We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy,comfortable ,relaxing and very friendly”

Lanna Thai Restaurant & Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lanna Thai Restaurant & Guest House
Ranked #321 of 407 Patong B&B and Inns
usa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cozy,comfortable ,relaxing and very friendly”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I've stayed in many guesthouses in Patong and this was the best experience yet, thanks to Andrew & his excellent staff my stay was more like a family gathering ,all the guests and neighbors mingled as though they were family . The location accross from the Mae Ubol market is perfect ,lively but quiet in the eve ,except when Andrew gives a surprise going away party for one of his guests , the food and the service was excellent , I intend on staying there when I return to Patong ----------------- Roger USA

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We have become addicted to the Lanna Thai. Having stayed about five times we are accustomed to a super welcome and tremendous service from Andrew and Khun Pom during our stays. The rooms are comfortable, immaculately clean and commensurate with the very low prices charged. The main reason we keep returning is the friendliness of the staff and the fact that the Lanna Thai attracts an amazing eclectic mix of interesting people single, married, couples, gay, straight and from many different nationalities. If you wish you need never be alone as there is always someone to talk with, either other travellers, or many of the local expats who pop in to drink and eat.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! This "Hotel" if you can get a room is actually a small bar with rooms behind. If like us you happen to book and these rooms are full the owner thinks it is ok to put you in his other hotel next door which happens to actually be some rooms on the back of a massage parlor which he doesn't own but sub lets for a profit. We booked to stay over the new year and after arriving we where put in one of these rooms which the owner Andrew assured us where off a higher standard than we had paid for. It turned out that the room was terrible for the money we had paid. It had holes in the ceiling, and a tv that didn't work and an old air conditioning unit that was so noisy you couldn't have it on while sleeping. The room is also located next to a noisy road making it impossible to sleep. We complained to Andrew and asked if we could move, to which he replied we would have to speak to the owner of the massage parlor as we where now her customers! After being offered another room the same we asked for a refund minus our deposit and another nights money as stated on the booking conditions set by the owner on hostel world. We where again told to deal with the owner of the massage parlor and that he had to get back to his customers??(Are we not his customers). In the end the owner refused to honor these conditions meaning we lost our money. If you want a great room in a great location there are so many hotels available a lot closer to the beach and with honest owners. PLEASE dont make the mistake we made and book with this "Hotel".

  • Liked — Moving to better accomodation
  • Disliked — Not sleeping at all due to the noise of the road and air con and being ripped of by the owner.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dannjemtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Bobsville
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Stayed at Lanna Thai for a week and really felt at home. First thing i felt was the staff were very much eager to make sure our stay was a happy one. Andrew is the owner and he is an English Gent with an awesome sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble for Andrew. Anything we wanted we just had to ask. Everything was taken care of.

The rest of the staff including Pom who is an absolutely wonderful hostess fell in love with our son and made him feel just as special during our holiday.

The food at the Lanna Thai is also of high quality and generous portions. Pom even went out of her way to ensure anything that wasn't on the menu suddenly appeared. This I have never experienced before so felt the whole experience was certainly tailored to us as individuals.

The complex is a short stroll to Jungceylon to do your shopping and there are also local shops and other eateries within walking distance. But why would you leave to eat elsewhere as their menu was very extensive.

One thing we really liked was the standard of English used by the staff. Not only were they able to ask how everything was but they took the time to make sure everything was ok.

Andrew can also help with trips and he is able to give you a great price on any excursions you are looking to do.

Overall the place is spotlessly clean and I loved the comfy couches you can sit on and just watch people going about their daily business.

Well done Lanna Thai

  • Liked — The total experience was hard to fault
  • Disliked — Having to leave. They gave us each a big hug and we felt like part of a family
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trippybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lavender Hotel
Lavender Hotel
#83 of 407 in Patong
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#54 of 322 in Patong
137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.9 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanna Thai Restaurant & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanna Thai Restaurant & Guest House

Property: Lanna Thai Restaurant & Guest House
Address: 159/7 Na nai Road | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 407 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanna Thai Boutique Guesthouse located on Nanai RoadOnly minutes to the Bars, shops and restaurants of Patongonly a few hundred metres from Patong BeachAll rooms have King Size Bed, air conditioned, ceiling fancable tv, fridge, minibar, shower/wc free Wireless internetamd most rooms have balconyWe have restaurant serving Thai and international foodBar and relaxing outdoor terrace where you can sit relax andenjoy a chattour desk our knowledgeable experienced staff can arrangebest deals on flight tickets, ferry tickets and hotelreservations in Thailand and can arrange tours to localattractions like Phi Phi Island, James Bond Island, Raya IslandKrabi, Coral Island, we can also arrange Elephant TrekkingATV and water raftingWe can arrange all local tours and excursions at best possible pricesTo ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanna Thai Restaurant And Guest House
Lanna Thai Restaurant & Guest House Hotel Patong
Lanna Thai Restaurant & Guest House Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing