We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise in Patong”
Review of Arroi

Arroi
Ranked #466 of 553 Restaurants in Patong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in Patong”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stumbled upon this one on our walk around the Patong area and it was the 79 Baht offers that caught our attention. We enjoyed the food and the staff were pleasant. The bill came to 278 Baht for a Thai Curry in coconut milk and a Green curry, both served with rice and two cokes - that is really good value for money!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterSB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Tasty food at affordable prices”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a good little restaurant in the Soi just around the corner from Molly Malones.
It has an open front, and just fans (no aircon). Unfortunately someone was sitting smoking when we arrived but thankfully he had just the one fag & didn't light up again after he had eaten!

Most of our selection was very tasty, with the negative being the portions were somewhat small.
We were excited to see 'creme brule' on the sweet menu, but unfortunately not in stock during our visit. [We understand the owner is French, but the staff (and presumably the Chef) are mainly Thai].
My wife was still hungry after her small portion of yellow curry, small bowl of rice plus a plate of mixed vegetables, so she ordered mango and stick rice. This turned out to be a big disappointment as the rice was not 'sticky', and the mango was rather tart, unlike the sweet juicy mango for which Thailand is famous.
The deep fried spare rib pieces were also very tasty, but not enough!
My pad sieu was also very tasty and enough for me (mainly because I was not too hungry)!

All in all this little place offer good tasty food at reasonable prices in what has become quite an expensive destination.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fizzysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Honest, clean, reliable Thai”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

we've eaten at Arroi on both our stays in Phuket, and both times it was a pleasure

The staff are fantastic and the food is fresh & honest. We do find the curries are toned done, no doubt for the western palate - but no doubt authentic. We adore the pineapple fried rice :) We had Phad Thai, Prawn Phad Thai, 2 x spring rolls, chicken massaman, pineapple fried rice (and it was more than the 4 of us could eat), 3 soft drinks, a beer and 2 waters and the whole meal came to about 600bt or $19.50au

This latest time we were there I noticed "cleanliness & hygiene" sign stating they had been inspected and rated safe :) - look out for this, its a really handy guide - not all the resturants have them

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cntrybmpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always great food, safe reliable choice”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Been to Arroi Thai about 15 times over 2 years. Just returned from a quick trip 3 nights, and ate one dinner and two lunches here. Green curry, chicken fried rice, and satays all lovely. Beers cheap at 65THB each. Our lunch for 2 about AUST$5 and dinner AUST$10. Some curries toned down for westerners but tell them you like it spicy and they will spice it up.
Very clean restaurant. Sometimes you do get that smelly waft of air that is common in Thailand. I will be back in Nov and be going to Arroi again! Nothing flash, but good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A haven of decent Thai food in Patong”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Considering the enormous amount of expensive yet awful tourist restaurants flooding Patong, Arroi was a very happy discovery. The staff was friendly and the food was pretty good Thai fare. If for some reason I unfortunately end up in Patong again, I will definitely be dining here.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pari-no-batta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arroi also viewed

 

Been to Arroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing