We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kelly's Residency
Nearby Hotels
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Phuket(Patong)
$110
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Phuket Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$93
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bliss South Beach Paton(Patong)(Great Value!)
$67
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$86
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nap Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
$74
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
222
60
22
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
60
22
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbangla roadpatong beachshort walkhome away from homephi phi island tourtaxi servicethe hotel managerthe hustle and bustleairportphuketactioncupboardscooterthb
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 317 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at Kelly's for my second time in 7 months and once again the service and hospitality was outstanding.
I have visited Patong a few times now, the first time i stayed in one of the big resorts, which was nice, had a couple of big pools etc but didn't offer any of the service you get once you have checked in to Kelly's.
When i stayed at one of the big resorts, once you had checked in, handed over your credit card you were pretty much on your own.
Staying at Kelly's with Dan and his lovely wife Tan, you get much more than just a hotel. They give you local knowledge and guidance for everything, from booking a day trip, to organising a day sight seeing to where to eat at night. don't be shy, just ask and you will recieve.
The family run business are being lost in the corporate world but it was great to see Dan and his wife keeping the dream alive and offering the old fashion service which has been lost in the fight for cheaper rooms with no service.
At Kelly's, not only do you get a nice clean room with pleasant staff who will go out of their way constantly for you, you get to enjoy the best tours (being booked at cost price) you get to enjoy the company of locals which will be more than happy to offer you advice that will not only save you money and time, but also make your trip that much more enjoyable.
If you haven't already, give Kelly's Hotel ago, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were recommended and went on spec. What a great stay. The place is excellent and with top class hospitality. Dan the owner is a total Ozzie lunatic but he managed to put up with a Pom.
Very entertaining and the excursions are delivered on a non profit making scheme unlike some of the real big boys who charge double. They do it for the benefit of their clients. Really nice and nice pool.Very relaxing stay and close to the tourist areas without the noise.. Mick and Josie

Room Tip: Penthouse on top but all great
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here a week or so ago and loved it! We are not into big impersonal hotels, preferring smaller owner operated places so this ticked all the boxes for us. If you are into 5 star impersonal chain hotels then this will not suit you. Dan and Tan were great recommending and booking some excellent value tours for us to the islands and a perfect half day tour of the city ending at the night market. Breakfast was not included but cooked freshly in limited time for us each morning when we had to leave early and was delicious! Felt like we were staying in someones home rather than a hotel. Rooms were great, spacious, good bathrooms and nice and clean. Had a terrific litttle balcony overlooking the bay. Loved the list provided by Dan, and his advice in general. And enjoyed our daily chats about life! And yes, the market food was delicious! Location is good, staff were very kind to us. Only complaint, not enough geckos in our room lol!!! Thanks again for a great stay, will definatley return when we come back to Phuket!

Room Tip: any room would suit as there is a lift !
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heliconia9PerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I will keep this short and sweet! My first visit to Thailand was great, surpased only by my stay at Kellys Hotel. It was everything a Hospitality venue should be, clean, friendly, staff were knowledgable and helpful for whatever you would ask, nothing was a problem.
I enjoyed an 8 day stay with my only problem being not able to staying longer (this time!)
Having worked in hospitality for over 26 years this ticked all the boxes. Kellys was close (a short walk) to the beach, markets, shopping arcades, restaurants and food vendors. If you didnt feel like the walk transport was available at the doorstep.
Thanks Dan and Tan for providing a great holiday stay, I will be back!
Neil

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dialachef68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Have just returned home to
Oz after our 2nd stay at Kellys, this time for 16 days. 2 years ago we stayed in the penthouse rooms [1 for us and the 2nd penthouse room for our 3 kids] when the hotel was being managed by Tim. We returned in 2012 again taking over the 2 penthouse rooms, this time round we met Dan + his wife Tan who have resumed management of their hotel. Although we personally had no problems with Tim in 2010, we found that with Dan back at the helm, the overall running of the hotel and it's facilities was alot smoother and more efficient then in 2010. Was good to have WiFi available in the rooms, it may have been a little 'hiccuppy' at certain times but at the end of the day it is Thailand and we were more than happy to have access to the internet. The staff at Kellys were always cheerful and friendly,even though English is not their first language, we had no problems and they were always more than happy to attend to any requests we had. The rooms were always cleaned and serviced everyday - even though a few times we forgot to put out the door sign asking for the room to be made up. It was great to meet Dan and hear his stories and to get advise on any queries we had about where to go or what to see, we found it refreshing to get 'black + white' advise and not some fluffy hotel marketing . We can highly recommend the chicken that is cooked fresh each day not far from the entrance to Kellys, it is devine and very cheap at only 200baht, the kids loved it as well. The night food markets a 5-10 minute walk from Kellys [just outside Banzaan Market] were also great value for money if you wanted to try a variety of meals without the price-tag of a restaurant, can also recommend 'Meena's fried chicken' from the night food market, we all felt it left KFC out in the cold. Another local restaurant that we loved for lunches was located in the Otop Market - called 'More Ma' the cold fresh towelette that was given as you sat down was much appreciated, their food was delicious and a great price. We ate at a couple of 'proper' restaurants but mostly found that the locally run kitchen-restaurants were just as good if not better, one of the restaurants though that we did eat at and loved was at the northern end of Patong [probably into Kalim Beach area] called Pan Yaah, it is on a cliff edge that looks back to Patong - great views of the beach. The night markets at Phuket City were great and cheaper than some of the Patong markets, we got there early [5 pm] and by 7:30 it was packed. If you're not into the adrenalin rush or the usual tourist haunts the fairly new Phuket Botannical Gardens is a great place to visit, amazing themed garden areas, sculptures, plants, water features etc. even the kids [15.13 + 10] found it great - feeding the fish and running through the waterfall feature. The Phuket Aquarium at Cape Panwa was great value for money as well. We had a brilliant 2nd stay at Kellys and have nothing but praise for Dan, Tan and his staff, it was a pleasure to stay there and we will definately be back in 2014 [if not sooner]. Also thanks Dan for introducing us to the Mangosteen fruit ! had seen this fruit before but never knew how to eat it or what it tasted like, after being coaxed into tasting it, the kids were hooked ! it is delicious. After reading some of the negative reviews posted of Dan + Kellys, we found that nothing could be further from the truth - sadly there are probably some people that will never be happy no matter what. Keep up the great atmosphere that is 'Kellys'.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nzrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellysOwner, Manager at Kelly's Residency, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hi nzrudy.
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a very informative review, yes sadly today anyone can write whatever they like on a blog unchecked, I’m hoping one day for a reciprocal blog, that would be fun, nothing we can do about it we wear them even though their false and vindictive, truth has nothing to do with it and we’re hamstrung answering, and they never stayed with us.
My greatest pleasure is in giving as I have fulfilled all of my needs in life, in Kelly’s I come into contact with a lot great people, the Local knowledge I have comes from people like yourself, new tours restaurants what’s good and not good come from the hundreds that stay in Kelly’s, I listen and pass this information on, this is what makes Kelly’s a great hotel, it’s the personal contact and the free information you can’t get in big impersonal corporate places, they take your credit card give you a room key and that’s it, pay is their motto nothing free.
I have been in hotels a long time and survived mainly on word of mouth, we’re too small to burn big bucks on marketing and paying commissions so we have to be better, and a big part of being better is giving lots of free info.
No way anyone can get off a plane and know what we know about Phuket and it’s intricate ways of doing business and the mine field of scams, and us being on the ground and not an office we get to see and hear more, this place teaches you humility and patience, it take a lot of years to learn how it all works in Thailand. We deal with the street people that also survive on word of mouth, and that makes us all very good we use one another’s knowledge, we’re not part of any multinational company with the fluffy marketing and have to pandy to shareholders and large profits to cover the excesses, we are the real people in the real world dealing with other down to earth realists, life is always the way it is and not the way it’s supposed to be.
It’s taken me years and a lot of mistakes to know enough to be able to share it, now that I have this knowledge I give it for free, upside is we get the positive talk and everything runs smoothly, what to do and see they are just one phone call, no more sorting out scams or dud tours we’ve done 98% of that, it saves you a lot of time and money and us a lot of hassles, and the more successful we are at gathering information and sorting out scams and problems the happier we both are and that computes to big savings.
Also these savings can go a long way towards paying for your room, savings that you cannot get elsewhere, you got what it was all about and got the best out of your holiday and that shows in this review, small thing like exotic fruits and special tours and restaurants and place to go can only come from those of us that have survived in small long established family businesses from talking at ground level.
Thanks a million, Dan & Tan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews