We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels dirty and grubby” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patong Bay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Patong Bay Guesthouse
Ranked #61 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Feels dirty and grubby”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Avoid this hotel. The management need a lesson in customer care. On the next to last day of my stay I was given 20 minutes notice that I would have to moves rooms to a higher floor and at the front of the hotel which is extremely noisy as another guest had booked my room!! I met the reception manager and owner and refused as I had only one night left. She informed me that if I didn't move I had to leave the hotel! after some heated discussion I refused. What hotel has this approach. The hotel feels dirty, the sheets and towels have holes in them and are grey and grubby. In the room is a sign how much you have to pay if you get blood on the sheets, blankets etc???????. One morning I went down for breakfast only to be told we are not doing breakfast this morning?? There are far better places at better prices in Patong

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor l, Owner at Patong Bay Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 17, 2016
hello this review is for the previous hotel name of patong residence hotel and is not a review for patong bay guesthouse.our reviews are the top 4 reviews for may 2016 . we took over this hotel in may 2016 and changed the name due to previous reviews . our previous hotel was patong bay view resort and we had excellent reviews from our customers . we relocated here as this hotel is in a better location in patong and walking distance to most things patong has to offer . we are not the same people as before and are trying to have the previous reviews removed . please do not take any notice of the previous reviews and come and see for yourself that things have now changed . all our customers from our old hotel and this new hotel come as customers and leave as very good friends . hope people reading any of the reviews before may 2016 understand . thank you and look forward to meeting new customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
5
29
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

pros: acceptable location - 15-20 min walk to Patong beach, decent price (if you don't get charged hidden costs)

cons: American owner just took over the hotel and leaves the day-to-day operations to his Thai girlfriend and her friends. unfortunately they seemed to try including hidden charges when the American boss wasn't around e.g. trying to charge for stowing luggage after checkout, charging extra for bottled water, etc. running water was cut off for one night. overall my family and I left with a pretty negative impression.

conclusion: wouldn't return or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielSGSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor l, Owner at Patong Bay Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
Hi daniel i see by your review of patong residence hotel you were not happy.The hotel now is under new owners and management.We took over the hotel on the 1st of may 2016 and changed the name because of the bad reviews from before, the hotel is now called PATONG BAY GUESTHOUSE and as you can see we are getting very good reviews from very happy customers.We hope you will come back and see the improvements we have made and to see our very friendly staff and with no hidden costs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and asked for airport transfers ...nothing. We got there and we got put on the 4th floor. So many steep stairs to climb. Also we asked for the 200 baht motor bikes for hire we got told ok. When we went to get it we are told 300 baht, we said no, then the next day we get offered a 350 baht bike because we are average size people they told us we had to pay 350 but the bike was still the same bike designed for 2. On check out we got charged for water we never had, so many lies from the staff there, it appears they are only out to take money of you. We have had many trips to Patong and we thought we would try a cheaper hotel, but NEVER again, we come away from the experience feeling that the accommodation side and staff at this hotel were a BIG let down.

Room Tip: Rooms in any other hotel are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel has had a change of management over the last twelve months and is now owned and operated by three Italians. From the moment I arrived at the hotel they immediately made me feel at home ensuring that everything was taken care of including over 4 kg's of laundry which was cleaned and returned to me within 24 hours of me handing it over to them.
The three owners are able to communicate in a number of different languages, know all the hot spots, restaurants, beaches and were even able to arrange excursions for me right in the lobby. The room itself was very comfortable, quite large and included a balcony that overlooked the mountains. I will also mention that it was cleaned daily, without the need to prompt the owners or their staff. The Italian style breakfast that was on offer was the icing on the cake!

The hotel was perfectly located near Bangla Road, the Muay Thai stadium, the beach and all shopping districts plus you can hire a motorcycle from the premises.

In summary, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Patong, Phuket as the only thing that is better than the excellent value for money is the outstanding service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great place to stay! I was there 9 days in November 2012. Employes there are friendly and are prompt at arranging taxi services.

The venue is close to restaurants the the main shopping centre Jungceylon and Bang La Road!

Room Tip: Balcony views are great and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

A friend of us recommended me this hotel which we found to be of great value for money. For a budget price you can get a nice room newly decorated and with a powerful AC unit. The staff is very friendly and if you are lucky to meet the owner in the morning, you can obtain some very good advices on shoppping, restaurants and sightseeing tours. The plus side is that the hotel is not managed by local people so you can experience the thai hospitality with that extra european touch which on my opinion takes the service a step ahead of the others
I will definitely be coming back at this lovely hotel and I have already mentioned it to all friends of mine.
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: An upgrade is well worth if you love a room with big balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabrix82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We booked a room in the Patong residence for 3 nights. The room was very basic and had a bathroom that was only accessable from the bacony but it was just 800 baht in high season, or so we thought...
Anyway, on our return to Patong and heavily laden with luggage, we were dropped off at Patong residence. We arrived at reception and were told that we had been moved to another room. We asked to view the other room and found that this one didnt even have a window.
Obviously we said that this was unacceptable but were told that if we didnt like it we would forefeit our deposit of 800 baht.
We were given the option of paying 50% more to stay in the room that we originally booked but after I showed the booking reciept that stated the room and price on it and said that I was now taking this to the tourist police, I was called back to reception to find that they had suddenly decided to give my money back.
Avoid this place like the plague!

Its worth noting also that this place is miles from the action in Patong and will require a 200 baht taxi ride each way, so factor that into your equations IF you still want to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SiCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
#131 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paripas Express Patong
Paripas Express Patong
#225 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Priew Wan Guesthouse
Priew Wan Guesthouse
#111 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Forest Patong Hotel
Forest Patong Hotel
#137 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hollywood Inn Love
Hollywood Inn Love
#110 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Bay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Guesthouse

Property: Patong Bay Guesthouse
Address: 64 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Patong Residence Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Patong Bay Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly opened hotel (opened 1 may 2016) has 16 rooms on 4 floors with 4 room types superior double rooms,superior twin rooms,deluxe rooms and standard rooms.Reception area and common area for guests to relax and enjoy a drink from our bar located near to the reception.With a restaurant and coffee shop located just outside the main entrance to the hotel.Tours can be arranged and scooter hire is available from the reception.Within walking distance to The international shopping center (jungceylon) and baanzan market.Many other shops and restaurants very close to the hotel.To the beach is just a short walk from the hotel.Bangla road the main night life area is also just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Patong Bay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Guesthouse Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing