We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Romantic Atmosphere”

Sam's Steaks and Grill
Ranked #2 of 550 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $53
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Undeniably the number one Steakhouse in Patong, the readers of TripAdvisor have recently recognized us as the best fine dining experience in Phuket, and amongst the very best restaurants in Thailand! A classic steakhouse with elegant service, great wine selection and only the very best imported beef combining to make the perfect evening, every time! The dress code for 'smart casual' at all times. We prefer that men will wear long trousers and collared shirt, short or long sleeved, with shoes and that ladies are also suitably attired for dinner. However, we understand that we are in a hot, 'holiday' environment and we are happy to receive guests with more casual attire providing the 'smart casual' tone is maintained. Guests will not be allowed to dine if dressed in beach-wear or sports-wear. Thank you for kind consideration of our other diners.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Romantic Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had the best beef steak with red wine and salad. The staff and atmosphere was good and dessert was ok. I will return to the Holiday Inn Resort in Phuket for a chance to eat there again. The wine list was also superb along with coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear "Jin S"

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind review with us. It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the food, the wine list and the service from the team and fantastic that you hope to come back again soon. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Patong and, in the meantime, I will be sure to share your comments with the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    952
    141
    46
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wow!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I could write pages just about how good the food was. This place is amazing and is one of my top 5 all time dining experiences of all time. Hands down one of the best steaks around, amazing service (we had a 2.5 yr old child with us and they went the extra mile to keep him happy), the extra little complementary surprises and the atmosphere. Even my nephew's mini burgers were unbelievable (we were tempted to ask for the big version). Go there for a great dining experience. You would not want to miss it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Electric_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear "Electric_N"

Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review and I am genuinely pleased that you and your family have had such a "WOW" experience at Sam's! Your comments on the quality of the food and the service you received are very much appreciated and I hope you all have the chance to visit again soon! In the meantime, I will certainly share your feedback withy the restaurant manager, Panom, and his team.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“if you like a good steak Sams is a must.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After several trips to thailand i decided that we must try this Sam's at Holiday inn.
It did not disappoint at all.
Great food good service, not cheap for thailand standard but well worth it. We did a set menu. Very nice steak.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank elley-mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear "elley-mae"

Thank you for your very kind review on Sam's. Your feedback on the great service and value for money is very gratefully received and I will be sure to share your comments with the manager, Panom, and his team.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Going by the trip advisor rating we decide to head to Patong to give this place a try. My initial worry was whether this place can cater fora family with a 2.5 year old baby. After arriving we were asked to wait in the entrance area for few minutes while the staff rushed to rearrange the seating for us. The restaurant has two rooms, the main one being on the left hand side which is mainly for dinners without kids while on the right hand side there is the 2nd smaller room mainly used for dinners with kids. A large sliding door makes sure that none of noice generated by screaming kids will not make it's way to the main dining room.

Very tasty and beautifully presented food with a lot of thought behind it. Entrees that you want to have more of, steaks that melt n you mouth, desserts to die for. All this with excellent service and very friendly and entertaining staff.

A bit pricy being in Thailand but compared to Australia you would pay double the money to get the same food quality but I doubt you would get even the same quality service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayokh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear "ayokh75"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am really pleased to read that the team at Sam's have taken such good care of you and your young family. Your comments with regards the high quality of the food, the attentive service and the freindly staff are very gratefully received and I will be sure to share your review with the manager, Panom, and his team!

I hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUMMO !!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

we give Sam's Steak house 6 stars couldn't fault it.I recommend the Beef Wellington ...it was sensational.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear "Lynne F"

Thank you for taking the time to share another review with us, in addition to that already posted for the hotel! a "six star" rating is always greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your feedback with the manager, Panom, and his team!

Hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Steaks and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steaks and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing