We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Yuree Resort and Spa
Ranked #135 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We like many other Aussies stayed here ona a scorpion deal. We were very pleasantly suprised by the rest service and rooms.
Yes there is a hill folks and yes it's a long hard walk up it, especially after a few drinks, but most tuk tuks or taxis will take you up there for around 200-250 THB, although a lot of drivers hesitated when we told them where we were staying.
No chance of being wiped out by a sunami here either.
Pools were great as was the pool bar.
Breakfast was nice
The only criticism I have is that the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in some time and was very mouldy.
Be very careful about the tour activities you do too, most of them pay commission to the hotel and most are it worth the money. Don't get sucked in to going to the Thai boxing either. It cost us around $50-60 AUD and we later found out the whole fights are staged. The only Aussie guy there always wins.
All in all a great place to stay away from the hussle.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mattomeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Baan Yuree Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 403 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place was great.. like most on this site, we had a voucher and were a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, but we have absolutely no complaints at all and will definitely be revisiting.

The staff were fantastic, the tour desk extremely helpful, the pool was amazing (especially the pool bar). A must is the adults only night held by the hotel every Friday - best way to see the "naughty" side of Phuket. It was really well organised and a guranteed great night out...

Dont really agree with the complaints - the hill isnt that bad, and if you do not want to walk up it, catch a tuk tuk for 200 baht or wait for the shuttle... the beds arent bad either - firm, yes.. but still comfy...

The staff are fantastic, the food and beverage manager, Pong is the greatest... and a special mention to Ting is also needed :-) they are great!

All in all, this hotel is great and amazing value for money for a scoopon... enjoy it!

Room Tip: we had the room with a mountain view - was great!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Let me start by saying the "not time-share" sales pitch was the one thing that annoyed me. But a clear and unambiguous message meant it was only tried once. The complainers seemed to be the people who "just went back for more information", then claimed they were being hassled. You're call - you are interested or not!

While we were there was the last tsunami alert - interestingly not one person complained about the steep driveway... half the town was dropped off on the doorstep and Bann Yuree staff handed out free snacks and water to everyone! My advice - use the complimentary resort bus

This place is quiet (ie away from Patong madness), the staff were ALL friendly (ie typical Thai friendliness or professional western friendliness), the food was very good at dinner and the buffet breakfast was designed to cater for everyone and while the venue has some dated elements we thought it was clean and functional.

My only other complaint was the small number of English and Australian travellers who seemed to be staying above their usual expectations. They think the word "resort" means they can be rude to other guests, disrespectful to local cultures and generally obnoxious about how they are not being served well enough. Recently I have noticed the English traveller is fighting to become the New American and the happy-go-lucky, relaxed Australian traveller has become a snarling touring pitbull looking for a fight (yes, I am Australian)!

Honestly - especially if you have a voucher - this is a great place at a great price!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dotdicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 14 days at the Baan Yuree Resort and after speaking to my wife we felt we show write a review for Tripadvisor. Quite simply put, this resort gives you choices, located up the hill at the southern end of Patong (very close to Simon Caberat). To us it was great to be away from Bangla Road, very peaceful, great views and the regular shuttles meant you were only 10 minutes from the centre of action (20 minutes walking).

From our arrival day to our departure day, the good English speaking staff from not only Thailand, but also Holland, America and Jamaica, we were always welcomed with a friendly smile and prompt serve. We had an introductory "Interview", from which our complimentary Phi Phi Island Tour, Massages and Genisis Magic Show tickets were arranged. Then, the staff also outlined the other inhouse activities Baan Yuree offered, such as the Trivia Night, the "Taste of Thai" Poolside Party and the "Naughty Night Out" Friday's (which we went on and was hosted by both the General Manager and Pong - Restaurant Manager).
We elected to do all but the Trivia Night, which was our choice and all in all, every event was extremely well organised, fun and great value for money.
On the Naughty Night, we got bucked off the bull at Broncos, 5 Tequilla shots for 100 Baht, had complimentary drinks at four locations, were whipped and saw amazingly (yet funny) sites you have too see to believe and with the 23 other guests had such a great night.
We loved the Phi Phi Island trip and both the Genesis Magic Show and "Taste of Thai" Nights were entertaining and excellent value for money.
We organised our other trips via Mr Alex- a delightful "taxi" driver we met at the taxi stand at the top of this "Hill"- Can't believe the comments about it. To me, it was great to have a workout everytime I went for my daily walk. Mr Alex, picked us up from the hotel in a luxury "limo"- (when compared to Tuk Tuks and other taxis) and he took us to the Phuket Evening Markets (buy your sunnies here for 100 Baht) then a unreal restaurant Tunk Ka Cafe, which overlooks Phuket Town. He charged us very little and we gave him an extra 100 Baht. Then, another day
he took us south to Big Buddha, Wal Chalong, a manufacturing jewellery business, a Cashew Factory and finally to a restaurant at Phuket called Phang Phong Restaurant, where all the locals go and you select your own live seafood. Best meal we had.
Other must dos are to see at at Number 6 Restaurant (which overlooks Patong and was (along with Tunk Ka Cafe) the best value for money restaurants.
The other must do day trip is the Monkey Cave, White Water Rafting, ATV and Elephant Trekking through the rainforest and upstream. (go to Go Holidays - 1500 Baht with lunch included-this was without doubt the best day we had). The other must thing to do is Phuket Fantastea, and make sure you have the buffet.
Back to the resort, and you must have one layday per week, sipping Mai Tai's in the water at the Pool Bar-great place to meet other guests in a fun relaxed environment. The room itself is very spacious (except bar fridge), the view overlooking Patong from the balcony is nice (do yourself a favour and walk up the hill via the road next to the resort and take a photo from the best view of Patong Habour I saw). The bed was exactly the right firmness for us, however some guests felt they were to hard.The air conditioner also worked very well.
Breakfast was consistent with the typical eggs and bacon, sausage and toast you'd expect. The dinner menu/room service and quality of meals was very good.
The only negative I had was the bathroom, which is in the need of updating. The shower at least had great water pressure which for me was more important. I love a good shower. From my point of view, for the price we paid, for the service we received and value for money was amazingly good.

Room Tip: Rooms in Block one- 1601, 1501, 1401 (corner rooms), then number 2 to 5 rooms on each of these floor...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank jkadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

bit of a hike to get to the hotel, but didnt mind the exercise.
breakfast was awesome everyday
easy motorbike rentals
the pool and swim up bar were amazing, absolutely loved it and spent most of our time there
the room was big with a lovely balcony
would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in April/May 2012. We, like many other guests, purchased a voucher to stay here, so it was an extremely cheap visit. With that in mind, I am inclined to be someone lenient in this review, as the value for money far outweighed our expectations.

Check-in was a breeze. The people at the front desk do not speak perfect English. This is because they are Thai. People - you need to respect the fact that they speak Thai, and were not forced to learn English in schools, and that you might need to spell things out for them more than you are used too. Don't be rude if they don't understand you completely, and don't get frustrated. If you need to, ask to speak to management. There are always one or two people on site from an English back ground who will help you.

After checking in, we were taken to our room. The best part about our room was the view. We got lucky, 6th (top) floor facing Patong (you could see the ocean). The room was fairly clean, floor was a bit grubby in parts but over all no problem. The bathroom was pretty small and run down. No big deal so long as it functions correctly (it didn't).

On our first night the toilet clogged, and I had to ask 5 (yes, 5) different times over the course of three full days to have it fixed. During this time, we went to the restaurant to use the bathroom. There was no misunderstanding, I made the staff aware of the problem very clearly, with no result, and that was really disappointing. In the end, the maid unclogged it when she cleaned our room. Pretty poor form making her do it, since there is no doubt a maintenance guy on site. This was the only major negative during out stay.

The beds are quite hard but not too bad. There are plasma televisions with a few English channels. Tea and coffee are available (but no milk).

The breakfast is OK. Bacon, eggs, french toast, fruit, juice and all of your favourites, plus some Thai noodles. Nothing to write home about, but certainly did the job for our morning meal.

The food you can order from the menu for lunch or dinner is above average, and good value, so I do recommend the restaurant.

The pool is pretty good. Nice and clean, with a swim up pool bar. There can sometimes be a lack of chairs. The kids seem to love the pool area, great for families, but given the hotel surrounds the pool, not so great for anything trying to sleep (it can be quite noisy).

The hotel runs a shuttle service to Patong beach on the hour, nearly every hour, between 8 and 10pm. This is recommended as there is a big hill that you might have already read about from other reviewers. From some of the reviews I read, I think people need to just man up and and quit crying over the fact there is a hill. Why be so afraid of a bit of exercise? And if you really can't make it up the hill, fork out for a tuk tuk or get the shuttle back! It's not that hard or expensive. And it's better than getting washed away in a Tsunami.

We had a few good massages at the 'Pampers' spa within the hotel (recommended). First one was free in our voucher package.

We did a tour organized by the hotel's manager Michael (whom I believe is American, and a great guy). The tour is called the 'Naughty Night in Phuket' tour I think, and it runs every Friday night. It was GREAT fun and I highly recommend it (for all ages over 18).

A few tips for guests at this hotel;

- There is a convenience store at the bottom of the hill for your grocery and alcohol needs. It is very cheap, but buy small bottles of everything so they fit in your tiny fridge.
- Next to this convenience store there is a Thai food restaurant which we frequented but never saw another single westerner in there. It's ridiculously cheap and the food is really nice and authentic. We paid $7.00 for two curries with rice and two beers. That's a serious bargain right there people!

Over all, for the price we paid, this was a good stay. If my friends could stay there for the same price, I would totally recommend it.

Room Tip: High floor (5 or 6) in the building with the lift. Best views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TimmyJamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great if you love hiking.
Yuk breakfast.
Small pool, not many chairs
Stairs, stairs and more stairs.
Got transferred to the Baumanburi after 2 nights and we were so happy there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilsonfam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.2 mi away
Andakira Hotel
Andakira Hotel
#58 of 328 in Patong
586 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bauman Residence
Bauman Residence
#128 of 328 in Patong
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#42 of 328 in Patong
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The ASHLEE Heights Patong Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
Casa Del M, Patong Beach
Casa Del M, Patong Beach
#87 of 328 in Patong
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Veerakit
Baan Veerakit
#212 of 328 in Patong
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Yuree Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Yuree Resort and Spa

Address: Petchakut Road, Patong Beach, A. Kathu | 12/1 Sirirat Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Patong
#61 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $31 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Yuree Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Yuree Phuket Resort & Spa is a Contemporary-Thai Style phuket resort that is situated on a hill near the famous Patong Beach. The hotel is very well located being a few minutes from beaches and the center of Patong, yet quiet, peaceful & private. Situated on a hill , the phuket resort has a scenic Andaman sea view and Patong town view. Moreover, the area is in a beautiful natural setting and is also safe from any potential Tsunami. At Baan Yuree Phuket Resort & Spa, all guests are treated as VIPs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Yuree Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Yuree Resort And Hotel Patong
Baan Yuree Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing