We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very misleading photos”
Review of Aspery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aspery Hotel
Ranked #101 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My family and I did not see any of the good reviews coming true for our stay. We definitely did not receive a good welcome. The hotel and room are unlike the photos. Room is basic and dusty. Water leaked from the bathroom's wall wetting the floor in the room. Staff tried to help to seal the part but it happened again the second day. Thankfully we were there for just 2 nights.
It was our 4th trip to Phuket, other hotels we had stayed are definitely better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ling_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Front Office Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,

Aries Gella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Aspery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 821 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

After reading the reviews we were a little concerned about what we would find but we had a good 4 night stay here and encountered no problems. Our room overlooked an alley but was clean and well equipped. We liked being back from the Patong Beach Road but with easy access to the beach. Enjoyed the rooftop pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Front Office Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,

Aries Gella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I had to change rooms twice . The first was directly above a construction site , so there was not to think of sleep in the morning. In addition, the safe was ripped out of the holder and did not work.

In the second room grew mushrooms ( I'm not talking of some mold like there were in all 3 rooms, but really mushrooms - Disgusting! ) in the bathroom. When I criticized this at the reception and also showed them photos they first didn´t do anything about it!!! The first two rooms were not only not clean, but my feeling is especially in the bathroom realy bad and worn. In addition, at the 2nd room the shower drain was not working properly, which also is rather stupid in a walk-in shower . I was repeatedly told that it would be fixed, but actually they didn´t do anything about this eather! Unfortunately, to list all the shortcomings here there is not enough space ... Ripping off the customers seem to be program !

In the third room the shower head was extremely disgusting ! Overall, the condition of the rooms and ignorance of the staff was an absolute disaster ! You should not book this Hotel!!

Room Tip: Book ANOTHER Hotel!! If you HAVE to book this Hotel for some reason (I hope you don´t) rather book a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martinsusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Front Office Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,

Aries Gella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the photo suggests a sea view from the rooftop pool but now it's blocked by some building site.

Upon checking we were told we are being upgraded to a higher grade room which is newly refurbished. Erm.. if it was refurbished it was probably 5 years ago. The shower was flooding. The wardrobe looks dated. At least it was clean despite the dam smell, most probably due to bad drain pipes.

At least the room was cleaned well. The reception was friendly. You can borrow towels for the beach and return it same day.

The only annoyance is the massage girls right at the entrance. Upon entering the building where our room was located one of the girls was yelling at her 70 year old boyfriend over Skype.. otherwise tgey would sit around shouting 'massage!!! ' . Is this hotel or a girly bar.. we just avoid eye contact with them for them to leave us alone.

The reception was polite and friendly tjough so no problem there

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jasonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Front Office Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,

Aries Gella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Just arr this evening. Front desk guy was welcoming. No design bare enough, ok clean. I didnt choose this hotel we were relocated here by Venere.com cos they said Ella bed is going out of business.( i booked it in Oct) so we were upgraded to junior suite for it. We got rm on 1st floor. Rm has a slight stink of sewage. Its partially renovated but in simple way that is no frills. Only 1 tiny bottle of shampoo n bath gel, so u know wat u r getting. N the A C is weak, it wouldnt b enough for summer.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KatieGaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Front Office Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,

Aries Gella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went into a standard room, mistake. It was in a separate building and stank of paint it gave us a headache BUT after we upgraded to a room in the main building it was well worth it, huge room, massive bathroom and a balcony it was really nice. We went to the pool one but it is quite small and with the beach less than a 5 minute walk away it was better to go there. The location is on the quiet end of Patong so it was easy to get a sun bed on the beach and Bangla is about a 10 minute walk away. The location is perfect as it was nice and quiet when we wanted to sleep and relax but we could walk to the crazy loud part in minutes. We actually loved Patong and went there twice in 3 weeks, the atmosphere is great and there are so many places to visit from there. I would stay here again but pay for a nicer room in the main building.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Front Office Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,

Aries Gella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It's a shame i have to write this review, because the Hotel is not bad. It's quite decent, clean, fairly modern, and nice. But one of the bad things is that it is a bit far away off-the beaten track, as far as central Patong goes - which you may like.

No real Lounge area, very cold non-communal feel. Basically once you've checked in, the staff want you out-of-sight, out-of-mind. So no real communal lounge area like other Hotels. The Hotel is okay but is very small - the pictures are deceiving !


The Hotel has an overpriced built in 'Health Spa' which no one uses to the best of my knowledge, and serves as an annoyance - One expects the hotel to be calm and free from touters beckoning you to 'Massage, Massage'. Fair enough this happens outside on the bustling market streets. But once you are in the relative calm of your hotel, the Massage lady's ply the same sales pitch 'Massage, Massage'. The last thing you want. Incredible.

Restaurant stupidly overpriced, and when one asks for details about the menu, expect a severe ear-bashing rudeness from the staff.

You see the problem is: The staff are all relatively young. Inexperienced, with lots of attitude. Leaning against walls, groaning and sighing when asked a question and basically not being bothered. They hang around in 'groups' chatting away and looking suspiciously and laughing at their guests (I speak Thai and actually overheard them say 'Look at that Fat-A*sed Falang' to a new guest arrival)... Not very nice welcome, huh?!?!

My first experience of the staff rudeness was the minute i got in the door - the pillow-case was still smelling from the last person that used it, and had obviously not been changed. I took off the pillow cases and went to politely ask the Housekeeper/Cleaner (about 18 years old!) if i could change them. I got such a litany of abuse and rudeness i decided just to leave it and not kick off.

Then the next day, i noticed the same cleaner/housekeeper snooping around my room, with another young boy (why may or may not work there). It seemed highly suspicious and not safe at all. My suspicions were correct when i left my room for a few minutes to pay cashier downstairs. The cleaner obviously thought i had gone out for the day, but in actual fact, i remembered i forgot my wallet - so came back up to my room 2 minutes later - to find her in my room going through my things. She quickly made out like she was 'cleaning my room' - despite
the 'Do Not Disturb' sign there. Very strange.

Went downstairs to complaint to the manager, and immediately all 7 of the staff on duty all seemed to collude and put it to me that there is nothing wrong with staff entering your room, rummaging through your stuff WITHOUT your permission. They then became quite antagonistic and aggressive with plenty of attitude from all of them.


The very next day i checked out, without a word said to them. which completely surprised them. After a day and a half of sheer plain rudeness, i was done with this. Can't believe I am actually paying for them to be rude to me!


Thank God i only paid 2 days. Previously, i was staying at the perfectly lovely C&N Hotel with no problems at all, but i decided to just see what this hotel was like... and boy was i disappointed.

Like i say, the Hotel is nice, but much more than this, the staff have no precedent of customer service - especially when the shift Manager is about 24 years old. Once they have your money, they don't really care, and this SIMPLY is not good enough.

So that is why i give this hotel 2 stars. The best hotel in the world, is not worth a damn if the place is unsafe, and staff are rude and intimidating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wandererer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Front Office Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,

Aries Gella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.4 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#52 of 328 in Patong
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#76 of 328 in Patong
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#38 of 328 in Patong
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#66 of 328 in Patong
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 328 in Patong
740 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspery Hotel

Address: 5/41-51 Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $20 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspery Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing