We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Pearl
Nearby Hotels
The Bliss South Beach Paton(Patong)(Great Value!)
$86
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$116
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amari Phuket(Patong)
$213
$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millennium Resort Patong Phuket(Patong)(Great Value!)
$101
$74
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$118
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$81
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park(Patong)(Great Value!)
$101
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
$101
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
64
35
7
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
35
7
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspatong beachfamily martminute walk from the beachrestaurants and barswalking distanceperfect locationphuket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 116 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Overall-4/5- satisfied

Positives
-Phil is a Brit that runs the place. Very helpful and , if anything -talks too much! His staff speak good english/good enough
- Offered to arrange for aiport pickup which is cheaper than the guys that grab you when you arrive
-Location is walking distance to nightlife and beach. This is good because it is quiet enough to sleep at night and you are close to the action. This is the section of Patong you want to be in.
-Good restaurant across the street with menu catering to East and West
-Ac,dvd collection 35 B each to rent, minibar
-Minimart right next door

Negatives
-Not a great place for meeting people. There is an open area with a bar, but few ppl and far btw use is.
-Like many other accomodations- you can't leave without getting pestered by massage girls in any direction you go. (not all that bad, but slightly annoying when awaking at 11 am and just looking to eat)
-Beds - just 'OK'
-Tv channels lacking-news, Crime and investigation, and few others in English
-To get to beach you have to pass through long stall of ppl selling novelties (they are annoying)
-1 Computer for internet, limited to checking email briefly

Overall - For a 20 dollar per night place - Location was excellent, good staff, comfortable enough, I'd stay here again. You can't really get much better, and you can expect to be comfortable and taken care of here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnShoe118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Stayed in Tatum Mansion in the beginning of November. Great time of the year top visit Phuket. Not to warm, but fairly stabile weather and pre-highseason prices. Booked Taumt agoda, and when i arrived at 12.30 am, the reception knew excatly who I was, and I got my room right away. The rooms are very standard, the bed quite hard and the view from the window was a concrete wall. It needed fresh towles are provided every day, and on request, cleen sheets. The reception provides the information you need. They also provide beachtowels. Breakfast is not included, but easy to find in the neighborhood. The location is great. close to the beach, Bangla Road and Shoppingcenter, but beeing a solo male traveler not looking for female companionship, walking to Tatum can be a hassel. There are several massage shops in each direktion from the hotel where the girls is more than willing to give you a massage and more. They are, for me very "aggressive" in their salesmethods, shouting at you, walking in front of you and grapping your arm, hand and other bodyparts. Bit of a minefield.

For the Budget traveler, Tatum is a great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Stayed at Tatum Mansion for 2 weeks 25th October to 7th November. Recommended by a friend of mine. Room very clean, towels and bed sheets are changed every day floor swepted, staff have a smile on their faces and say, "Good Morning". THe Hotel dosen't have a resturant, but an excellent one is opposite price is good for Thai & Non-Thai foods. 711 or Family Mart is next door, bars are a stone throw away. Most things you want is on your door step. Phil the owner of the hotel is very accommodating to your every needs, any problems he will resolve asap. He tries to have a chat with his guess whenever he is not busy.
i would book here again without thinking twice, i enjoyed my stay, i had the suite, room 501 a lot of stairs before you arrive to your room, but that is only a minor setback. Can't wait to return to Thailand soon...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kidbrooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I have visited Phuket a number of times and have never experienced better hospitality before my stay at Tatum.

The staff are great. The night clerk especially, who took extra care of individuals returning worse for ware after a night out, a great bloke who would jump up from the bar stool while watching TV to grab your key from behind the desk. The staff overall were extremely helpful with excellent proficiency in English. Unlike higher end hotels, were staff hospitality would appear forced, the staff at Tatum showed genuine hospitality (for instance were willing to draw out maps to the cheapest tour stands rather than simply direct you to more expensive ones nearby.

The rooms are budget, however much BETTER QUALITY than what you would find at similarily priced accomodation. The rooms are big and comfortable, the beds were large. TV had cable and a DVD player. (when ours failed, Philip came right up and carried another down from a spare room.) The rooms were cleaned daily, my mate and I consistently mucked around the cleaning staff, ie. not being out of bed until 2 in the afternoon, yet the cleaning staff were more than willing to backtrack to clean our rooms.

The bathrooms are certainly the one let down of this hotel. WHILE CERTAINLY NOT A DEAL BREAKER! The showers simply dont have screens hence, to a novice operator like myself, water sprays all over the floor. The water then drains... This is NOT AN ISSUE.

Location is AMAZING, this really is the second lynch pin of Tatum after the hospitality of the staff. Look at it on maps on Agoda, Google etc. This is perfectly centred between the main shopping complex, the beach, and Bangla road. You WILL not do better for your money.

There is a great restaraunt across the Soi from Tatum (3 metres), which is open breakfast through to dinner, their prices are low and the meals are well oversized. This restaraunt SHOULD be displayed on their website as many of their guests dine their.

I stayed their in December 2009, came back mid January and am looking forward to another visit

Bookings go directly through Philip the owner, who you will find to be a very easy and friendly guy to do business with.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalyst101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

i chose to stay at this hotel earlier this year because of the good reviews here + the rooms of the hotel looked very modern in the pictures.

after a 1-week stay, i have to say i am very pleased with the whole holiday. my room (406) was very clean, bedsheets and towels changed on a daily basis (or as required), cable TV (at least 40+ channels) and the owner, philip and the chambermaids were extremely helpful and friendly.

one of the best feature of my stay here was when philip offered me a selection of english branded teas (even tetleys and yorkshire!). it's always very nice to have a nice cuppa coming back to the hotel after the beach. there are also free internet next to reception and wi-fi. location of the hotel is very convenient: 2-min walk to beach, 10-min to bangla, 10-min to a big shopping mall and lots of starbucks closeby!

the only thing that i did not like was the fact that the whole bathroom is a wetroom. this is by no means a 5-star hotel, but for the amount they charge, it is extremely good value. the best thing of this stay is definitely the friendliness from the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews