We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only good things!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bliss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bliss
Ranked #60 of 319 Hotels in Patong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only good things!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the bliss for 3 nights in January 2011. After a bad experience of being taken to dodgy hotels by a motor bike driver we finally arrived at the bliss. We were looking for something not to expensive, clean and safe. As soon as we stepped into the foyer we were treated extremely well by staff. Off the batt the manager offered us a good price for the room. The deluxe room had a great view, it was very clean and had all we needed. Breakfast in the mornings were great, a mix of western and thai food buffet with lots of fruits and different dishes to choose from. It is a great location as it is walking distance to the main street but far enough from the loud crowds. Really I can't praise the staff enough, they helped us a ton from recommending good places to eat and giving us cheap options of things to do and things to see, they organised it all for us. Esspeically because we were two young girls the staff made sure that when they saw us leaving they knew were we we're going or what time we'd be back just Incase. Even the guard kept watch one time as we took a late night stroll on the beach. They were all so friendly and helpful. It was a great stay and we hope to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janrosboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    169
    78
    42
    23
See reviews for
63
243
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amityville, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

When we came to this hotel we were disappointment. It looks like the renovation is not finish yet. The bathrooms need renovation for sure. But view from the balcony is worth everything, this is one of the most beautiful view we are ever seen.
Location of this hotel is much better than other more expensive hotels in Patong Beach. Restaurant is good also and staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zania22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe suite and it was huge, really good value for money but deal directly with them for a cheaper rate, balcony overlooking water was great and the bathroom with the huge spa was fantastic. If you're looking for a hotel that's just far enough away from the crowds this is a top hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you book The Bliss Suites deluxe room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We booked this trip after a glowing recommendation from our travel agent. He said he had stayed here before and we were going to absolutely love it.

What he didn't/should've known is that it is actually 2 separate hotels after the Bliss Hotel took over Seagull Home Hotel years ago.

The southern end of the hotel (The pool suites) look fantastic. They are modern, have a nice pool and spa out the back and fit the bliss websites description which quotes things like:
"The Bliss is a stylish boutique hotel housing a unique, contemporary design" "We are a superb hotel"
"lavishly designed suites feature beautiful timber wood floors, elegant furnishings and a small kitchenette/pantry. First floor suites have the luxury of a private plunge pool whereas the suites on the second to fourth floors offer a double On-Zen Jacuzzi that overlooks the sea"

There is no mention above of the "deluxe sea view rooms" which is the former Seagull Home Hotel and with a quick google search you will find it was rated 2.5stars.

Here's what we experienced from a "4 star" rated hotel.

1) we couldn't use the stairs to the left of our room as it looked like a construction site.

2) the ceiling in the hallway wasn't painted at all, it was just set with Plasterboard and that's it!

3) the toilet blocked up 3 times during our stay and the staff would come in to fix it and even have a chuckle when they did. The comments card from the previous guests was still in our room with the same complaints.

4) every wall/tile in the room was either cracked or badly patched.

5) the sliding door to the balcony let out an ear piercing screech that could be heard from across the street every time it was opened.

6) there was mould growing on the bottom of the balcony curtains and in every tiled corner of the bathroom.

7) the safe in the room can be picked up and carried out....not so safe.


If you are looking for 4 star accom I would recommend people ensuring they are booked in the suites when they stay here. Otherwise you will end up in something reminiscent of a side of the road motel.

It is a great location and the noise is to a minimum at night as there aren't many bars around this area. Yet you are only a short 5-10 min walk from all the bars and restaurants Patong has to offer.

The majority of the staff are very friendly and will answer any questions.

Remember - the south end of the hotel is 4star.
The north end is 2.5star.

Don't be fooled into thinking you are getting a good deal for a 4 star hotel.

We paid 3360bht per night for a 2.5star hotel/building site for your reference.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Startravelleraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 weeks in November, we had a Deluxe suite which are on the top floor, perfect view. The room was huge and the bathroom was amazing, you look out over the beach while you shower. The breakfast selection was the norm with egg station etc. The staff at the Bliss were wonderful, from the doorman to the breakfast waiters and especially the checkin people, Yo-Yo and Apple, we cannot wait to go back to the Bliss, we have been to Patong 4 times and this is the best accomodation we have had.

Room Tip: Stay in a Deluxe suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week in late November in a Superior Suite. The room was fairly good and the view overlooking the water was very nice but the noise from the road was horribly bad. I’m starting to believe this size room is simply too big and not worth the money. We did really like the bathroom, balcony and bedroom area overlooking the water but thought the front sitting room was somewhat unused and unneeded space. We originally picked this location because I thought it would be far enough from the Bangla noise and provide a more peaceful stay. A few of other reviews made comments about the road noise but most didn’t think it was a problem so we gave it a try. Any of the rooms facing the road (all the suites and several of the other rooms in the main hotel) get a significant amount of road noise. The hotel could install better, more soundproof glass but choose not to for some reason. When I asked the front desk about this they stated they’ve gotten many complaints, over the years, about the noise on the front rooms but management has so far has done nothing about it. I expect some noise because of the location to the road but the noise issue made it very difficult to sleep after 8am. I do not consider this hotel a viable option for a stay, again, (on any of the front rooms facing the street) until management gets a better higher quality more soundproof glass. Overall, I would say this was very expensive noisy disappointment for the quality of what you get.

Room Tip: Stay away from any rooms facing the road because of the significant noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location point of view, it's perfect if don't like the noises from cosy Bangla road. Hotel is behind the Patong beach you can easily access to the ocean . Staff was perfect. I couldn't manage have breakfast because of speedy night life ! It is very quite hotel I advise you all , have a nice holiday in Phuket .

Room Tip: Front side rooms needs renovation but they are ok. Be there just to sleeep :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEVENT1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 319 in Patong
1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avantika Boutique Hotel
Avantika Boutique Hotel
#136 of 319 in Patong
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#22 of 319 in Patong
1,219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#229 of 319 in Patong
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bliss

Property: The Bliss
Address: 40 Thaveewong Rd | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bliss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bliss is a heavenly resort at the tranquil southern end of Patong Bay, a place where you can truly relax and feel at home with genuine warm hospitality and luxury facilities. Meander down the beachfront road to the centre of Patong Beach and enjoy the vibrant atmosphere this exciting city is famous for. Relax under the shade of a parasol on the white sands, shop till you drop at Jungceylon Shopping Mall and dance the night away at Bangla Road nightlife district, all just a hop, skip and a jump from the resort. The Standard Wing offers 41 contemporary design rooms with private balconies to enjoy the wonderful views over Patong Bay and the Andaman Sea. The stylish Superior and Deluxe rooms are available with king-size or twin beds and are complete with full range of modern amenities including satellite television, mini-bar and rejuvenating hot water rain showers. The upper floor rooms feature a luxurious bathtub and prime sea views. There are 38 spacious sea view suites at The Bliss offering guests supreme comfort and style with special features included for added indulgence. Step from your private balcony to the plunge pool while staying in the ground floor Pool Suite and luxuriate in the large Jacuzzi for two in the Superior and Deluxe Suites. All suites include a separate living area and bedroom, full in-room amenities and wonderful sweeping views over Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bliss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bliss Hotel Patong
The Bliss Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing