We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly staff, say hi to Wally”

The Sweet Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 549 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbour
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff, say hi to Wally”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ate here a couple of times and found the food very tasty with something for everyone. We had young kids that were able to have plain food with some of us eating Thai and others western food. Caters for everyone, very cheap and fast service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for your visit and your kind words. Good to hear our side of your vacation was so good. All the best from all of us here, Thanks from Wally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    301
    73
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They will look after you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Whether you want a traditiontal Thai meal or Aussie fare, just ask. We have been coming to Patong for many years, from the time there was a large beautiful fish in a tank on display in the magnificant Sweet restaurant (no longer I'm afraid), and we have never been let down over the years. Service is great, even if you have to stand outside in the heat for a few minutes, you will soon get a table. No one lingers for dining anyway, you just eat and move on. All ingredients are fresh, we have never had a problem (upset tummy) and would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsaliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for reminding me that the staff are the best and as you say the food is as fresh as it can be. Thankyou for visiting us again and thank you for the recommendation. Sorry about the fish, before my time I'm sorry to say, Wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor! Eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been eating here for over 5 years. Thai, western, great value for money. Young people, families, just eat here! It is one of Patongs diamonds! That will not break your budget!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind remarks. We do our best to make Patong a great place to visit. Our restaurant gives the tourists great food at a great price by friendly staff and an old owner.
Welcome back and bring your friends with you. wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just as good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been to Patong Beach for five years now and each time we find the Sweet Restaurant just as good as the last. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the meals consistantly good. Don't be discouraged by a busy restaurant as these guys keep things flowing really well. If you are wanting a quieter meal, go before 6pm as big family parties tend to come in after that. I recommend the Sweet to anyone travelling to this area and will continue to do so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wideyedkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your kind remarks. True we get very busy as the night goes on, but remember busy is fresh and fresh is taste to its best. wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty thai at a cheap price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Tucked away in the middle of a lane is Sweet. Simple and unpretentious this restaurant serves good quality traditional thai at low prices. Did the usual thai curries and all were superb with the exception of an average mussamun curry. That said, the green curry was excellent. Enjoyed the best mango with sticky rice and an amazing banana shake to round off a memorable meal for me and my family of five

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thankyou for your comments. The real value is the freshness and taste that comes from fresh food cooked with the care that our staff give to every dish they prepare. We look forward to your return and trying the other half of the menu. Hope the rest of your vacation was as good as your time with us, Wal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sweet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing