We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value, comfy, clean and economical”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Album Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Album Hotel
Ranked #69 of 400 Patong B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent value, comfy, clean and economical”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We booked a single night in this hotel primarily as we were arriving late one evening earlier than our planned and prebooked stay in another resort in Phuket.. given we did not feel like paying an excess of $200+ a night for a resort we would not enjoy til mid day anyhow, we opted to stay in a budget hotel nearby on the evening of our first arrival... the album thus was our choice.

We were staying over the normal Patong xmas peak period - we prebooked using Agoda about 6 weeks in advance and paid about US$85 for a single night including breakfast for two.

The album is a new hotel and it shows - everything is new and thankfully, not half done - everything works and looks as it should. Being a budget place, it is rather sparse, and our room had no view to speak of. We did have a balcony exit out on to a fire escape - but that did provide any real view save a dakr alley of low level rooftops.
The room itself was about 15 sw meters - and had a bed with no headboard - so be warned as the bed itself is flat against a cement wall. The room featured mini bar fridge, 4 free bottles of water, a kettle and tea/coffee. The bathroom had a standing shower only, that is thankfully set off from the main toilet sink area with a proper floor separation which is not the case in many of these types of hotels in Thailand. At least you will not soak the entire washroom by getting a shower.

We found the bed while new and fresh to be quite stiff and hard, and the pillows to be exceptionally high and hard. We both hard neck aches in the morning.

The reception staff was helpful and friendly, although for a tourist hotel such as this, they need better english to communicate with the average tourist.

The lobby/ reception area, while small is interestingly decorated - with a color TV that has been converted into an aquarium, a classic phone from the 1930s and a grammophone turntable (ala the name of 'album hotel').

The breakfast in the morning was adequate but nothing special - a choice of fruits of acceptable but not great quality, tea and coffee, cereals and some bread and croissants with jams and spreads. A choice of three juices and normal milk completed it.

The lobby has free wifi - but we did not try it out.

Room has a 24 inch samsung LCD TV and a samsung DVD player.

The shower had lw, but not weak pressure - there was a somewhat lack of water volume also - so if you are staying here a few days you may be frustrated in the shower facility. Note it is wall mounted and hence can not be used by hand.

This hotel is a place i would expect to pay no more than 1500 baht for it in normal times - but it is a good choice if you are on a budget and dont want a pool or any special services in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    75
    48
    4
    11
See reviews for
13
84
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

This was a last minute find for a 4 day trip in Phuket during november and was a real pleasant surprise. All the other hotels we had been looking at were fully booked or were ridiculously priced (over double what we were paying for a 4 star hotel in bangkok)

Firstly the whole design of the hotel is very hip: bright colours, old tv renovated into a fishtank. The reception is covered in a variety of dinky toys, photos. The hotel itself is quite small and intimate.
The second surprise was that we had our rooms upgraded due to overbooking so had the larger rooms. Each had a smal 3x3 m square balcony facing the street. Bathroom was clean with new fittings. Only gripe was the shower water temperature control- it would periodically go cold or super hot without warning.

The bedroom came with flatscreen tv, dvd player, large kingsize comfortable bed. The nice touches are that in the wardrobe area there were an umbrella, beach mat, beach chair all avalilable for you to take to the beach.

Upstairs on the roof- they have a small plunge pool and loungers so you can sunbathe and take in the view. Other noticeable bonus' are the small kitchen in reception where you can help yourself to drinks.

Location of the hotel is good, its opposite a school, about 10 minutes slow walk to the beach. And also very near all of the patong nightlife- but not so near that you get overspill of drunken tourists.

Cannot fault the service- the staff were all very friendly and helpful- helping us arrange trips and giving restaurant recomendations. Special props go out to Mr John- the night reception guy who gave us clubbing advice and would chill with us after a night out on the porch, having a smoke.

Price -wise i think that it is reasonably priced- and in accordance with local hotels. Obviously we were upgraded despite only getting standard rooms- and i agree that the standard rooms are much smaller but still clean and nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

The hotel was a great place for us. It is very cloe to the sea. It is renewed and it is very nice. There is a swimming pool on the roof. It is small though but you can use it to rest. Nevertheless you are very close to the sea. The rooms are new, clean, very comfortable, with large beds and nice bathrooms. There is a safe in room. There is free wireless internet provided.
Breakfast are very tasty.
We will book this hotel again when we come back :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukas888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Good Points -> Hotel is small, but really cute. Lots of small details. You will like it. Location is excellent, 5 minutes walking from the beach and 5/10 minutes from Bangla Road. DVD player in all rooms. Staff is nice and polite. Price is good, but you can have better for the same amount in Patong.

Bad Points -> You feel like in Legoland when you are at The Album Hotel. The room is really tiny, "swimming pool" is tiny, Breakfast is a joke (no options at all). Nice LCD TV in your room, but only with 6 channels available (BBC was the only one in English). Reception said that was a problem with satelite, the engineer would come next day, but we never saw him during the 4 days that we spend at this hotel. Is a nice hotel, don't take me wrong, but I can garantee to you, that you can find better for the same price in Patong.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barreiro-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

This was our second stay at the Album hotel. Our first visit was in January 2009. Again we were very happy with the hotel and the service. We would stay here again in the future. The hotel is well resourced for what we want in a hotel. It is small and relaxed with the service staff happy to accommodation any requests. There is a small pool on the roof top to cool off after a busy day. This pool is not suitable for those looking for a resort style relax all day by the pool, but for us it was perfect. The breakfast is sufficient, nothing over the top but still a good selection. They offer coffee, juices and cookies throughout the day for free. They also offer free wifi. This was useful as we were able to organise our trip to Phi-Phi island through the internet without having to pay any commission to the stall holders on the street. The rooms are clean and neat with everything you need. The bathroom is compact and is painted white all over. I was happy with this as you could see everything was very clean. We found the pillows were quite hard which made them difficult for us to sleep on. So we made our own using the towels and pillow case. The person who serviced the room noticed this and proceeded to leave our room made up with two small pillows made out of towel - this was a nice touch!
The location of the Album is excellent. It is only a short stroll to the beach and to Bangla Road, but far enough away that you can get a decent night sleep.
We think Album is a good value for money hotel! Those looking for a resort style holiday should look elsewhere but if not this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

A great little place in the middle of crazy Patong. I find all the staff to be very kind and always time for a quick chat. I had the larger room with balcony which is very nicely designed. Bathroom is small but adequate and cleaned daily. Rooftop plunge pool and sun deck is a bonus for hotel this size.

Basic continental breakfast and all day tea, coffee and snacks are greatly appreciated. I have no problem with this hotel apart from the constant traffic noise. Room windows and sliding doors are not sound proof, so if you are a light sleeper this might not be good for you. Then again, this is Patong you can't avoid the craziness.

A very short walk to the beach and beach towel, bag etc were provided in the room. All in all a well run little place with friendly and helpful staff. No hesitation in recommending this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in early August 2010.

Location
The Album is located towards the northern end of Patong, about a 5 minute walk to the beach and a 10 minute walk to Bangla Road. It is essentially a corner building, flanked on one side by a school and the other by a number of shops and bars, including a convenience store. We originally stayed in Room #201 and were initially put off by the brass band playing throughout the day of our arrival and settling in. However, it was after awaking in the early hours of the morning by the sounds of Thai bar wenches and randy farangs, we sought a new room from management which was kindly granted.

Room
For the bulk of the time we stayed in room (#204) having paid an average of about 1,600 Baht (A$55) per night by booking last minute via a hyperlink to Asia Web Direct on The Album’s website. The hotel is well maintained but, if harsh, I would describe the styling as “chic prison”: to explain, the bathroom had no tiling but was completely whitewashed concrete (including the basin) with only the orange shower curtain breaking this endless “whiteness”. The bedroom was better and, as you can see from the photos, the fish-themed rear wall highlighted by fluorescent bottom-up lighting, enlivened the room along with quaint features like a faux antique telephone. It was very clean room, but felt rather cramped with two suitcases monopolising the limited floorspace. The bed was rock hard and, together with the fat pillows, rendered sleeping pretty uncomfortable. The wall mounted LCD TV presented a good range of channels and a DVD player was matched by a decent range of complimentary DVDs to borrow from the hotel’s library (although you could buy pirated copies from just about any street vendor). Air conditioning was a simple split system and worked well. Wifi was complimentary and available in the room.

Facilities
Included in the rate was a small continental buffet breakfast and unlimited bottled water, juice, coffee, etc at the hotel’s small foyer / entrance which is available all day. This is certainly a nice touch. It’s a VERY basic breakfast and I imagine some patrons venture outside the hotel to nearby restaurants offering American breakfasts to satisfy their larger appetites. The hotel has 6 levels: ground floor is reception, breakfast / eating area and staff quarters; floors 2 – 5 each have four rooms and the rooftop has a plunge pool, about 6 sunloungers and some decent views of the surrounding town.

Staff and service
I thought the staff were great, genuinely friendly and welcoming. There was no hesitation in upgrading our room after the first night.

In sum, I think this hotel is good value for those who are keen to stay in the heart of Patong – I imagine independent travelers – but I certainly would NOT recommend the hotel (or Patong town for that matter) for families, couples on a romantic getaway or anyone who prizes a comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sikmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
#135 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baipho Boutique Residence Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Patong Pearl Resortel
Patong Pearl Resortel
#241 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gallery Hotel
The Gallery Hotel
#17 of 400 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bird Cage
The Bird Cage
#111 of 400 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Album Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Album Hotel

Property: The Album Hotel
Address: 29 Sawatdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 400 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Album Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Album Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Album Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing