We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everybody should experience this at least once in a lifetime!”

Sam's Steaks and Grill
Ranked #2 of 550 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $53
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Undeniably the number one Steakhouse in Patong, the readers of TripAdvisor have recently recognized us as the best fine dining experience in Phuket, and amongst the very best restaurants in Thailand! A classic steakhouse with elegant service, great wine selection and only the very best imported beef combining to make the perfect evening, every time! The dress code for 'smart casual' at all times. We prefer that men will wear long trousers and collared shirt, short or long sleeved, with shoes and that ladies are also suitably attired for dinner. However, we understand that we are in a hot, 'holiday' environment and we are happy to receive guests with more casual attire providing the 'smart casual' tone is maintained. Guests will not be allowed to dine if dressed in beach-wear or sports-wear. Thank you for kind consideration of our other diners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everybody should experience this at least once in a lifetime!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The ambience was amazing from walking in the door until we left. Panom & his staff were very welcoming & attentive. The dress code is a great idea. We started with a warm spinach salad & a chickpea salad. Both delicious. My husband had a sirloin ( he says the best he has ever had). The desserts were to die for. Creme Brûlée & a Chocolate, Peanut Butter Pot. The cherry on the top was the 'misty' ice cream. Amazing dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear "milloz"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am really delighted that you have found Sam's to be such an impressive experience overall. It is great to note that you have found the food to be of such a high standard and I will certainly share your comments with regards the excellent service with Panom and his team. We do hope you will be again soon and will have the chance to dine with us again!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    952
    141
    46
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Earns it's No1 Status!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

A group of 3 of us ate here twice whilst in Patong just before Christmas. We chose here based on its no1 spot, and it by far & away exceeded our expectations. For the first visit we all had a starter then Fillet Steak for main & the second visit we shared a 600g Chateaubriand. We Would go as far to say it was nothing short of outstanding. The service is also impeccable and for 875 baht for a Fillet Steak with a sauce & 2 sides is more than reasonable. Sams Steaks & Grill is a must!

Helpful?
Thank Suttley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear "Suttley"

Thank you for your "outstanding" review and I am delighted that you have enjoyed such a memorable dining experience with us. Your comments with regards the very highest standards of food quality and service are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your feedback with the manager, Panom, and his team. We do hope you will have the oportunity to visit again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, QLD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's a must!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

if you speak to any ex pats in Patong they will tell you that you MUST try a meal at Sams Steak house and they are right, when it comes to good steak in Phuket, this is the place to be, but not only do they serve steak, we had the french onion broth with fresh bread and also crepe suzette made right in front of us at our table...this is fine dining at it's best with the prices of home, so don't expect cheap, I think it worked out to be about $80 per head, but if you want to treat yourself whilst in Phuket, it's a must!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenStilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear "HelenStilly"

Thank you for sharing another wonderful review, in addition to that already posted for our Charm Thai restaurant. Your feedback on both the quality and the variety of the food at Sam's is very much appreciated and I will certainly share your review with the manager, Panom, and his team. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always the best restaurant in Phuket”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Back again in Phuket we went to Sam's, and were not disappointed.
Fantastic welcome, kind and professional staff, great food and I just love the attention for details.
The restaurant itself is very elegant but at the same time easy going and you feel at home.
Small surprises as appetizer, sorbet between starter and main course and to close delicious ice cream and all complimentary.
We usually stay in Phuket two month and go to Sam's two-three times a week. I must say, that it
is very difficult to find a restaurant where the service and quality is always perfect.
If you want to try Sam's, and you should go, it would be a good idea to make a reservation because always fully booked.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisbeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear "Lisbeth V"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback which, as a many times returning guest, is especially valuable! I am delighted to read that Sam's continues to delight and that you have found the service and the food to be so consistent and of such a high standard. I will certainly share your review with the manager, Panom, and his team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntadgin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food as usual”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I'd been to Sam's a couple of years ago and totally loved my experience. When I finally got my family to come to Thailand wewe decided we have our daughters 20th birthday dinner there. She was thrilled with her dinner there. Our meal probably averaged out at $50 a head for a 2 course meal and because it was her birthday they had made her a small cake, with candles (a lovely gesture). There is no way you would eat out in Australia, with that service and quality of food, for under $100 a head. I have given it a rating of 4/5 only because when I booked we we're told there was a dress code of good casual and collared shirts for men, and previously our male guests we're given collared shirts when they turned up in nice t–shirts, and we saw several guests turn up in jeans and t–shirts. I made a point of telling my husband and kids to pack something nice for dinner.The food an service are amazing. I would definitely recommend it as a must do when visiting Patong.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bron1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear "bron1968"

Thank you for sharing your very kind and positive review and I am delighted that you have had another wonderful dining experience in Sam's. I fully appreciate your comments with regards the dress code and this is something that we have recently started to enforce again more rigorously. For some time the dress code had lapsed completely, however we now strictly enforce a code of "smart casual" which does not allow flip-flops, any form of beach wear, any sports wear, sport "colours" or baseball caps. Currently, jeans are still permitted, but we aware that the atmosphere of this restaurant is critical to the overall experience of our individual diners and we will continue to work in this direction for the greater satisfaction of all of our guests. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Steaks and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steaks and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing