We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at superb prices”
Review of Grand Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Orchid Inn
Ranked #131 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2009

i spent 9 days here in early August. and as a seasoned veteran of Thai travel ,I can say that this is one excellent ,small hotel.Conveniently situated in Soi Wattana and run by 2 great Scandinavian guys , Bjorn and Bo ,this truly represents good value for money.It has the feel of a family run hotel and the rooms are very well appointed .An added bonus is that the guys run the 'Viva Mexico' , over the road ;.this is a superb and reasonably priced restaurant that offers an extensive menu. I had a great holiday staying there

Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
2  Thank abigtone1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 85 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2009

I recently booked two trips to the Grand Orchid Inn through their web-site as they are not listed under any major Thailand or Asian hotel booking sites. I looked at all the great Trip Advisor reviews and the hotel is located in a nice section of Patong Beach. So, I booked for next month Sept. 09, and then again for March, 2010.
I had to cancel the Sept. 09 trip. The Grand Orchid web-site booking page cancellation policy states that there is no penalty with the depsosit -if you canceled 21 days or more, and that you will get back 100% of the deposit-anybody can check it out!
When I emailed to cancel Just the Sept. 09 trip--more than 21 days before this trip------the manager Bjorn tells me that he doesn't have the deposits, and they go to the company who designed and runs their website as comission.
I was so upset that- I then canceled the other trip as well. I will NOT at a hotel that will misrepresent their policies on cancellation policy on their web-site. I call that getting ripped off and a Scam.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
4  Thank tigergumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandorchid, Manager at Grand Orchid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2009

In reply to this review I have to say that the customer has got the deposits back (- 5% bank fee). As I stated to the guest it's not us that handle the deposits, it's the company that manages the website and it's online booking system. I notified them when the customer canceled his booking and then it was some time before the cancellation was processed.
As many hotel/guesthouse owners know it's normally not the hotel/guesthouse that get the deposit that's paid by the customer, it's the online booking sites that take this as commission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

This Inn is very clean and has the best service around. They have the most friendly and helpful working staff. It was my first trip to Phuket and I really enjoyed my stay here. The best thing about this place is its location. The beach is just 5 minutes away. The moment you step out of the Inn, you'll see the gorgeous Patong Beach! Furthermore, there are a lot of eateries around the Inn that serves very delicious and cheap food. There is also a travel agency next to the Inn to help arrange for any trips around Phuket at very affordable prices. All in all, it's a great place to stay.. U won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimuJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Hi,

My wife and I just got in from PHUKET PATONG. and with no hotel to stay in. We bumped into a nice thai lady who greeted us with a big smile and a super nice hotel to stay in.
Location......well we were a skip away from the beach and all the resturants. so we gave it 10!
Rooms........well..we saw the room before signing the dotted line, and I MUST SAY we were really impressed!!!! SUPER CLEAN. AND MODERN.
Price..........Well it was the end of our 17 day Phuket trip . coming from Kata Beach and PHI PHI Island. But if we had to start this trip all over. we would stay here all 17 days. VERY VERY AFFORDABLE.

OVERALL.....WE FELL IN LOVE.
We highly recommend this little hotel. even if you have to stay in the 4th floor. its worth the climb.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fasted930s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

i have stayed in this hotel twice,2006 and 2008,and been very impressed on both occasions.
i had an 800 baht room that was clean and i was well looked after.
the staff are only to willing to help you and with their own travel agency next door,you can book onward travel or day trips very easily.
i would definatly stay again,and would highly recommend their restaurant just a few doors down as well.
darren london

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dal276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

My spouse and I stayed in the mini standard room during a visit to Patong Beach in July 2008. We found the hotel as we were walking around looking for a place to stay and we were very pleased with what we found. The rate for the room was 600 Bhat (low season) and the room was exceptionally clean with new and modern furnishings. The bathroom was also very clean and modern with plenty of hot water. Our room was cleaned every day by the friendly staff and our mini bar was replenished. The mini bar had all the items we would have liked such as beer, liquor, sodas and snacks. We had a satelight TV and a fridge in the room and you can rent a DVD player if needed. Also there was a safety deposit box for our use. The location was just off the main beach and close to all the nightlife, restaurants and shopping. We had only intended to stay for two nights but we ended up staying for 4. There is a travel agency located next door with internet service. Overall, this hotel was the best place we stayed during our month-long vacation for the high standard of service and cleaniness. I will be returning to Thailand on vacation again this summer and I will be making reservations here again when I'm in the Patong area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kelall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Александр В
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0 mi away
Priew Wan Guesthouse
Priew Wan Guesthouse
#122 of 331 in Patong
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Pearl
Black Pearl
#141 of 331 in Patong
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ocean Patong Hotel
The Ocean Patong Hotel
#285 of 331 in Patong
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Limburi Hometel
Limburi Hometel
#184 of 331 in Patong
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#239 of 331 in Patong
162 reviews
0 mi away
Patong Rose Guest House
Patong Rose Guest House
#164 of 331 in Patong
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Orchid Inn

Address: 78 / 17 - 18 Soi Dr Wattana | Thaweewong Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Patong
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $17 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Orchid Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION - The Grand Orchid Inn is located at Patong Beach, steps away from the great white sand and blue turquoise waters of the Andaman sea, we are so close that we provide complimentary use of beach towels and children under 12 receive a free beach bucket and spade set. We are only a few minutes walk away from the famous nightlife of Bangla Road so you get the best of both worlds - day and night. We have family suites, family deluxe rooms and budget rooms to suit all tastes and free Wifi Internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Orchid Hotel Patong
Grand Orchid Inn Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing