We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location at Patong”
Review of Adonis Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adonis Guest House
Ranked #6 of 406 Patong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bregenz, Vorarlberg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location at Patong”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Adonis is only 3 minutes from Bangla road, the very center of Patong. Nevertheless it is a quiet place to live. Our room was well equipped with coffee maker, hair dryer and other amenities. The atmosphere was good and the people are friendly. I can really recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    66
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
104
154
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed in Adonis Guest House during the festive season and had a perfect stay, warm welcome, nice rooms with all the amenities (safe, free coffee and tea, hot water at shower and sink) for an affordable price.
I definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsearcher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our 4th stay (or more?) - see my other reviews for the reason as they still very much applies.

Our room was not ready upon checking in but Mai very kindly put us up in a different room, apologizing over and over again for the oversight. Our requested and appointed room was ready in less than 15 mins - spick and span as per the norm.

My husband and I were totally, totally baffled because we checked in earlier than the standard check-in hours and what they did was purely out of goodwill - the bar for other lodgings to match have undoubtedly been raised!

Our trip keeps on getting better with every visit. Have not been travelling eversince as our sons were sitting for final exams and we are looking forward to another great visit soon - and seriously, no matter how attractive other lodgings are offering, nothing can nail down to perfection what Adonis has to offer: genuine, friendly and warm service, cleanliness, safety, HUGE rooms, peace and quiet, reasonable distance to nightlife/food/beach and above all, very reasonable pricing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jusju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at Adonis in July, which is low season in Patong. I think some of the criticisms that I have to make can be explained by the fact that, it being off season, the service and 'vibe' of the guest house was not at its usual high standard (judging by the other reviews).

The hotel is located in the heart of the gay party district, the Paradise complex, so there's plenty of bars and clubs nearby. However, it being off season, the bars were near empty and we were regularly heckled by the bar staff as we walked around the complex. It was all a bit of laugh, but did turn us off going for a drink. If you're looking to party, July's definitely not the time to do it (though the bars and clubs outside the gay district were reasonably full). Thankfully, Adonis is located down a quiet off street so we weren't too disturbed by the loud music of a night, which might keep you awake if staying at another hotel in the complex. It's also not too far from the beach (about a 5-10 minute walk) and the major shopping mall.

On our arrival, we were greeted somewhat coldly by Mai at the front desk, which was not in keeping with the hospitality of other hotels we stayed at. I got the feeling that by asking her for tips on places to eat or tours to take we were bothering her. However, she did become more friendly over the time of our stay. We only properly met the owner, Phil, on our last day as he was asking us about our stay. It's a shame we didn't meet him earlier as he seemed to have a wealth of knowledge about the local area. For most of our stay the hotel was near empty, so Mai and Phil weren't about very much either - understandable, but a bit of a shame that the hospitality was not of the same standard that many other reviews praise.

The room itself was nice. Nothing glamorous, but well furnished and comfortable. The sheets, however, had certainly seen better days - there were several tears and some stains. On the plus side, the room included a secure safe, a very reasonably priced minibar and good air conditioning (though a little loud). Given the price of the room, the quality was certainly above value. We were on the ground floor, but quite enjoyed it there.

The highlight of the hotel was definitely the 'bar' on one of the higher floors. It had a drinks menu but was never attended, so we'd often get a bottle of beer from the local 7/Eleven and head up there for a drink at dusk. Being open-air, you'd get a nice breeze of an early evening and could sit back and relax.

Were we to travel there again in the off season, we'd probably stay at a hotel down in Karon, a bit away from Patong, but much more peaceful. However, I can see how Adonis would be a great place to stay at peak season, when the complex is a bit more lovely and the hotel's hospitality is of a higher standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_kennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timmy9765, Owner at Adonis Guest House, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
It's never pleasant to read a review from someone who obviously didn't experience our usual high standard of service, and we can only hope that the numerous positive reviews and comments about our staff will prove that even the best of us have bad days!
While it was pleasing to read that the service did get friendlier during the course of the stay, we are aware that first-impressions are important and we offer an unreserved apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I cannot think of a better value for the money than this 5 story guesthouse. Mai welcomes guests with genuine warm hospitality. My room had an impeccably made king sized bed, quiet A/C, porcelain tile floors, big refrigerator, microwave, electric tea kettle, immaculate bathroom, air freshener provided, safety deposit box in room and cable TV/DVD player. Grocery store close by at the JungCeylon luxury mall. All nightlife within walking distance. Beach nearby. Phil was the only hotel owner who took the time to talk to me in the entire month I stayed in Thailand. Free computer with internet available in the lobby. New properties are sprouting all over Patong, be aware that a dishonest hotel owner can create headaches really quick in a country where one can be arrested by any accusation levied by a business owner. Buyer beware!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was my my seventh trip to the Adonis Guest House and it never fails to disappoint with its consistent level of comfort, amenities and cleanliness. Its position away from the general hustle and bustle provides the perfect oasis to retreat to and yet is within striking distance of the shops, beach and restaurants. Owner Phil and his manageress Mai, never fail to offer a warm welcome are always on hand to assist and no doubt I shall be back in the not-too-distant future!

Room Tip: All rooms offer an above average level of facilities, great air conditioning, hot water and free wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattsBeenEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Having never been to Thailand before Phil and Mai made me feel completely at home and welcome - it was very reassuring to have such knowledgeable hosts. Had a wonderful time and will certainly be booking again soon. Such a pleasure to know that a clean and safe home from home is waiting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#45 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Guest House

Property: Adonis Guest House
Address: 143 / 34 - 35 Rat-Uthit Road | Paradise Complex, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adonis Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British owned & managed, our recently refurbished and upgraded Guest House is an ideal location for those who want to be near the beach and the nightlife, but want to be able to sleep at night! All rooms are spacious and comfortable, with air conditioning and en-suite shower or bath rooms, free toiletries, wi-fi plus tea & coffee facilities.The beach is about six minutes away, and the famous Bangla Road is just two minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adonis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis Guest House Hotel Patong
Adonis Guest House Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing