We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Paradise in patong”
Review of The Bliss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bliss
Ranked #58 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Hidden Paradise in patong”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Have stayed for 4 different visits now:
beautiful views, massive size rooms, great luxuries ie jacuzzi or pool, very clean,everything you need, excellent and friendly staff,very stylish and up market.
When you go ask for Apple she is very friendly and helps you with everything and makes your stay a welcoming one.
Have stayed at most major Hotels and Resorts in Patong and this is the only one I will ever stay at again, and will recommend to anyone.Enjoy

Room Tip: Deluxe- you have a jacuzzi and beach views and breeze Pool- you have your own lap pool, no jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    174
    79
    42
    24
See reviews for
64
250
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had the deluxe room and were very dissatisfied. The toilet didn't flush, shower area was old and water pressure was terrible and sprayed all over. Shower/ bath area had a bad smell. It was not worth the money we paid. Needs a lot of help. Buffet was good but service was poor. Only good thing was it had a view of the sea. Will not go back to this hotel

Room Tip: Stay away from the old building rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was my first time in this hotel,booked it based on reviews from TA.We had a standard suite with a jacuzzi in the bathroom,huge lovely bed and a large living area with 2 TVs and a small kitchenette on the 4th floor with a nice view of Patong beach.The reason we chose this place is because it is quite at the end of the strip of Patong beach but yet still near enough to walk to all the places of action.The jacuzzi in bathroom is a nice touch but it was situated along the balcony surrounded by a frosted glass strip, that overlooks the road,which some might find a little exposed,especially if you are standing and taking a bath.We tried using the Jacuzzi but the water splashed all over when we turned it on and could'nt quite figure out how to control it.I thought a normal bathtub would have been better.Housekeeping was good,considering that we hardly mess our rooms,it was kept clean most of the time.The hotel has two swimming pools.One behind our rooms and the other in between the old and new wing,that was more crowded because it was nearer to the restaurant and bar.The pool behind our rooms was quiet and peaceful.Traffic noise may be an issue to some,since all the suite rooms face the road across the beach,but its all worth it when you can see the beautiful setting sun in the evening from your balcony everyday.Breakfast at the hotel was quite average,nothing really to shout about.The spread was quite standard and choices were limited.The only thing going for this hotel is its location.Its in a quieter part of patong and easy walking distance to everywhere.Its a nice property with good facilities and a potential to do better but quite lacking in the service quality.When you are in your suite room you feel you are in a 5 star hotel,but the moment you step out everything else is average.Well with everything said and done it is still a good deal for its price range and i would'nt mind staying here again if necessary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganamoorthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Bliss for a week in October 2012 in a suite with a jacuzzi on the 4th floor. The staff at the Bliss were all welcoming even the chap at the entrance who each night insisted on saying ‘Auzzie, Auzzie, Auzzie’ every night to us. Don’t tell them your nationality if this is something which after the fifth time becomes grating.

We were told that the left hand side of The Bliss had been rebuilt after the tsunami but the right hand side was not affected as badly by it.

The suite was a really good size and I felt that it was cleaned sufficiently each day. We are not overly untidy or dirty people so felt they really just had to make the bed and remove the towels.

The reception staff were very helpful when booking excursions and gave good advice on taking the bus to Old Phuket Town.

The breakfast buffet was very well stocked with plenty of choice for the majority of travellers and the staff were more than willing to help should you require a fresh omelette making. I found that all of the catering staff were very clean and found nobody doing anything which was undesirable.

Our friends had an issue with their spa bath and were moved instantly to another suite three doors away. No fuss, no bother, just one of those things.

The shower did have a frosted part around it so that if my husband stood in the shower and I was sat on the balcony, I could clearly see his legs but nothing else.

We only used one of the pools, the one at the back and found it to be clean and well kept. No overflowing ashtrays or food plates left around.

The hotel does feel as though it could do with a lick of paint but it didn’t detract for the good time we had there. It was always clean and the lifts worked every time we chose not to walk up or down the stairs. It was very good value for money and good to be on the end of the strip and not in the middle of it. I would suggest ear plugs to sleep in due to the volume of traffic going up and down the road at all hours but then that is what we expected so took plenty with us.

Room Tip: A bit noisy on the night time so take plenty of good ear plugs. The suite does cost more but it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuzzieBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Bliss comes across as though it was one a grand resort, but somewhere along the way the staff stopped caring.

The room we stayed in was absolutely massive. There was a full living room, small kitchen nook and good sized bedroom. The check-in staff were also very lovely and helpful.

Unfortunately though this is where it ended and I have a long list of complaints about The Bliss.

* The room, while large, was poorly maintained. The paint was old and cracked and only about half of the lights worked. The air conditioner was also dripping water as the overflow just went into the room rather than outside.

* When we arrived there were several mosquitoes in our room and this remained a problem. We weren't leaving doors open, but realised that the shower 'plug hole' was just a hole smashed into the tiles and I suspect this is where the mosquitoes were getting in.

* There was a lovely large jacuzzi in our room. However, when we ran the water it came out a bit of a green, yellow colour. Chalking it up to location we jumped in anyway. I accidentally knocked one of the headrests that was obviously already broken and discovered a large build up of mold underneath it. When we pressed the button to start the jets the smell that came out was so awful that we had to jump out straight away.

* We go straight into the shower to wash the smell off. When I pushed on the soap dispenser the top of the spout came off. It had obviously just been placed back on there after breaking. The soap that I did manage to get out was mixed with rust from the broken metal spout. The shower also is surrounded by glass. While there's a frosted section across the middle, there is a balcony to the left that basically looks straight down into your shower. So if you don't want your neighbours seeing you naked you would need to shower in swimmers.

* We ordered room service upon arrival at about 2pm and put our plates out when we were done. When we checked out at 12 the next day they were still there. Many staff had walked past, with 2 even stopping to have a conversation at our front door, but a 'not my job' mentality seemed to prevail.

* Breakfast was a kind of luke warm selection of Thai and western food, neither of which were particularly tasty. There was bacon being served up by a man who stood there eating half of it whilst picking his nose.

* There are threats up around the room that if you stain any sheets or towels you will be charged for them. Having dyed hair it would have been nice to be given the option of a darker coloured towel in this case, but only white was available. So I just couldn't wash my hair whilst there.

* The real icing on the cake was when we returned to the hotel at around 8pm at night. We were with the full family who were staying nearby, grandparents, siblings and a 1 year old child. As we stood outside The Bliss saying our goodbyes, the hotel's security guard approached us. He was holding a bottle of whiskey and swaying. He then picked up a traffic cone and began singing "I come from the land down under" through the traffic cone at us. This went on for a while as we ignored him before he wandered back in to the hotel. The door staff did not comment, nor give any indication that this was unusual behaviour.

Overall, it's really such a shame. Our initial impression was so good, but it just seems like The Bliss has let itself go and has some serious staffing issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent 3 nights at The Bliss with my 15 year old daughter. Directly located across the from the beach we spent the first night on the 4th floor with a lovely view. After the first night I noticed that the air con was leaking water which I reported, they were real quick in getting a repairman out fix it, after 3 hours it still was not fixed so I asked to moved to another room. Unfortunately we had to move to the 3rd floor as there were none available on the fourth, we still had a good view. We were in that room for approx 20minutes when we had to move once again because the toilet started overflowing, so off to another room we went on the 3rd floor we went I was pretty peeved with the inconvenience, and did not get much of an apology for the inconvenience though the bellhop kept apologising profusely. The room was cleaned daily. There are 2 pools at the motel we only used the one in the grounds which was very clean. The hotel is located at the south end of the beach, I found the beach to be rather dirty and preferred to swim in the pool. Great location can walk to everything, Bangla Road, Jung Ceylon, shops, excellent location. Breakfast was included which there was ample of, and free wifi also which actually worked real well. The first night we had single beds which were quite comfortable cause we had to move to another room we could only get a king bed which was uncomfortable and hard. It is a lovely hotel overall, and the restaurant dining is great and great prices yummy food, cocktails for 100B

Room Tip: Book a fourth floor room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chez12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

In the middle of 4 nights here. In pool suite, and worth the extra money. Own pool right overlooking beach - so good after hard days shopping. Large fridge and it's cold!!! Rather quiet at night so you can sleep as it's located south of main "Patong Hub Bub", but still easy to walk to good shopping and fantastic food. Staff have been excellent, and so much fun - some real characters here. Highly recommend were in room 180. Cheers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avantika Boutique Hotel
Avantika Boutique Hotel
#138 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#40 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bliss

Property: The Bliss
Address: 40 Thaveewong Rd | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bliss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bliss is a heavenly resort at the tranquil southern end of Patong Bay, a place where you can truly relax and feel at home with genuine warm hospitality and luxury facilities. Meander down the beachfront road to the centre of Patong Beach and enjoy the vibrant atmosphere this exciting city is famous for. Relax under the shade of a parasol on the white sands, shop till you drop at Jungceylon Shopping Mall and dance the night away at Bangla Road nightlife district, all just a hop, skip and a jump from the resort. The Standard Wing offers 41 contemporary design rooms with private balconies to enjoy the wonderful views over Patong Bay and the Andaman Sea. The stylish Superior and Deluxe rooms are available with king-size or twin beds and are complete with full range of modern amenities including satellite television, mini-bar and rejuvenating hot water rain showers. The upper floor rooms feature a luxurious bathtub and prime sea views. There are 38 spacious sea view suites at The Bliss offering guests supreme comfort and style with special features included for added indulgence. Step from your private balcony to the plunge pool while staying in the ground floor Pool Suite and luxuriate in the large Jacuzzi for two in the Superior and Deluxe Suites. All suites include a separate living area and bedroom, full in-room amenities and wonderful sweeping views over Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bliss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bliss Hotel Patong
The Bliss Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing