We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found hotel by walking around”
Review of Amata Patong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amata Patong
Ranked #89 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Found hotel by walking around”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hi all,
I stayed here last week for about a 5 nights, 1st time in Patong and went solo. I found hotel whilst walking around and liked location 2 minute walk to shopping center and 4 mins to bangla rd.
Amata was the last of 3 hotels that i had stayed in whilst in Patong and my favorite of the 3.
Room size was great, very big King bed and large clean bathroom. Lost of cupboard space and a safe in room. Had a connecting room where next door made a noise complant against me whilst listening to music on my phone, aviod these rooms if you can.
Staff here were GREAT, happy to help at anytime with anything at all. I was by the pool and needed to make a call, one for the staff offered his personal mobile to me so i didnt have to go all the way to my room. How nice!
Room service was nice, good sizes and not to spicy. I did not get a chance to use resturaunt or breakfast.
I had a room facing the pool and other building which proved interesting as people didnt like closing blinds, people laying naked, another shaving his "girlfriends" face hahaha. all amusing.
When i return to patong i will differently stay here again. 100%.
Specail thank you to Art khun and Jim always smiling and very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry1-4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    311
    171
    49
    63
See reviews for
108
236
111
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. The service was good and we were greeted by warm and friendly staff. Our rooms were clean and the facilities were good. The Front Desk staff took good care of us and even helped get us a tour guide for the Island trips. The food was reasonable and good. Its not the best but at least there was effort to make it good. The pool was clean. We will stay in this hotel when we return.

Room Tip: when you check in ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavePatto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived to the resort just off the main road and were pleased that there was a small grocery shop outside the hotel, a laundomat, travel tour place and a small shop! we had a superior room on the ground floor on the other side of the pool so we had privacy and easy access to the pool. The staff were very accommodating and were helpful. Our package did not include breakfast but we did have it one day and for THB 280 pp it was ok, eggs done your way, bacon, baked beans, toast, cereals, tea and coffee.
The room was a good size, clean and the only problem we had was the drain which was clogged. We spoke to the front desk and they sent in a plumber to sort it out immeidately. The size was good for a couple and the desk and mini fridge was perfect for us to buy food for supper, beers and store some snacks. The location of the hotel is ideal as it is close to bangla road, and junceylon mall. The walk to patong beach road was about 10 minutes but so many things to see on the way ,it was always fun. The security at the resort was good and there was always someone at the front desk to welcome us in at any hour. The aircon worked so well.
loved the experience and are eager to return!

Room Tip: ground floor on the opposite side to the pool if you want more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Varsha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at another hotel down the road our first night, then booked into the Amata for three nights. Will probably book the remainder three of our trip in here too. The price of Amata was the same as the first, but we got free breakfast here. Not super flash, but it was clean and although a bit dated we thougt it was good. Rooms had enough space for us, a small balcony, two pools (one at each building), big bed. We don't spend a lot of times in our rooms, but picked this as it was close to the denist we had appointments at. Breakfast was fine, I've seen better but we enjoyed it each morning. Staff were very good! I slept very well, my partner woke up to someone coming into there next door room loudly, but didn't here any street noise and we were on the street side. Is up a little alley so I think that helps. Didn't hear the other rooms apart from people in the corridors occasionally. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellybeanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staff was pleasant, location was good (bring ear plugs), room was big and clean. Bathroom was a bit dull but nothing to complain about. We were only there for one night, would stay again. Very central and the best Indian restaurant is a two minute walk and open into the late hours of the morning (4-5am). Good value for money in a dumpy place like Patong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrypd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Thought I'd stay in Patong for a few days and I hate it. This place is tucked away from all the hustle and bustle. Staff is helpful and attentive. Good value for money. Nice pool but wished there were more privacy as it is facing the hotel lobby. The room we were in was the older part of the building. Hate how the shower had poor draining so you had a pool at your feet. Room is showing age mostly in the bathroom. We were upgraded to pool view which I was pleased about.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaylex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked 4 nights on Agoda at a special discounted rate . The property is in a good location if you want to be in the centre of Patong and close to Jungceylon shopping and Bangla road .

We were upgraded for our 4 nights from a standardroom booking to a deluxe room which was very nice of the hotel . The rooms have everything you need and were quite modern. There is not a lot of privacy as the property is in designed in a U shape and all rooms look across at each other or as we found when we tried to extend our stay , some look on to a concrete wall .

The breakfast was a buffet style and whilst not the big 4 or 5 star spread ,had everything you needed and we enjoyed the food . The pool looked good but we did not use it .

We decided to extend our stay and book another couple of nights . We were not allowed to stay in our upgraded room , which was fair enough but when we saw the standard hotel rooms , we decided to check out . The "tired" room looked onto a concrete wall and would have been depressing to stay in . We are so glad the hotel had upgraded us for our first 4 nights or we would have been disappointed with our stay based on what we had paid for our original booking .

The upgraded level of accommodation was quite a bit more expensive so we decided to check out and move into a property across the road , where we had stayed before , which was also on special on Agoda and when comparing the two properties at the time was better value .

The Amata would suit people wanting to shop or party and just come home to sleep .
The one major downside we found to staying in our upgraded room was the noise from the hallway . It is all tiled and you can hear people coming in and out of their rooms at all times of the night and day . Doors closing , high heels on tiles and talking . It echoed along the corridor .

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pool and not onto a concrete wall . Upgrade to the 2nd level of ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorhiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#104 of 322 in Patong
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep With Me Hotel
Sleep With Me Hotel
#41 of 322 in Patong
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#37 of 322 in Patong
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#48 of 322 in Patong
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baipho Boutique Residence Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Patong

Property: Amata Patong
Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amata Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amata Patong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Amata Patong Resort Stay at Amata Patong to enjoy modern comforts and the convenience of being in the heart of Patong, just five minute's walk from the world-famous walking streets of Bangla and only a short walk from Patong Beach on the west coast of Phuket in Southern Thailand. Amata Patong is an affordable accommodation option offering full-board, half-board and self-catering options in the centre of Patong, all serviced with Amata Patong's homely hospitality. Whether you are holidaying alone or with friends and family, Amata Patong offers excellent value for money with a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Accommodation at Amata Patong offers options for single travelers with excellent facilities for traveling executives with city-view and pool-view rooms as well as partial sea views. We also have excellent options for honeymoon couples as well as a few complimentary romantic extras. You never have to go far to enjoy the excellent facilities in and around Amata Patong, including a large swimming pool and pool bar in the courtyard plus a rooftop pool and bar with a view across Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amata Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing