We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thanthip Beach Resort
Ranked #119 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Just got back 16/03/2010 and just had to do my first ever review of a hotel.If you want the Bangla road every night this may be a bit far although the 15 minute walk was not a problem on the 3 occasions we went there.The hotel is well placed for lots of local bars and restaurants and just a couple of minutes walk from the great beach.The staff without exception were freindly ,welcoming and efficient and most could converse reasonably well in English.The swimming pool is outstanding as was our room which overlooked it and we got clean pool towels every day which you can take to the beach.The breakfast was varied and you had a choice of how your eggs were cooked.I have tried to think of any negatives and can not.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 153 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

Just came back from a stay in the thanthip villa. The hotel is very good clean and modern with a reasonably sized pool. The staff are all very friendly and helpful although their english is very limited this was not really a problem.

Had reviewed many hotels before travelling and used this site there were only about 5 reviews for this hotel but they were all good ones and hence it was a good choice id definately reccommend a stay.

We stayed in a deluxe room which was fine everything you`d need good aircon (a must in feb). mini bar reasonably priced and large tv with many western channels.

The breakfast is a buffet style which is fine it`s not restaurant quality but you wouldnt really expect it to be and the food tends to be luke warm (the only negative).

As for the restaurant itself during the day/evening its very good the food is all cooked fresh to order and is reasonably priced.

Location is good 3 mins to beach and about 10/15 to bangla rd which some people have said is a bit far although we really didnt find that at all.... a 10 min walk in the warmth isnt much.

Theres a small pharmacy and shop just across the road which are useful for cold drinks etc. Also there is an excursion place just across from the hotel (I think its actually part of the eden complex but it doesnt actually look like it) which is really good for phi phi etc. The guy who works there is friendly and instantly gave us a reduction on the quoted excursion price of about 1000 bhat making a speedboat excursion to phi phi very cheap by western standards.

We hence booked other trips with him and he arranged all transfers etc for no extra cost. I believe than thip do arrange excursions but we didnt find this majorly advertised and hence id reccommend the guy over the road.

Would definately stay in the thanthip again if staying at patong beach over other hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kemptownian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I did a lot of research on hotels in Phuket, and I finally found Thanthip Villa. It's at the very north end of Patong (3 minute walk to the beach, 15 minute walk to crazy Bangla St, pharmacy/mini-mart across the street, other bars/restaurants about 3 min walk). The rooms were clean and quiet at night (we stayed in a deluxe room -- definitely recommend b/c they've just been renovated, so everything is beautiful. The standard/superior rooms appeared to be a bit older). The hotel will also help with tour booking and give their opinions on which is the best tour (we went to Phi Phi). The north end of the beach is still a little crowded, but not as bad as the main part of Patong. Breakfast is great (buffet style). The only minor negative aspect about the hotel is the deposit, which requires a bank transfer (no online credit card payments available). Other than that, it's perfect. We really enjoyed ourselves in Phuket.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingirl031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 25, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 25, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 23, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 20, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss Palm Beach
Swiss Palm Beach
#71 of 329 in Patong
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austrian Garden Tai Pan Village
0.1 mi away
Aspery Hotel
Aspery Hotel
#96 of 329 in Patong
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Phuket Patong
ibis Phuket Patong
#47 of 329 in Patong
1,505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#58 of 329 in Patong
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
Red Planet Patong, Phuket
#39 of 329 in Patong
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanthip Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanthip Beach Resort

Address: 41/3 Chalermphrakiat Road (Soi Eden) | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Thanthip Villa Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Price Range: $20 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanthip Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thanthip Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanthip Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing