We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort within budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amata Patong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amata Patong
Ranked #85 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice resort within budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Amata for 6 nights with some friends, and the hotel was the right fit for us. We had a suite with 2bedrooms, 1.5bathrooms and a kitchenette, so there was plenty of room. Location was great, it was fairly quiet, and beds were comfortable. We really only had one issue during our stay and that was that the shower wouldn't drain properly. However, we had no phone and never remembered to let staff know before we went out so I'm sure it could have been fixed if we had asked. Staff were friendly and the rooftop pool was fantastic, with a view of both the sea and the hills.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    308
    170
    48
    62
See reviews for
107
233
109
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

if you want a hotel close to all the night life and shops ,and just a little walk from the sea ,well this is it,the hotel is up a little quiet road that keeps the noise down ,the hotel has 2 pools ,the one i like is on the 8th floor,and the view ,well you can see the whole town and the sea ,with the ships that call in from time to time. the staff are so good at attending to your needs you dont mind giving them a tip.the hotel itself is clean ,i stayed in a superior room for 2weeks and this was in december in high season ,but the price was very good as i had checked out other hotels in the same area .i intend to stay there again soon.i am a 64 year old kiwi who loves life on the edge

Room Tip: higher rooms over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashik, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at Hotel from 07 Jan'13 to 09 Jan'13 and after returning on the 08th Jan'13 from James Bond Island, I was shocked to see that from my room USD 1000 was missing from my bag along with important Documents. I lodged a Police complaint also, but no response from Hotel Management. Not a good property to stay

Room Tip: Avoid staying
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank amitpawar696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmataResort, General Manager at Amata Patong, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guests,

Your review is missing some important information, offensive and unfair to hotel's staff.

Let me tell other people out here about the fact that happened,

The guest and friends stayed in our hotel. They went to the trip the whole day yes, but there was NO report about the property was stolen around 6 O'clock and the most important thing that DID NOT MENTION on this review is

Our hotel police is if you stay more than one person in a room, any extra person will be charged.

They bought 2 extra guests in different time and they did pay for the fees that hotel charge without mentioning anything about money.

(Surprisingly, 3 people who their money was stolen $1000 stil going out at night and having some guests and paying the hotel for 2 extra people)

at 01:55 AM, first extra person went to their room to the room and at 2:20 AM , another extra person was allowed to their room.

Those two extra people had left the hotel at 3 AM and then 3 :30 AM the guests came to the lobby and claimed that their money was stolen.

All above is true.

May I ask the guests?
Why did not you tell us about the money was stolen at 6 pm right after you came back from the trip so we could have just asked or suspected our service boys to see what was going on?

All the hotel rooms have safe so you should be able to put all your value stuff in the safe or even you do not know how to use the safe, we also have the safe at the lobby which is very easy to use and 24 hours CCTV.

About your comment that the hotel did not do anything

You, your friends and my staff went to CCTV together and spending 1 hour and see nothing suspicious. When the police asked for 2 extra people information, we gave all we had right away and the police asked us to open CCTV again, we did it for them in order to help you.

When your agency asked us about what was happening, I as a manager did inform them every single things.


Please do not do this to other hotels because it's so unfair. Everything that was written above was the fact and the hotel had everything to prove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I was here with my wife and son who was nearly 2 at the time, we were given a room on the 4th floor, the balcony was dangerous, there was a gap which my son could have easily climbed through and fell, also the rest of the balcony is like a ladder and too low. I raised this concern with the staff which just landed on deaf ears, after that the staff were not friendly or helpful. With these balconies there is just an accident waiting to happen
.
Location wasn't great 2 streets back from the beach and the new building across blocks out the sun most of the day if you go round the pool. I would say this hotel is ok if you haven't got children but I booked through agoda and its classed as a family friendly hotel.

Overall very disappointed, I have been to patong at least 10 times and this was my most disappointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thanitripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is terrible, save yourself the trouble and don't stay here. The bathrooms were disgusting and dirty. the cleaners cleaned them once in the 4 days that we were there. the towels were dirty and the bedsheets were not changed once. location wise, there are many other places in patong that you can find that are more centrally located for the same price or better. and finally to the last problem and the worst thing about this place. Prior to staying here, i had read reviews and some mentioned a scam involving checking out, whereby the hotel staff would suddenly alert you to the fact that you had 'broken a glass' during your stay, subsequently demanding you pay for the damage. this is the exact scam that happened to my friends and I. I'm not going to go into the details of it, but basically they claimed we had broken a glass, which we definitely did not, as not once did we even take the glasses in the rooms out of their sealed bags. Despite our vehement protests, and despite the fact that the ben zona manager kept changing his story, it was our word against theirs, and in the end we had no choice but to pay. this was a matter of principle, and its fair to say that it literally ruined our trip, leaving a sour taste in our mouths whenever phuket was brought up in conversation. do yourself a favour and please dont stay here - they dont deserve it! You may think like i did, and say that it wont happen to you, but it can and if it does it will ruin your trip too. Dont make the same mistake as i did; if i could change where i stayed in phuket i wouldnt hesitate for a second to reject amata just like so many others had suggested. Be smart

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jake114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is located strategically, however, the quality of service, standard of the hotel and its rooms are not up to the mark. there are many better hotels in Phuket and Thailand on the whole charging similar tariffs. We had to book last minute for just a night's stop on an urgent basis. I would not stay there for any longer than that.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoul136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Whilst you are not on the beach it's so close to walk to all the action.
Hotel staff were lovely.
Breakfast was good (we define good breakfast in Asia as anywhere with a fresh egg station! haha!)
Roof top pool overlooking Patong was a nice treat.

Room Tip: Recommend getting a ground floor swimming pool access room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas and Chris... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#96 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Sleep With Me Hotel
Sleep With Me Hotel
#40 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#42 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baipho Boutique Residence Phuket
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#36 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Patong

Property: Amata Patong
Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amata Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amata Patong 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Amata Patong Resort Stay at Amata Patong to enjoy modern comforts and the convenience of being in the heart of Patong, just five minute's walk from the world-famous walking streets of Bangla and only a short walk from Patong Beach on the west coast of Phuket in Southern Thailand. Amata Patong is an affordable accommodation option offering full-board, half-board and self-catering options in the centre of Patong, all serviced with Amata Patong's homely hospitality. Whether you are holidaying alone or with friends and family, Amata Patong offers excellent value for money with a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Accommodation at Amata Patong offers options for single travelers with excellent facilities for traveling executives with city-view and pool-view rooms as well as partial sea views. We also have excellent options for honeymoon couples as well as a few complimentary romantic extras. You never have to go far to enjoy the excellent facilities in and around Amata Patong, including a large swimming pool and pool bar in the courtyard plus a rooftop pool and bar with a view across Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amata Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing