We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy, got a good sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspery Hotel
Ranked #90 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Midwest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, got a good sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Aspery in Patong after spending nights in Naithon and Kata. The Aspery is about as middle of the road as you can get. The standard rooms were spacious enough, though not as inviting as other rooms we'd stayed in. We didn't communicate with the staff easily but it never presented a problem. The location might be great for some people. It's walkable to the beach, and has a handful of bars and restaurants nearby. However, it's a decent hike to the main part of downtown Patong (which might not be the best place to stay for a lot of people), so be prepared for a tuk tuk or a long hot walk. Don't get excited about the rooftop pool -- it's not as nice in person as in pictures, and doesn't have much of a view. But with the beach so close we weren't bothered by this at all.

Probably the worst aspect of the Aspery is the restaurant downstairs. It is awful. The pad thai I ordered for lunch was nearly inedible, the breakfast is very forgettable, and a few of the servers were downright rude.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Guest Relations Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    354
    153
    45
    51
See reviews for
79
265
87
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I just spent 15 nights at the Aspery and loved it.The staff were the best and always had a smile on their faces and always very helpful.The room we were given was an upgrade and was perfect.The room was cleaned to every detail and always spotless.The location is great a quick little walk to the beach,shopping and as many restaurants you can think of.It is within close walking distance of Bangla Walking Street or a quick tuk tuk ride.The restaurant in the hotel is great they serve some great Thai food and western to.I would like to say thank you to all the staff at the Aspery for making our holiday great and we will see you on our next visit to Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arkman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Public Relations Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Rooms Stayed : 2307 & 2308
Type: Standard
Rooms were small but comfortable with spacious bathrooms. Good house keeping, nice quite location.

Best part:
Early check in accommodated
Pool is nice
Hotel provides free beach towels and umbrella
Best place nearest to the beach
Quite a number of free internet terminals
Magazines from a mini library that guests could borrow to their rooms

Drawback: Standard rooms are located in another building so you need to go to the main building for(around 50 mtrs):
Breakfast
Swimming Pool

Dining area/lobby is small
Breakfast was not that great ( I am a vegetarian)

Overall a best value for money deal.

Room Tip: Do not take the Standard rooms, but for budget traveler, they are more than what you can ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vipul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Director of Sales at Aspery Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Very average hotel ,room was reasonable,we had a junior suite and a deluxe room no differance between the two except the size of the balcony on the suite.Both rooms were very noisy from the road outside the pipes inside and the huge building site across the road[which was not mentioned when we booked].The breakfast was also ok in quality but is absolute chaos as there is not enough seating and is served in a tiny buffet area not exactly holiday fun!You get the impression from the owner who was referred to in a previous review as the grumpy check in lady that she dislikes her customers like a thais basil fawlty.In conclusion i would stay anywhere than this hotel as it is just not worth it.I can also promise the review below this one will be outstanding.My wife has told me to also mention the cockroach in the bathroom on the first night .....lovely

Room Tip: choose a different hotel for a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Public Relations Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We reserved a deluxe room and recived a junior suite for our first night. The room was cramped, bathroom dim and cramped, no lock on the balcony door (unsafe because the balconsy are attached) and a noticeable amount of bugs. The staff moved us to a deluxe room after that first night and it was large, bright, nice bathroom and bug-free. My review would not be a good one had we had to stay in the original room. The hotel is located a short walk from the beach, lots of restaurants and shops around and close enough to walk to Jungceylon or Bangla without being too close to the noise. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was just fine.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starkerama08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Guest Relations Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very centrally located hotel right near Patong Beach. Loved the very picturesque pool that had nice cocktails, decent food and a bit of a view over the beach. My main gripe was that on one of the days we had a problem with our room key and were having trouble getting in and out. This prompted a guy coming up and looking at it for ages before deciding that we would have to move rooms. We went through the whole process of packing our stuff and me dragging everything out into the hallway before he decided that we DIDN'T need to move rooms... and then we did... then didn't... this went on forever and his communication was terrible so in the end I just had to remove myself and come back later, by which time they had fortunately fixed the door. However, in comparison the guy at the front desk was very lovely, helped us organise a great Phi Phi Islands tour. There are also great internet facilities which I made good use of when I found out there was minor flooding where my parent live in Australia and had to connect with home.

We also met some really lovely people while staying here, a group of girls from Queensland who we hung out with for a few days and a really nice couple who let me use their Skype connection when I was trying to get in touch with my parents about the rains back home.

We also tried the massage downstairs and found it to be overpriced.

Note: we actually stayed early January 2011, TripAdvisor won't let me select back that far.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeghanB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Guest Relations Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We arrived at the hotel amidst total chaos. I think there just too many people checking in/out at the same time, because the check in staff were just all over the place. Eventually they managed to sort us all out and get our rooms ready.

The big issue we had was the cancellation of their New Years Eve function. We had each paid close to 3000 baht for this function that they had cancelled. We had been informed a couple of days earlier by sawadee.com that the function had been cancelled and we will be refunded by the hotel. Well the hotel would not refund us, citing that they had not been paid by sawadee.com yet and that they only get paid monthly etc etc. Whilst I can understand their point, a hotel should not their arrangements with third party booking agent's their guests problems. If they were happy enough to take bookings from and dictate to sawadee.com that all guests booking over that period pay for a NYE function, then they should handle the refunds when things go wrong. Eventually we got our money refunded by sawadee.com but only after we left the hotel on the 3rd January, which left us having to use other money when organising our new years evening.

More bad things:
* This was also another hotel where the extra "bed" was yet again a mattress on the floor, which is very disappointing.
* There were also a couple of cockroaches in our room which you really do not expect in a hotel
* we were only given a single key card for our room and were told we needed to pay a 300 baht deposit for an additional one. You would expect to get 2 cards at the majority of hotels these days
* we had a sewer smell in our room that just would not go away.

The good aspects:
* good wi-fi/free internet access
* breakfast was good enough
* their restaurant has pretty good cocktail specials
* the food at the restaurant was good value for money

Overall we didnt enjoy our stay at the Aspery Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokechai, Guest Relations Manager at Aspery Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated and it is very valuable in our business for us to improve more and give our best.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for staying with us.



Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#163 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
#47 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanthip Beach Resort
Thanthip Beach Resort
#121 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#33 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspery Hotel

Property: Aspery Hotel
Address: 5/41-51 Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Aspery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspery Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing