We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money...for the most part” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Inn

Welcome Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welcome Inn
Ranked #288 of 396 Patong B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money...for the most part”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I visited in August 2010 (can't select that far back from the TA list), so this review is a little dated being that it's now March 2012, but anyway...here goes.

Prices are great in the low season at about 500THB for a single room and shoot up considerably during the high season with the same room costing you about 800THB. I have travelled to Phuket only once during the busy time of year and won't do it again, (any time soon at least).

Rooms are very clean and tidy and well serviced with TV and plenty of channels to choose from, a mini-bar fridge and the usual, fairly ordinary Thai beds that are found throughout the island. No views to speak of at least from the back of the hotel but these rooms are quieter.

Everywhere I go in Patong there seems to be live music (which is fine if you're a night time person but I like to retire and rise early) and I find it incredibly annoying. Being a retired muso' myself, I couldn't be less interested. So...take a room at the back and up a few flights (be prepared to climb stairs as there is no elevator) and you'll get a much better night’s sleep.

Shakers Bar is directly downstairs (I've covered this place in another of my reviews), so you can't go wrong there if you want a fairly good value meal served to you by friendly staff.

The only negative of my time there was that they seemed to have daily problems with the water and I believe that this is fairly common throughout Thailand. On a few mornings I woke up to no water at all so I could not wash and I soon learned to keep a large supply of bottled water on-hand just in case. However, they always did their best to get the water up and running again so it was not a major inconvenience. I could only assume that this problem has been sorted out now. Let's hope.

In conclusion...great place, good location, clean rooms, cheap and far enough away from the rowdier part of Patong. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevator so be prepared to 'leg-it' up a few flights. Good but anoying live music most we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mebollocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

I went to Phuket with a group of six other friends, and we stayed here for the duration of the trip. We took a suite room, which had two double beds and a sofa bed, for 1500 THB a night. The room was quite clean but the shower had a weak spray. Free wireless internet was provided and there were internet terminals on the ground floor. The hotel is located quite far down from Bangla Road, between Hotel Mercure and Dr. V Plastic Surgery, not as Google Maps indicates, and about a ten minute walk to the beach. There is a FamilyMart (convenience store) and many restaurants nearby. The restaurant on the ground floor also provides good and cheap food, with all-you-can-eat BBQ ribs, BBQ meat/seafood or cheap pizza on different nights.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

A friend and I went (or rather, fled) here after a terrifying experience in another hotel which had been paid for in advance. As the other place had been paid for, we were on a budget but found this place really good value for money. We had a clean room, in a generally clean and well-presented building, with aircon. There was free internet in the reception and the staff were really friendly and helpful. It was near to Patong beach and a short walk away from the nightlife etc, so that it wasn't noisy but close enough to get to everything. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raceypacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Squareone
Squareone
#149 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paripas Patong Resort
Paripas Patong Resort
#98 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspira Prime Patong
Aspira Prime Patong
#56 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.1 mi away
Ramaburin Resort
Ramaburin Resort
#141 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Benetti House
Benetti House
#244 of 396 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Inn

Property: Welcome Inn
Address: Rat -U-Thit 200 Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Inn is a nice cozy hotel located at 400 meters from the beach in the heart of Patong. 10 minutes walk from Patong's night life.All rooms are air conditioned and have cable TV. Free internet available at the reception. Attached to the hotel is Shakers pub & restaurant who serves a wide range of international and Thai food. Friendly and helpful staff. Your well being is our concern. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welcome Inn Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing