We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Yuree Resort and Spa
Ranked #157 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I visited Baan Yuree for ten days in mid November for ten nights. I booked this after finding limited choices in my price range, and although this was on the cheaper end of my price range, I guess I was expecting a little more.

When we first arrived, we found that our Poolside room (for which we had paid extra for) was covered in mould in the bathroom. After complaining the next morning, we were moved to a standard room - which actually had a better view.

The pool area looks great online, and yes its a decent size, but on closer inspection, the pool is a little worse for wear with missing / broken tiles, and the poolside chairs are in a terrible state, Some of them are falling apart, and the mats are all torn and stained. A morning wipe down of these wouldn't go astray either - as they were often wet from overnight rain. On the plus side, the pool bar was great. Good music and very reasonable prices with a good selection of beers and cocktails.

What really lets this place down is its location. Its up the top of a VERY steep driveway, which many Tuk Tuk or Taxi drivers will try and charge you extra for. The free shuttle service provided by the hotel is really good but doesn't really run that often.

I really couldn't complain about the breakfast - there was a very good range of food available and all seemed fresh and tasty. The staff were really friendly, although the language barrier seemed to be a problem sometimes (especially when ordering room service).

This resort is a classic example of "Get what you pay for". It would be good value for families or single travellers on a budget, but for couples looking for something a little more classier - I would suggest looking elsewhere. Unless of course you get one of those groupon deals - in which case some of these seem to be a LOT less than what we paid!

Room Tip: Dont bother with a "Poolside" room - the standard rooms on level 5-6 have a much better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozbroady79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    150
    80
    30
    42
See reviews for
75
163
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We like a lot of others that were staying at the resort in September/October have bought a groupon/scoopon deal!!! The resort is NOT 5 star like described in the deal. The beds are the worst I have ever slept in. Our swag is much more comfortable. When I complained they did add another topper, but the bed was still far too hard.The 'included' breakfast was not aimed at the western families that were staying there. But I wont complain too much as it was included in the price and you could always have an omelet. Resort is up the top of a really steep road, even some of the tuk tuks won't go up...or they charge extra to do it!!! A good 20 minute walk down hill to the beach. We got hassled and hassled by the ezystay people. They take you to have a look at their "holiday club", if you sign up its time share. Beware of the time share sellers!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chunkydunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We got to this hotel thru groupon. We had a complimentary massage which we used it at our last day of the trip. We stayed from 12--15 nov.
The rooms were spacious! the tv could have been better but most of the times we weren't watching anyway. Most of the times we were out for a activities.

We book all our activities thru the hotel's tour desk, also www.phuketadventure.com
Ms Joyce is very accommodating to our demands and helped us with all our arrangements. We couldn't have our holiday without her advice and suggestions.
the hotel is very near to Simon Cabaret. We asked for the hotel to pick us up after the show and they were happy to do that despite the off timing from the regular intervals of the transfer service to the beach and town

Overall I like the service of the resort. Fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V1ncent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Baan Yuree from 31.10.12 for five nights on a Scoopon deal. Not expecting much we were plesently surprised wth the quality of the service and the facilities. The bed was a little hard and the hill which provided the views a little hard to climb on foot. The hotel is located far enough away from the beach front to provide a quiet nights sleep but that far that it is difficult to walk to the atteactions each day in the heat. The hotel shuttle is excellent, food was adequate and customer service was excellent. Would recommend for family or older teaveller not looking for the party experience in Patong Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft matress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A simple resort with services as their main priority.

The few areas that I felt can be improved are the rate of aircon cooling the room. The breakfast is average with limited spread. The TV is fuzzy for most channels but gd for others.

Well, at least the areas worth commenting are far much more in comparison. The promptness n responsiveness towards ur problems or queries by the staff are much appreciated. The free shuttle makes it easy for us to travel ard the beach n shopping area. The tour desk is great with Ms Joy making our stay most enjoyable. She had helped arrange and coordinate all of our adventure trips, shows n shopping, providing us with the best deals with the maximum convenience, ensuring transport is the last thing to worry in our itinerary. It was actually her that impressed us the most for the trip. The location makes it safe for ppl paranoid towards Tsunami as it is located on top of a little hill. Simon cabaret is just less than 5min walk away too.

PS: This resort suits best for ppl whom do not want much trouble in coordination of activities as their tour desk and reception can helped you ensure everything is arranged appropriately. At least it saved us much trouble as they solved any problems that we foresee might happened. You can even pre-arranged the activities thru email before you reached the resort. :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenDitZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a big group of friends in July 2012. I was extremely disappointed. I have travelled to multiple Asian destinations and this is my 3rd trip to Phuket. We bought a Groupon voucher for accomodation, and it was sold as a 4.5 star hotel I have stayed in other hotels - in Phuket and other destinations - that are 3-4 stars that are leaps and bounds ahead of the Baan Yuree.
The locations is average, a tuk tuk ride into phuket, but this was expected from the decription when we bought the voucher. I personally prefer to stay in town, within walking distances of bars and restaurants.
The rooms were average. They were large, however the TV was fuzzy (a staff member jiggled the cables, which made it a little bit better), the bathroom sink got blocked (which was fixed relatively quickly), we had no towels on arrival (again fixed relatively quickly) and the air condition was very dry - I woke up every day feeling like I had hayfever.
The breakfast buffet was the worst I had ever eaten at. The food was OK, but the variety was scarce - only about 12 different things, and if I wanted anything else other than things from the buffet - such as an omelette - there was additional costs.
The pool bar was often unattended.
The shuttle was convenient - and they would always ensure that there were enough seats to take all people waiting into patong, or they would take another vehicle.
My advice would be to see a travel agent for a deal, or find a hotel with a stay-pay deal. There are much nicer places to stay for only a fraction more money.

Room Tip: Spend a fraction more for a much, much better hotel!!! Stay pay deals all the way ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Baan Yuree late October 2012 on a Scoopon deal.

Firstly the good...

-it's atop a great big hill. Located just far enough from the centre of Patong to escape the hustle and bustle without having to travel ages to get there
-our room was large and comfortable
-cleaning staff are thorough
-free wifi and free computers in the lobby
-beds are a bit harder than you might expect but being a hard bed lover I slept like a log every night
-the three tier pool is fantastic as is the swim up bar
-free shuttle bus to and from Patong and Jungcylon is worth it's weight in gold
-breakfast is reasonable if you're not wanting the full hardcore buffet experience
-staff are very friendly and helpful. Everything from translating SMS messages when trying to recharge my phone credit to the shuttle driver taking us right out of his way and stopping to ask a cop and a tour co rep when we were trying to find a place
-good tour desk in the lobby that can organise you a bunch of different activities
-free massage included with our deal downstairs in the day spa was actually not too bad
-great value for money

The not so good...

-it's atop a great big hill. Tuk tuk drivers will try to extract a few more baht because of this but don't ever pay more than 200 from anywhere in Patong. If they say no simply walk 3 metres and ask the next one
-wifi was patchy. It worked most of the time but I had to re-log-back-in a lot
-free shuttle would be better if it ran hourly
-the bed quilt cover had black stains on it. Noticed after our first night, was rectified when the room was next made up
-our aircon was somewhat ineffective
-the bathroom door vent allows too much noise to in/out. Lets just say one too many spicy pad thai's and anyone else in the room will know all about it...

Many reviews bag this place but in my opinion the bad didn't outweigh the good and I wouldn't have any hesitation staying again. The time we spent out and about doing stuff was more than we spent at the hotel so using it as a base rather than a one stop resort suited us perfectly without paying a fortune.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nathypaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
4.2 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andakira Hotel
Andakira Hotel
#81 of 322 in Patong
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Veerakit
Baan Veerakit
#201 of 322 in Patong
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The ASHLEE Heights Patong Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
The AIM Patong Hotel
The AIM Patong Hotel
#204 of 322 in Patong
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Yuree Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Yuree Resort and Spa

Property: Baan Yuree Resort and Spa
Address: Petchakut Road, Patong Beach, A. Kathu | 12/1 Sirirat Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Patong
#62 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Yuree Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Yuree Phuket Resort & Spa is a Contemporary-Thai Style phuket resort that is situated on a hill near the famous Patong Beach. The hotel is very well located being a few minutes from beaches and the center of Patong, yet quiet, peaceful & private. Situated on a hill , the phuket resort has a scenic Andaman sea view and Patong town view. Moreover, the area is in a beautiful natural setting and is also safe from any potential Tsunami. At Baan Yuree Phuket Resort & Spa, all guests are treated as VIPs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Yuree Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Yuree Resort And Hotel Patong
Baan Yuree Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing