We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in the right location”
Review of Amata Patong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amata Patong
Ranked #90 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Bolton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in the right location”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

After staying the previous night in a noisy 'guesthouse' on a main road I decided that a better hotel was required immediately. The price was spot on and the room clean and spacious. The staff were always helpful and on hand. The hotel is located within a few minutes walk of Bangla Road for the bars etc and the beach but far enough off the main road to be quiet. I will definitely be staying here again on my next visit to Patong and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul_Bolton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    311
    171
    50
    64
See reviews for
109
237
111
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good pricing "out of season", and very clean room with very friendly and helpful staff. Bathroom clean with good water pressure and deep bath. Excellent range of good quality food at breakfast. Small but good range of exchange books. Free wifi with relatively fast speed.

Room Tip: If choosing a ground floor room (with garden) ensure it isn't 109 which looks into staff facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyretalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My cousin had originally purchased a spreets voucher to Baan Yuree with her friend who backed out just as the voucher was due to expire. I was lucky enough to manage time off work, so we booked this trip in literally 24hrs. Unlike her, I did a bit of research and was horrified by the reviews posted here and decided the voucher thing was a bit of a scam.
I have traveled extensively, she hasn't and I normally wouldn't book a voucher holiday. Because of all the negative reviews here I wasn't expecting much when we arrived and thank goodness I was pleasantly surprised. It was nothing like I was expecting.
The staff were very friendly, always available and spoke enough English to enable communication. We wanted to verify our checkout date about half way through our stay and they didn't need to ask our room number, or name - pretty good service one would think.
We ordered snacks by the pool on more than one occasion, and had no issue with taste or presentation and certainly didn't get sick as others had posted.
Yes, the shower flooded the bathroom, but then I'd stayed at the Sheraton in Sydney in April and so did theirs! I'd read a tip to remove the top off the drain in the shower, we did this and it helped. We also turned off the water when applying shampoo, soap etc and only turned in on when rinsing. When not washing our hair, we removed the shower head and used it as a hand held, again, this helped to minimize the flooding.
Breakfast was basic, but we always managed to find something. I'm happy with fried eggs on toast and was able to get that freshly made each day.
Both pools were clean - we spent most of our time on the roof top pool - the views are amazing. You could get drinks and food brought to you.
The beds were excruciatingly hard. We put up with them for two nights before heading to reception to see what they could do. All we did was inform reception that beds were too hard and hurting our backs. Reception were great and asked us of we needed soft beds. Housekeeping arrived with mattress toppers, re-made our beds and we were happy. I've traveled through Asia before, so again was prepared for the beds to be hard.
The location was amazing. You are right in the middle of everything, so no need for a taxi. Noise was not a problem, but we were there in the low season.
Mark at the tour desk couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating.
We did go to the Baan Yuree to collect our free massage and were glad we had been moved. I don't think I could have walked up it's hill each day. Yes it had a swim up bar, but Amata had what i like to call soul..
I'm a believer that you get what you pay for. These voucher holidays are cheap, so the skeptic in me says there has to be a catch. The Amata is a 2 star hotel and Baan Yuree is a 3 star. In saying that I did prefer the Amata. I have stayed in worse for much more dollar value.
My only gripe was that we were promised a pool view room with a balcony and we ended up with a view of a building and no balcony. When I asked to move rooms, I was told that all pool view rooms, with the balcony are double/king not twin - slightly discriminating!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveledsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is not exactly what I would call a resort as there are limited grounds. There's a nice pool, but that's about it.

We got a cheap room which had a nice outlook onto potted plants - but once we settled in we realised it was also right by the staff toilets and they would sit outside our room smoking. So I would suggest not getting a room on the ground floor - it could also get a bit noisy at times

The staff were always very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect as we were there for some dental work just around the corner

The common areas of the hotel were very nice with carved wooden panels and ornaments

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiKate55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Ended up here through a groupon nz voucher. Was in new building and the room was large clean and comfortable. Missing some basic things like coffee making but was fine. Breakfast was fine too and the new building has a great pool on top with awesome views. Staff very friendly and helpful

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Si E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel provides great value for money, very affordable and offers the basic necessities. The new building is very clean compared to the other building. Main con was that the shower had no barrier which blocked the water from going everywhere and our balcony had a useful view. However the location is great as a walk out and you're on the main road so it offers access to everything quite easily. Some rooms we're larger than others with a better view even though we paid the same prices.

Room Tip: Stay on the 'new' building and request for a 'larger room' with balcony view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

The worst hotel that i ever met.the price is not suit with their services and facilities.u can find other hotel which more better with the same prices.once i had took out the mineral water that they claim as free,but i've been embrassing by their bell boy because they treat me like a thieft when roughly took out the mineral water from my backpack at the lobby...worstttttt!!!!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Fazilah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#107 of 322 in Patong
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Sleep With Me Hotel
Sleep With Me Hotel
#38 of 322 in Patong
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#48 of 322 in Patong
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#36 of 322 in Patong
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#65 of 322 in Patong
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Patong

Property: Amata Patong
Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amata Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amata Patong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Amata Patong Resort Stay at Amata Patong to enjoy modern comforts and the convenience of being in the heart of Patong, just five minute's walk from the world-famous walking streets of Bangla and only a short walk from Patong Beach on the west coast of Phuket in Southern Thailand. Amata Patong is an affordable accommodation option offering full-board, half-board and self-catering options in the centre of Patong, all serviced with Amata Patong's homely hospitality. Whether you are holidaying alone or with friends and family, Amata Patong offers excellent value for money with a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Accommodation at Amata Patong offers options for single travelers with excellent facilities for traveling executives with city-view and pool-view rooms as well as partial sea views. We also have excellent options for honeymoon couples as well as a few complimentary romantic extras. You never have to go far to enjoy the excellent facilities in and around Amata Patong, including a large swimming pool and pool bar in the courtyard plus a rooftop pool and bar with a view across Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amata Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing