We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet hotel”
Review of Nanai Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nanai Residence
Ranked #79 of 412 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were greeted well and were given the room immediately. Clean and cute rooms, exactly as seen on the website - may be even better. Host was to the point, nothing more! Room was away from crowd and peaceful. 20 min walk to Patong beach and 10 min to Bangla Street. the hotel has a large swimming pool excellent value 'price

Room Tip: pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phannika e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 75 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room on the top floor (no lift) was spacious and kept clean. The TV was Thai only - as far as I could work out!. The pool was perfect and there was a pleasant garden to relax in. Although the owner is Italian and also acts as a chef, not many of the employees speak any English - but they are all very friendly.
If you get a shuttle from the airport - be careful you don't get dropped off at the start of the lane or you will have a 500 m walk - in the dark in my case!
Overall, I was satisfied that I hadgot what I paid for.

Room Tip: Get one of the lower floors if you have problems with stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiview_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After reading the negative reviews on tripadvisor my wife and I thought we would give this place the benefit of the doubt.We should have considered the opinions. When we first entered the room, there was an overpowering moldy smell that didn't go away, even after opening some windows to aerate the room.
The final blow for us was when my wife woke up at 2:00 am to discover a massive cockroach crawling over her face. To add to the fiasco, the aircon was not working, so we couldn't sleep and the bed had a huge 'sinkhole' in the middle of it. We originally booked two nights, but the next morning we happily turned our backs on this place and found a much better place for the same price. I would not recommend this place to anybody. The receptionist told my wife and I that the hotel was on the market.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The pictures in the page are very nice arrange but don't show the real thing, in the room you can found cockroaches like Gozilla, the beds are very very very old dirty and unconfortbles, the first time you look the room you feeling disgustingness.
The problem is all the pictures showed here are nice and when you arrived to the place you feeling stupid because you thinks you been fooled.

Room Tip: Just have a closer look to the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatuchak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and would have extended but they were booked up. Nice spacious rooms with decent facilities ie cable tv-ac-balcony etc but well used and needing refurbishment. However the price justifies the above and I had no complaints. It's a great little Italian enclave with good restaurants(Italian) and friendly staff/clientele. Ideally you need to rent a moped to get downtown and to the beach although motorcycle taxis are plentiful(40 baht pretty much any destination) but the cost of this can soon rack up ( moped circa 150 baht per day to rent). The big +point here is a decent pool which is quite rare for a budget hotel in Patong.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peterjames0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nigths with wife. We really enjoyed the place, It is very peaceful on the hill of crazy patong beach. Nice, clean andhas good wifi in the rooms as well. Money worths very good.We can recommend highly. Rent a motorbike and every place in Phuket is very close.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Miguelito M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

The great thing about this hotel is the value for the price: the hotel is clean...but I mean clean...if you have been to other hotels in Thailand you know what I mean.
They got regular rooms and mini apartments.
The staff does a good job to make you feel at home: after a couple of days I felt like we were friends for the longest time! They are mostly Italian but they all speak good English.
The pool and the bar by the pool is really awesome! My room was on the ground floor with direct access to the pool (you could see it on the picture) which made it really convenient.
Location: it's not on the beach and is in a quiet area. With a moped you are not more than 10-15 minutes away from beach, night life, spa's, etc.

Additional services available (paid separately) are:
1)italian restaurant (with expresso!!) : the food is really good and the price is affordable. I ate lunch and dinner there most of the times. Open almost all day.
2) moped rental: its what you need because the hotel is 10min away from the shopping center and Bangla Road. The mopeds are in great condition and again the price is very affordable (remember that in Thailand you got to drive on the left side of the road). And if you get there late at night ( I arrived at 1:00am) its not a problem to get a moped immediately.
3)on the same street there is a motor taxi if you don't feel like driving...

Conclusion:
If you are not looking for luxury and need a nice clean room this is the ideal place. I am definitely going again.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taranis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#149 of 329 in Patong
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arita Hotel
Arita Hotel
#280 of 412 in Patong
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nc-Residence-Hotel
Nc-Residence-Hotel
#29 of 412 in Patong
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alen e Umberto Guesthouse
Alen e Umberto Guesthouse
#22 of 412 in Patong
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Absolute Guesthouse
Absolute Guesthouse
#5 of 412 in Patong
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallo Patong
Hallo Patong
#105 of 412 in Patong
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanai Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanai Residence

Address: 35 Soi Nanai 2, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: $14 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanai Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nanai Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanai Residence Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing