We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Food and Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam's Steaks and Grill

Sam's Steaks and Grill
Ranked #1 of 548 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $53
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Undeniably the number one Steakhouse in Patong, the readers of TripAdvisor have recently recognized us as the best fine dining experience in Phuket, and amongst the very best restaurants in Thailand! A classic steakhouse with elegant service, great wine selection and only the very best imported beef combining to make the perfect evening, every time! The dress code for 'smart casual' at all times. We prefer that men will wear long trousers and collared shirt, short or long sleeved, with shoes and that ladies are also suitably attired for dinner. However, we understand that we are in a hot, 'holiday' environment and we are happy to receive guests with more casual attire providing the 'smart casual' tone is maintained. Guests will not be allowed to dine if dressed in beach-wear or sports-wear. Thank you for kind consideration of our other diners.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
“Incredible Food and Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were staying at Holiday Inn and of course we had to try Sam's Steakhouse. So glad we did. From the time we arrived we were well taken care of. The food was amazing. Best dining experience I've ever had. We started with salmon 3 ways and the shrimp and crab cocktail. Then of course we had the steak. One of the best steak I've had. Dessert we had the crepe suzette where the waitress prepared it in front of us and this was so delicious. Also a nice surprise when the after dinner mint came......this is well worth the money. Great and friendly service, delicious food from start to finish and ambience was really pleasant. This place is not to be missed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear "Gina U"

Thank you, in addition to your wonderful review of Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, for taking the time to share your feedback on Sam's. I am really pleased that you found the food so good and the service friendly and professional, and I will be sure to share your comments with the manager, Panom, and his team .

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    137
    38
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

freshly prepared meals, well selected side dishes, interesting plate arrangements, friendly and attentive service in a pleasant atmosphere

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear "Erwin H"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we hope to see you back again soon at Sam's!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is how heaven must taste like :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were staying three nights in Patong and we wanted to try Sam's Steakhouse as the reviews sounded amazing. On Saturday evening they were fully booked, but they accepted our reservation for Sunday.

The Ceasar Salad was our starter and the lady made it freshly next to our table. A very nice way to do so and the taste was really good.

For main course we took the steak - of course! It was so tender and just perfect. In between the courses, they even provided us with very tasty small appertisers... Will not tell you which ones, so that it will stay a surprise.

The desserts were okay. I tried the selection of banana/chocolate bites and this one was the nicest. The complimentary final dish was magical and completed the great dinner.

A must try if you want to avoid the big crowds in Patong.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_NL_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear "Rob_NL_SG"

Thank you for your great feedback and I am really pleased that you were able to get a reservation before you left Patong and have had such an enjoyable experience. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the manager, Panom, and his team and we hope to see you back again soon at Sam's!

Morgan Layberry
executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastic experience and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We searched the net for the top reviewers restaurant in patong and this came up... we went there last night and it was amazing!
Its a sensible priced menu considering the quality of food and service you receive... you would pay double in London!

100% will come back before we go home... definitely worth having dinner here. It is a beautiful setting with very helpful staff and no rush on eating your meal. We got a cute little sorbet before our main and a really cool dry ice pot at the end with a cool mint choc ice cream thing! Very nice finishing touch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chloeuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear "chloeuu"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your kind comments with regards the atmosphere of the restaurant, the quality of the food and, in particular, the friendliness of the staff are very much appreciated. I will be sure to share your review with the manager, Panom, and his team and we hope to see you back again soon at Sam's!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant value, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fine dining experience, with value for money. Friendly service with that extra flair and little extras.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smoothmoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Sam's Steaks and Grill, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear "Smoothmoves"

Thank you for your kind feedback on Sam's, we are really pleased that you have had a great time and we hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Steaks and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steaks and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing