We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”
Review of Anchalee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchalee Inn
Ranked #117 of 407 Patong B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was okay”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We got a double bed room, nice and alright and was just worth the money we paid for. Location is very near Patong beach and Bangla Road (like 10 mins walk). Arturo is very friendly and helpful to us the entire time, and he's smiling all the time (only if you're friendly to him too!).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOY_LITTLE_ALIEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    28
    18
    27
See reviews for
30
61
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Booked a family room but was given two double rooms with connecting door in between which is totally fine. Nice small pool, some gym equipment, sauna and restaurant. Cleanliness is superb and staffs are extremely friendly, helpful & courteous.

The only little setback was that the air-con in room 305 was not working (guess that gas is not sufficient) and hence it was rather warm during daytime, took very long time to cool the whole room. Overall is fine!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank confuser008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stay at the Anchalee Inn every single time we have come to Phuket, and are never disappointed!
Close walk to the beach, nice & tidy room WITH housekeeping!, pool is fantastic, food is superb and the staff are absolutely incredible!!!

Will definitely be returning again and again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Rebekkah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Back to Anchalee after a couple of years I have found the same confortable, clean and friendly place that I really appreciated in my previous stay. Its location is very convenient: just ten minutes walk from the beach and less to reach the citylife. Moreover, a good new: since a few months Patong is connected by bus to the Phuket Airport, thereby avoiding to you the 'welcome' of an horde of tuk-tuk drivers and their excessive rates.
In the restaurant I enjoyed again the excellent food, courtesy and quality of service, and, more generally the atmosphere quiet and relaxing of Anchalee, the basic ingredient for any kind of holliday.

Room Tip: book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank paolo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Me & my wife stayed at the Anchalee at the end of our 2 week stay in Thailand - we booked a few days before and actually quite enjoyed our stay! We thought that the price was brilliant, compared to where we had just arrived from, Koh phi Phi it was cheap - we had paid £66 a night for a place there and it was VERY basic. Ok the rooms here aren't the most up to date but the beds are Ok, you have good air-con which was quiet (unlike some places) you have a TV with lots of channels, a mini-bar & the rooms are made up every day - from reading the some of the other reviews I think they need to realise that you get what you pay for & here, you get great value for the price.

The food was nice & reasonably priced along with the drinks - the guy who worked on the bar was cool & all of the staff were friendly and attentive.

10 min walk to the beach roughly & 7-10 to the main strip in Patong - I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our balcony faced the main road out front, wasn't noisy from the inside & was good to sit th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Markos_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Arrived by taxi having paid in advance on the internet, for our stay. First impression was that the Inn/Hotel was a bit tired looking, down at heal and not as we had hoped.

The room allocated to us was small, felt uncomfortable and painted "grass green". The facilities were also past their prime and a plastic curtain sufficed as a partition in between shower and wc. We did not feel comfortable and did not wish to spend our time at Anchalee Inn and took the view that we would find alternative accommodation.

Out on the street outside the Hotel we found, in our view, Patong to be busy, noisy and right up into the face seedy. As the decision had been made to find a different Hotel, in any case, it was back to the ipad to find one in a different resort, which we did.

All in all, we had arrived and checked into Anchalee Inn then back out again in under 2 hours! As the money paid in advance was non-returnable, the money was lost to us and, in addition, we had to pay for a further 6 nights elsewhere. That for us, says it all.

This was just our impression and our view point. Obviously, judging by other travellers' remarks, not everyone would agree with us.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LovetheSummer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

3 familys stayed for 7 nights. great location but failed in every other area. Food portions very small, bathrooms although clean had rusty taps and flooded floor every time. The owner was a very angry man who could not handle criticism well. the pool is not heated and water too cold to swim. I would rate hotel as 2 star at best. ordered 4 coffee lattes all made with off milk. at first they did not agree then after they tasted it they made new coffees. unfortunately this hotel did not live up to overall rating from trip adviser. I recommend you spend your hard earnt money with another hotel that will appreciate it.

Room Tip: do not choose family rooms urgent need of renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Animalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achl, Owner at Anchalee Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
As mentioned you earlier, we cannot care less of your bad review on tripadvisor, even though you threatened us of it in exchange of waiving off the damages you have caused here. We have been waiting for your bad review and here we are: write whatever you want and be happy. We were expecting also your unprecise statements in respect of the hotel. These only confirm your degree of culture.

Despite the inconvenience which you and your group of 10 persons have caused to us and to other guests - to whom we beg their pardon on your behalf - by being noisy, troublesome and prepotent, even absurds sometimes, we have been always kind, soft spoken and accomodating to all of you, to your group which appeared just like if it came out from a "Soprano" TV series, and your friend's like kangooroo tenders from a deep desert station. Now, these bad comments only confirm who has not enough culture to apreciate what's good and distort reality on small issues as a retortion for having had to pay their dues.

Yes, because in facts you forgot to mention the main point, which is that, refusing to pay for the damages your overweight children have caused by repeatedly jumping on a chair - 80 Aus$ which at the end we discounted you to only 40$ owing to your pitifull beggings - you insisted that we call the police to sort it out. We did not want to, as we have experience that police do not like to be bothered for such petty things, but we finally had to do at your repeated requests (how smart of you). After a short investigation the police turned on you and annoyed for the inconvenience you caused ordered you to pay or face prosecution. This is the real cause of your tripadvisor's online complaints. And after your guilt and your gross, arrogant, noisy stubborness was conclusively recognized by unpartial authorities, facing no way out to save a few bucks, the shameless begging for a discount started: to dispose of the inconvenience as soon as possible we promptly agreed to a 50% discount and dismissed you with great relief. Do you feel great for the entire issue? The title of your review says "Never again" ..... we sincerely hope you will stick to your own propositions.

In regard to the complaints you write, until the time of paying the dues everything seemed to be pretty much all right:
*** the "owner who was an always angry man" was the one person who from beginning willingly assisted you and your friends in every petty things, as for ex. taking you to the shop to buy sim cards for your phones and show you how to use the numbers, helping you renting cars, making extra spare keys (which we never did for anyone else) for all of your three rooms, showing you the best nearby place for an italian breakfast (we do have it here too, but I was glad to pass the task to other collegues), and so on and so forth, including wasting time checking the three CCTV cameras to control your safety box which you said first was short of 20.000 bahts, then of only 4.000. After I clearly saw that you were the only one to access it and that therefore there was nothing missing other than what you yourself spent, I asked you to please have a look at it and check it yourself, but you did'nt. You did not bother to check even though repeatedly asked, possibly because you knew to be wrong, but you prefered to keep say nonsenses which not even your friends and family ever believed. Of course at the end of a 7 days ordeal I got angry and ask you to shut your foul mouth once for all. You are still talking.
*** the swimming pool is not heated in a tropical country were throughout the year the average temperature is over 30*C? .... please give me a break. You have been anyway using it quite a lot and apparently you did survive it well.
*** true that the family rooms are in need of renovations .... after your team leaft behind a trail of destruction.
*** a flooded floor depends exactly from as much water you splash on it.
*** we still do not agree with the "off-milk caffelatte" but we did change it anyway for you as a good gesture.
*** the food portions are very small? glad to know it, otherwise instead of breaking through the chair your kid would have sank the floor. That's not however the general customer's opinion.
*** two stars of three stars ratings? it does not really make much difference. Call it as you like: the important thing is the ratio between price and quality and services. Check others three stars hotels in town: they cost twice as much.
*** the general overall rating on tripadvisor is because generally people write what they really think rather than writing as a revenge against the whole world. But this is bound to happen time to time, it did happen before, and in fact we do have an example of it here too.

To conclude, we are glad you found some solace in your bad review. Apparently this is the best form of relieve to the pain of living that you were able to find and we are happy to have been of some use to your good self. However please note that the hotel has numerous respectable guests from your same country, which are educated, friendly and honest, and therefore we know for sure that your group represent one exception rather than the rule. But unfortunatley someone else may think that you do represent your country, and that would not be a proper representation for 20 millions of good people. If I am allowed, I would like therefore to request you to be more mindfull about this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Ramaburin Resort
Ramaburin Resort
#155 of 322 in Patong
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Squareone
Squareone
#137 of 322 in Patong
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#141 of 322 in Patong
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nirvana
Nirvana
#15 of 407 in Patong
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Benetti House
Benetti House
#243 of 407 in Patong
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchalee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchalee Inn

Property: Anchalee Inn
Address: 271 Ratuthit 200 Pee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 407 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchalee Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchalee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchalee Hotel Patong
Anchalee Inn Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing