We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the money... Great Location”
Review of Amata Patong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amata Patong
Ranked #90 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Okinawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value for the money... Great Location”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

very great location, just a couple minutes from Jungceylon Shopping Center and Bangla Road (for the party goers) and about 5 minutes to Patong Beach. Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and so are the swimming pools (one located on the rooftop of the new building and the other is right on the front) and has free wi-fi. Free breakfast was a definite plus with a good selection of food and the coffee was great. We had a great time and would definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for a higher floors, much quieter and if possible ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaw0rldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    311
    171
    50
    64
See reviews for
109
237
111
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights and we thought it was great. 2 minute walk to jungceylon, 5 minute walk to patong beach. Great easy location. Rooms were clean. Staff friendly. Pools were clean. The shower over the bath, leaks over the floor but nothing a towel cannot fix.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcie_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here and it was everything we needed. We stayed in the new building. Room very big, Big bed and great aircon. Bathroom also good! The breakfast is good and caters for everyone. There are 2 pools and the one on the rooftop is not well known we had it to ourself alot. Great views from there. Location is good, right in the middle of everything but of a little lane so noise is not. Really a problem. The staff are lovely and very helpful. I would Recomend thisplace but not to people who expect the best of the best, I think it's great for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clp919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the worst excuse for a resort in Patong as you are going to get. I grant you that if you book a room in the newer main building then the rooms are lighter, nicer and overall a lot better and worth a stay...however, if you decide that you are going to book the cheap room from a travel website like Agoda or Booking.com then think 50 times more before you follow through. The corridors are dark, and dingy like a prison...touches of 21st century hotel-esque can be found along with COCKROACHES and BLOOD STAINS on the walls. For the price you are expected to pay it is a joke to be honest....and when you complain politely so if you have a problem I recommend people to be down right rude to hotel staff if you want things to be resolved smoothly as when we complained first time around we were greeted with "oh wells" and "sorry but you've paid to you'll have to put up with it" not the correct attitude in any part of the world. It got so bad that we checked out day 1 and checked into a half the price hotel with pool which has much nicer views, pool and staff. My biggest tip to people travelling to thailand is this: don't be fooled into thinking a bigger hotel will be better...we have found that the smaller ones are MUCH BETTER!

Room Tip: The most expensive pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Location was great. Less than 10 mins walk from Jungceylon Mall. Free wi-fi in rooms. There are two pools, the rooftop pool has a great view of the Patong area. Service was good. Rooms were large. It is located a short walk from the main road. However, there is a huge signboard located along the main road, so, it is easy to find.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GLLK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 13 nights. The location was excellent, being just down from Jungceylon Shopping Centre and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, with all the staff being helpful and speaking very good english. The Amata isn't a luxury resort but it is fantastic value for money. Clean rooms, comfortable king size beds, free wi fi and breakfast. While the buffet breakfast isn't huge it's adequate and well cooked. Choice of eggs to order, toast, cereal, baked beans, sausages, tomatoes, bacon, pineapple and watermelon. Some days there was also a noodle, rice or potato dish. Coffee, tea, juices and water were also available. With our doors closed we could hardly hear the hustle and bustle from the main road. We had a kettle in our room to make coffee and found it a bit strange that there were no cups or spoons but when we asked staff, they were more than happy for us to take cups up to our room so we could make coffee. I'd like to again mention the wonderful staff, especially Art who never failed to greet us each day with a smile and ask us about our day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Amata was a great stay for my partner and I. Superb facilities and such an amazing location. Only a 5-10 minute walk to famous Patong beach, a family mart convenience store just across the road and laundry service (50B/kg) at the front, it was a great stay.

I would definitely say that Amata has more of a city-hotel feel than it does a resort atmosphere. Our view was awful- just into the backyards and roofs of surrounding neighbourhood apartments.

There are pools, but they aren't great. One pool is located on the ground floor right by the entrance where people come and go.. The location of it is kind of awkward? And the second pool was on the rooftop of a completely separate building.

Their service really was amazing though.. Every time we needed something someone ran to our attention. No really, they RAN- we could hear the footsteps rushing up and down the hallway.

Great place that came with a great price

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT3N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#107 of 322 in Patong
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Sleep With Me Hotel
Sleep With Me Hotel
#38 of 322 in Patong
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#48 of 322 in Patong
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#36 of 322 in Patong
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#65 of 322 in Patong
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Patong

Property: Amata Patong
Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amata Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amata Patong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Amata Patong Resort Stay at Amata Patong to enjoy modern comforts and the convenience of being in the heart of Patong, just five minute's walk from the world-famous walking streets of Bangla and only a short walk from Patong Beach on the west coast of Phuket in Southern Thailand. Amata Patong is an affordable accommodation option offering full-board, half-board and self-catering options in the centre of Patong, all serviced with Amata Patong's homely hospitality. Whether you are holidaying alone or with friends and family, Amata Patong offers excellent value for money with a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Accommodation at Amata Patong offers options for single travelers with excellent facilities for traveling executives with city-view and pool-view rooms as well as partial sea views. We also have excellent options for honeymoon couples as well as a few complimentary romantic extras. You never have to go far to enjoy the excellent facilities in and around Amata Patong, including a large swimming pool and pool bar in the courtyard plus a rooftop pool and bar with a view across Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amata Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing