We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST FOOD IN PATONG!!”
Review of Sea Hag

Sea Hag
Ranked #67 of 550 Restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Sydney
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST FOOD IN PATONG!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you want great food in Patong then Seahag is the place for you! On our fourth trip to Thailand and after having experienced eating in many resteraunts, the food at the Seahag is by far the best we have had! If you want authentic Thai food and not mass produced, it will offer you the best seafood and Thai food in Patong. No wonder it was number 1 the last few years in a row! The staff are warm and welcoming and could not do more to make us feel welcome. You will pay a little more but it is defiantly worth it. We were brought complimentary dishes for entree, main and desert. As for previous comments about the black aniseed drink given complimentary - it's black Sambucca. We were also given this complimentary drink (on several occasions on our holiday) and it did not make us feel the slightest bit ill. The best prawn cakes and chicken satay skewers you'll ever eat and without doubt the best mussaman curry we have ever had. Overall a fantastic dining experience and we will definitely be going back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    338
    153
    68
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummo”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went to this restaurant with the recommendation from the staff of a resort we were staying at in Patong . I was impressed to see the Trip Advisor logo outside so knew we were onto a winner. Absolutely! We were presented with a complimentary starter whilst checking the menu. This was small tasty fritters of some sort. Our dishes were delicious and generous with lots of fresh prawns.Also received complimentary.fruit following our meals. Don't see anything complimentary from restaurants in Australia! The staff were really friendly and the best restaurant on our trip round Thailand.Wish we had found it sooner. Cheers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doylee258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Two years since we have been back here. If it is possible, this restaurant has got better. Food is still fabulous and with a few minor renovations to the front and up stairs balcony, it makes it look great. Kenya is a a bulbous host and the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raymond1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were staying a bit south of Patong beach but based upon the reviews we decided to try Sea Hag. It was well worth the trip.

Everything was perfect. We had the combo appetizer and they brought us a complimentary appetizer which seemed to be a crab cake, all were great. For dinner the combo seafood plate that many seem to order just seemed like too much for two. Instead we order a 1/2 kilo of shrimp baked in garlic for 800bt and steamed fish. They brought a complimentary mixed vegetable dish and the Thai version of Cambodian seafood amok (baked seafood with yellow curry), I can't recall the Thai name.

Service was attentive and prompt without being intrusive.

Total was 1900bt with two alcoholic drinks. More food than we could eat.

I'm not sure all the complimentary stuff is normal (I've never had that happen once in 4 years living in Thailand). It was a slow night and they were near closing, so I wouldn't expect it to be the norm but it was very appreciated.

We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLE FOOD !!!!!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant off the back of reading great reviews on trip advisor and without doubt it is one of the best meals we've eaten in years in any country.

It's situated quite central in patong within walking distance to the manic nightlife of patong.

If your staying in Phuket you must try this restaurant the food is out of this world and very very good value. We (4 of us) eat so much good food and had about 3 bottles of wine we rolled out of there but it only cost about £20 per head. Honestly knowing now what I know I'd pay £40 per head it was that good.

Basically if you like good food which keeps all the thai traits you will love it here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 24sportstv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Hag also viewed

 

Been to Sea Hag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing