We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location unreal rooftop pool”
Review of Amata Patong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amata Patong
Ranked #86 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I purchased a voucher that was for a different hotel, but surprise surprise they couldn't fit us in over a 12 month period so we were placed here, apart from a mix up with the room (not the hotels fault) it was great. Handy location and clean, I found the ground staff way more friendlier than the admin staff. To book a day tour I would not recommend the hotel staff, try T & Y Travel service located right next to the Amata Resort, she was fab, great deals, great service and full of info. Roof top pool was also great. We met some lovely people from WA and NSW (hi), I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a family and purchased a voucher you will be put in a twin room, ask if you can move or e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docko D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 758 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here 1 week ago and the staff could not have been more helpful whilst getting their tips (which they made a point of coming to your room to get) however on checking out we had a very rude receptionist chase our cab over a broken bottle of water which incidently was free each day and grab 50thb out of my husband's hand. Up until this point we would definitely have returned to this hotel, however after such a rude treatment this will now not be the case. Also no hairdryer or kettle in rooms - very basic.

Room Tip: Pick the new side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthsnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having not been to Patong before, we soon realised we did not get the $1500 worth from Ezystays. This hotel can be booked for a fraction over $300AUD for 1 week. With a free massage and show and breakfast included, we barely got what we paid for, ie $398. The very good features are the location, the 2 swimming pools (ground and roof top) and the friendly and good service. Not so good, was the poor communication with the hotel staff (their English is lacking), no tea/coffee facilities in the room, the hard bed and the breakfast was average. They could have had more variety of fruits available at Breakfast. Overall, we were satisfied but mainly thanks to the location and the nice pools (both on ground and on roof top).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We also bought the deal thru Spreets and after reading reviews on trip advisor I was concerned that we had made a mistake. But we were pleasantly surprised! We are a couple traveling with 2 kids 9 and 10. We have a room overlooking the pool and the rooms are basic but we have been comfortable. We are in a king bed and the kids are on 2 single beds. The room has been cleaned daily. We have not had the bathroom flooding and no blocked toilet. Great air conditioning system.
Location is brilliant as we can walk everywhere, close to Bangla Rd and the Jungceylon shopping centre so we bought our own beer and water and drinks for the kids.
The roof top pool is excellent, 360 degree veiws of Patong and you can order food and drinks if you want to.
Breakfast has been fine. We've had freshly made omellettes each day and beautiful fruit. We brought wheat bix just in case. We have eaten so much great food a light breakfast is all we have wanted.
We have found the staff to be friendly and helpful and enough English to get by.
I think if you come here with the right expectations you will be happy. I'd rate it as a 3 star based on my experience, value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vbila1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

After staying the previous night in a noisy 'guesthouse' on a main road I decided that a better hotel was required immediately. The price was spot on and the room clean and spacious. The staff were always helpful and on hand. The hotel is located within a few minutes walk of Bangla Road for the bars etc and the beach but far enough off the main road to be quiet. I will definitely be staying here again on my next visit to Patong and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul_Bolton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good pricing "out of season", and very clean room with very friendly and helpful staff. Bathroom clean with good water pressure and deep bath. Excellent range of good quality food at breakfast. Small but good range of exchange books. Free wifi with relatively fast speed.

Room Tip: If choosing a ground floor room (with garden) ensure it isn't 109 which looks into staff facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyretalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My cousin had originally purchased a spreets voucher to Baan Yuree with her friend who backed out just as the voucher was due to expire. I was lucky enough to manage time off work, so we booked this trip in literally 24hrs. Unlike her, I did a bit of research and was horrified by the reviews posted here and decided the voucher thing was a bit of a scam.
I have traveled extensively, she hasn't and I normally wouldn't book a voucher holiday. Because of all the negative reviews here I wasn't expecting much when we arrived and thank goodness I was pleasantly surprised. It was nothing like I was expecting.
The staff were very friendly, always available and spoke enough English to enable communication. We wanted to verify our checkout date about half way through our stay and they didn't need to ask our room number, or name - pretty good service one would think.
We ordered snacks by the pool on more than one occasion, and had no issue with taste or presentation and certainly didn't get sick as others had posted.
Yes, the shower flooded the bathroom, but then I'd stayed at the Sheraton in Sydney in April and so did theirs! I'd read a tip to remove the top off the drain in the shower, we did this and it helped. We also turned off the water when applying shampoo, soap etc and only turned in on when rinsing. When not washing our hair, we removed the shower head and used it as a hand held, again, this helped to minimize the flooding.
Breakfast was basic, but we always managed to find something. I'm happy with fried eggs on toast and was able to get that freshly made each day.
Both pools were clean - we spent most of our time on the roof top pool - the views are amazing. You could get drinks and food brought to you.
The beds were excruciatingly hard. We put up with them for two nights before heading to reception to see what they could do. All we did was inform reception that beds were too hard and hurting our backs. Reception were great and asked us of we needed soft beds. Housekeeping arrived with mattress toppers, re-made our beds and we were happy. I've traveled through Asia before, so again was prepared for the beds to be hard.
The location was amazing. You are right in the middle of everything, so no need for a taxi. Noise was not a problem, but we were there in the low season.
Mark at the tour desk couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating.
We did go to the Baan Yuree to collect our free massage and were glad we had been moved. I don't think I could have walked up it's hill each day. Yes it had a swim up bar, but Amata had what i like to call soul..
I'm a believer that you get what you pay for. These voucher holidays are cheap, so the skeptic in me says there has to be a catch. The Amata is a 2 star hotel and Baan Yuree is a 3 star. In saying that I did prefer the Amata. I have stayed in worse for much more dollar value.
My only gripe was that we were promised a pool view room with a balcony and we ended up with a view of a building and no balcony. When I asked to move rooms, I was told that all pool view rooms, with the balcony are double/king not twin - slightly discriminating!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveledsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Aspery Hotel
Aspery Hotel
#97 of 329 in Patong
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crib Patong
The Crib Patong
#73 of 329 in Patong
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#40 of 329 in Patong
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 329 in Patong
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#121 of 329 in Patong
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Patong

Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amata Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $23 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amata Patong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Amata Patong Resort Stay at Amata Patong to enjoy modern comforts and the convenience of being in the heart of Patong, just five minute's walk from the world-famous walking streets of Bangla and only a short walk from Patong Beach on the west coast of Phuket in Southern Thailand. Amata Patong is an affordable accommodation option offering full-board, half-board and self-catering options in the centre of Patong, all serviced with Amata Patong's homely hospitality. Whether you are holidaying alone or with friends and family, Amata Patong offers excellent value for money with a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Accommodation at Amata Patong offers options for single travelers with excellent facilities for traveling executives with city-view and pool-view rooms as well as partial sea views. We also have excellent options for honeymoon couples as well as a few complimentary romantic extras. You never have to go far to enjoy the excellent facilities in and around Amata Patong, including a large swimming pool and pool bar in the courtyard plus a rooftop pool and bar with a view across Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amata Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing