We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Food & Priceless view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante

Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante
Ranked #100 of 548 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $30 - $150
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante offers the finest in contemporary Italian cuisine in an beautiful seaside location. Enjoy your evening, while seated a few feet from the dramatic interplay of waves crashing into subtly lit rocks.Da Maurizio's has always distinguished itself from other Italian restaurants and the new menu lives up to its already firmly established reputation. Commencing the 1st February 2011 more than 90% of the fruit, vegetables, herbs and even eggs used to make our homemade pasta, are ORGANIC. It is our aim to be 100% ORGANIC as soon as possible.From among the assorted items on the menu is live fish and lobster, imported meats, homemade pastas and the chef's special tasting menu. Of course, no meal at Maurizio's would be complete without considering the selection from the Wine Spectator Award wining cellar and a sampling of homemade desserts.Delicious food, a gorgeous sunset and the serenade of the surf make this open air restaurant at Kalim Bay a must for any visit to Phuket.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Priceless view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

For an awesome night out that ticks all the boxes I would recommend going here for authentic Italian cuisine. The wines are very overpriced and in my opinion not great but the food, venue, staff and Maurizio himself are absolute gems!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BronnyB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    71
    44
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I won't give too much away but this place is magical, the food superb. Ask for a table on the water. You won't regret it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crunchybardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an exquisite and romantic environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Everybody knows there are plenty of Italian restaurants in Phuket, especially in Patong. It is always difficult to choose, also because not so many of them really care for quality and most important, they all serve the same dishes.
If you are looking for something very special and different from the rest, but still authentic Italian, Maurizo is your best choice. Not to mention the amazing view to the Ocean, the perfect decoration and atmosphere as well as the quality of service.
Highly recommended to those who are looking for a fantastic food in a romantic and unique ambience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogerpilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had the swordfish and the Caesar salad for my dinner last night. Incredible! The views and ambience are wonderful. The customer service is absolutely fantastic - both the owner and manager were by our table and you could tell they were very proud of this restaurant.

I have been to Da Maurizio's many times and am always blown away by the food quality and the service. Last night was no exception.

Leave room for dessert....I enjoyed far too much of the delicious bread basket I didn't have room left for the chocolate cake...which is what I will have first next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethandWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not only one of the best meals I've had in Da Maurizo, but possibly the best ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Full disclosure. We live nearby, and were actually married on the beach outside Da Maurizio and had our reception inside 8 years ago. We know this place well.

During that time, we've been back, on and off, for lunches and dinners.
Each time we always wonder why we don't visit more, and tonight was no exception.

There is no question as soon as you enter and see the stunning view, that you've picked the right location for a romantic dinner. The first course confirms that.
The food is beyond amazing. By the time you've had your second course, you will be looking forward to desert, but wondering where you'll put it. You will not leave hungry.
Tonight we couldn't, our mouths wanted what our bodies couldn't handle!

We drink the house Chianti, which is fairly priced at about 2000 baht (60 usd) for a 750ml bottle.
Its very smooth going down and sometimes requires a second bottle ;)

Look at my trip advisor reviews. (seriously go look.. )

I am happy to give poor ratings when they are deserved,
but for a transplanted Canadian/Italian living in Phuket, Da Maurizio is as good as it gets.

Ambiance and food second to none.

If you're reading this in Dec-Mar, call for a resv. they do get busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MTACCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Da Maurizio Bar Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing