We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

The Sweet Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 712 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Found this restaurant by chance in our wanderings. The food was very flavoursome, the menu varied and the service excellent. The prices were very competitive. It is situated in a quiet spot and it was a relief to get away from the busyness of the surrounding streets.We had a number of meals there and heartily recommend it to other travellers.

Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thankyou for visiting the Sweet Restaurant. All our meals are very tasty or so our customers tell us. Its hard to explain where the restaurant is but once found never forgotten. Hope the rest of your vacation was as good, wal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 737 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food was very poor. We were traveling about a month and the food in this restaurant was in list of the worst travel food. Such good rating maybe is because people don't know how good thai food could be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jurgita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Sorry we could'nt meet your expectations. Wal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent 10 nights, early March, in Patong near Sweet Restaurant & ate there most lunches & dinners as usual as we are frequent stayers in Patong. As usual we enjoyed the variety of inexpensive meals, cold draught beer & reasonably priced wine.. Wal, his manager Boy & the girls, Nee, Noi, Tick, Goong & Bow excelled themselves to serve us. Boy had mild curries prepared for my wife, who cannot eat spicy food, & is wary of Thai curries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 6,400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Manager at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thankyou for what you say about our place, My staff try very hard to make everybody welcome and they look after everyone like there family. Boy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went to this restaurant after reading the glowing reviews on here...and I guess my expectations were quite high, and I honestly didn't think it was all that fantastic.

The food and drinks that we ordered were fine, but nothing I couldn't get just as good at the next shop down the street.

If you don't know where to look for this place you could be searching up and down every street, as it is one of the small streets running off of beach road..

In my opinion it was fine, but nothing worse seeking out just to eat at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stefanie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Sorry we could'nt meet your expectations. We try hard at the Sweet Restaurant to make your food experience pleasurable. Maybe next time we will be able to provide that something special for you, Wal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This little gem off Beach Rd is the best value feed in Patong. While the servings aren't huge, the food is good, the staff are attentive, and the cold towel was a welcome relief on a warm night.

Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wal99_11, Owner at The Sweet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thankyou or your kind comments. Freshness is a key to making it taste as good as it should, Hope the rest of youe vacation was as good as your experience with us. wal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sweet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing