We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”
Review of Coast Star Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coast Star Mansion
Ranked #329 of 415 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2011

If you book the standard room, then they show you what a big mistake you have made. A Standard room in the Jail should be better. The better room upgrade (after paying 400 baths per night) it is just bigger, but same nightmare.
Fake photos, do not believe the images (even they use photos from a nearby hotel), all rooms are dirty, old, broken. The enter is like small corridor and if you carry big baggage, good luck climbing the everest stairs.
The jacuzzi in the roof terrace is the best joke, a dirty puddle I guess it is a culture medium of any kind of sikness. If your target is hookers and drinks..ok , if it is something else.....stay away.
Please do yoursef a favour and go somewhere else,

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranciscoJimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 25 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2010

I been to patong many times!But this place is just the nuts. Cheap rooms fantastic food And lovely staff .Close to everything Night life(5 min to Bangla road biggest party road in Patong) beach (5min to beach) and shopping (5min to Otop market everything you want from copy to real brands) .I defently coming back soon great value.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank spender23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I stayed in coast star mansion this february for one week, and I must say I really liked it, good location, only a couple of minutes to the beach and a couple of minutes to bangla road. One of the best places to eat at aswell. And last but not the least, good prices.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I went to Patong over songkran and first got a place up on Nanai rd, but the price of tuk tuk down to city made me crazy!! Then i found this place , perfect location, good rooms, free internet and friendly staff. Not luxure but the price was very good for my budget. Outside a little bit noisy, but if you goto Patong you have to understand that.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed on this place in the start of may. When I saw the prices i think it must be a lump, but i was certainly surprised. We got a nice room with A/C and in the room it was also cable TV and DVD player. First we didnt think so much about the DVD player but the weather was not so nice so it was very good with the DVD player and free movies. When Im travel I use internet a lot and in this place the internet was free! The location was also very good very near to nightlife and the beach (if you must go with a tuk tuk in Patong its very expensive, start with 200 Baht for 300 meters!!) Down in the reception it was a very nice woman who tried to help us with everything and she speak very good english also. So when i compare the prices with this place to other places in Thailand I got a lot for the price here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterlarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Wow this place sucks, we stayed for one night booked through late stays, when we arrived to our room it was small smelly and looked like something from the secene in teh Beach Film, Patong is just hurrendous the Bangla Road is just full of prostitutes and its dirty and seedy
We had just come from Krabi which is beatiful and Phuket shoudl be re-named Poohket

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Holiday_Junkie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

This place is an absolute dump.

The three share rooms are three single beds pushed together and basically take up the entire room. The bathroom roof was sagging and dripping with water to the point we were afraid it would collapse during the night. The sheets were itchy, stained, and had hair on them, not to mention they gave my friend a severe allergic reaction. The advertised rooftop pool table jacuzzi and bar were all broken, and in a state of disrepair. The airconditioning didn't work, and the rooms had extremely poor ventilation. There are no windows on rooms, making it hard to breath at times. The staff were unhelpful, and condescending.

I'm a backpacker, and have stayed in some very dodgy places before, however this one takes the cake as the worst.

Look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jayebee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 331 in Patong
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#17 of 232 in Patong
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.2 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Star Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Star Mansion

Address: 206 / 7-8 Ratutid 200 Pee Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 415 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Hotel Class:2 star — Coast Star Mansion 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Coast Star Mansion Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing