pool. the rooms are not well maintianed as there was writing on the walls from previous guests, marks all over all of the furniture, holes in the doors where someone has either fallen or punched, screen doors which take 3 to 4 times to actually lock. The lighting in the family/study room was terrible and made it appear that it was night time all the time.
The bathroom was terrible. the shower, which looked out onto the road has stained glass up to about 5 foot off the ground and after that clear seethrough glass where anyone on the street can see you shower. that is not good, and this appears to be the same for all suites on all floors. The hot water is sporadic and I had to have 2 cold showers.
The plunge pool were great if you don't mind swimming in the moss. I was hoping to upload photos but every plunge pool as well as the hotel pools had mould/moss. we risked it and only our daughter got a little ill (but she could have got sick from anything).
3. Staff. Great, all of them very firendly. the only run in we had was with the breakfast staff member who did not want to let us in because someone had already signed for our room. Clearly it wasn't us but he really didn't want to let us have breakfast.
4. Facilities. the hotel looks unfinished and run down. after walking around the hotel I found that on each floor they had what could be conference rooms etc still under construction and never finished. Took the lift to the hotel roof (seemed okay because it let us out), but once again was a construction site which was unfinished. I shouldn't say construction site because its clear that no work had been performed on the hotel in years. the views from the roof were awesome but they never developed it into a rooftop bar. The hotel front needs a good clean and paint job as well. with the Suites you get free wifi however during peak times it appeared that all the bandwidth was being taken up by hotel staff in the lobby who were all on thier phones watching TV.
5. Breakfast. not good. no real variety, but this is a butique hotel and not a huge resort so if booking here you wont get the variety of a 300 room resort. The egg and bacon station were its only asset but there was only one person cooking and they were cooking both bacon and eggs individually in one small 25 cm pan for every guest in the hotel. You waited for what seemed like 10 minutes to get an egg.
6. Maintenance. there appears to be little of this.they worked on our pool all but one day and this wasn't to clean it, but we were not told of any issues so we can't be sure what they were doing. The rest of the hotel as mentioned earlier needs a good clean and finishing.
7. Room service. Only used it once when our daughter was sick but they had trouble taking our order and instead of 2 Hawian Pizzas we got 2 Hawian cocktails. looked great but I was hungry not thirsty.
8. Check out. Like checkin was quick and uneventful.

All in all this hotel is in a great location, with friendly staff and massive rooms, which equals great potential, but without maintenance I fear will be a 400bhat a night hostel within a couple of years.

Room Tip: maybe a room on the 4th floor would give you great views to block out the other issues
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rat014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is close to the beach however road next to it can be a problem as it gets sometimes noisy during the night.

Where to start... Nothing like bliss experience. Breakfast was garbage. Food was not fresh, very fat, very very limited choice for vegetarians. Just dining room was nightmare - dirty, no attention to detail whatsoever, holes and stains on table covers. All looked very unhygienic. Staff couldn't care less about guests during breakfast. Overall trash. Next thing restaurant next to pool... The smell coming either from aquarium or pipes was unbearable - smell or sewage in 40 degrees can make you fell bit weak. And most of all room... Outdated "design" was still ok but bed is like a rock. Prepare yourself as you will be in pain next day. Squeaky balcony doors do not close tight so buy yourself mosquito repellant. Just think twice before choosing this hotel. Great potential just ran down by very poor management. One of the worst I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krzysztof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

First thing you need to know its two hotels , I guess they purchased the hotel next door a few years ago so you have one side with out dated two star rooms which also has the breakfast room , this is about the worst breakfast buffet I have ever had , no one seemed to care , saw the chef come up and visit it a couple of times just to move the sausages around the pan . Front desk staff were good as when we saw our deluxe room we decided we couldnt stay in their for 6 nights so they offered to move us to the suite side ( Paid another $50 per night but well worth it ) our first suite was with its own small pool which was very nice but we found you could hear the street traffic so next day moved to 4th floor suite which was good , in the end Location very good , suites are good , staff were good but be warned about the regular rooms and breakfast .

Room Tip: only book a suite and be on the 3rd or 4th floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The second we stepped into the hotel we were treated with great hospitality. We arrived early and the staff let us check into our room earlier because it was ready. We had the top floor room which had a wonderful view of the beach and surroundings. The rooms were huge with two rooms, one with lounge and kitchen and a bedroom with a massive bathroom. Again can’t say enough of the staff, wonderful. The beach was just across the road, so easy.
Needed some up keeping with their plumbing, not a lot of pressure with the shower. The king size bed was hard but we both didn't mind, it actually helped our sore backs for some reason.
Great location south of Patong, about 10-15 minutes from the main strip which is great if you don’t want to be around the party scene too much. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrownSkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

So the bad first: Room didn't look anything like the photos and was very basic, Bathroom like a gym locker room- overall not so impressive. Now for the Good things: Good value, Situated on south end of patong, so out of the way of all the rowdiness, Very friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast, cheap minibar.

Overall, a very nice experience. I would recommend to anyone looking to stay in patong. If a nicer, more modern room is important to you, upgrade to the renovated rooms that they show in the pictures.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a renovated room!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelrc310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 328 in Patong
1,741 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#28 of 328 in Patong
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.3 mi away
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bliss

Address: 40 Thaveewong Rd | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $36 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bliss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bliss is a heavenly resort at the tranquil southern end of Patong Bay, a place where you can truly relax and feel at home with genuine warm hospitality and luxury facilities. Meander down the beachfront road to the centre of Patong Beach and enjoy the vibrant atmosphere this exciting city is famous for. Relax under the shade of a parasol on the white sands, shop till you drop at Jungceylon Shopping Mall and dance the night away at Bangla Road nightlife district, all just a hop, skip and a jump from the resort. The Standard Wing offers 41 contemporary design rooms with private balconies to enjoy the wonderful views over Patong Bay and the Andaman Sea. The stylish Superior and Deluxe rooms are available with king-size or twin beds and are complete with full range of modern amenities including satellite television, mini-bar and rejuvenating hot water rain showers. The upper floor rooms feature a luxurious bathtub and prime sea views. There are 38 spacious sea view suites at The Bliss offering guests supreme comfort and style with special features included for added indulgence. Step from your private balcony to the plunge pool while staying in the ground floor Pool Suite and luxuriate in the large Jacuzzi for two in the Superior and Deluxe Suites. All suites include a separate living area and bedroom, full in-room amenities and wonderful sweeping views over Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bliss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bliss Hotel Patong
The Bliss Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing