We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but overpriced...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Flora Resort Patong
Ranked #39 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice but overpriced...”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

If you are looking for a classy hotel in Patong, then this is your destination. I booked a private villa (with swimming pool) and found the entire experience to be very pleasant, even though the private pool is in the shade all day long.

Rooms are a little small, but very clean, and the staff if very friendly.

A disappointing factor was the hassle that reception gave me for using the laundry bag... After falking out $2,500 for four nights, I was amazed that they would ask me for their laundry bag back in the same conversation. Having packed, I decided to give them the $3 for it (price of the bag)... Not very customer-oriented...

Please note that this hotel will charge you an additional 2,000 baht per night for an extra guest...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EazyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    168
    74
    28
    20
See reviews for
93
395
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This is our second stay at La Flora in the last six months & we were not disappointed. The staff at the Resort are so fussy that all your needs are looked after, especially Noree, the food supervisor, she is very profesional & most helpfull person we have dealt & we have travelled to most parts off the world.

The Resort was about 80% full at the time off our stay but the staff made you fell like you were the only person there.

The Chef, Gerard, was always happy to make something off the menu, he wanted to display his expertise in Thai cousine & the food was brilliant, we both loved it.

The only negative comment I can make about this wonderfull Resort is that at times people would just walk in from the beach & use the Resorts facilities eg shower & swimming pool & some people would take photos whilst you are in the pool & no one would question them. You feel that your privacy was being invaded by these inconsiderant people using facilities that they have not paid for whilst you pay a lot to stay here.

We will be back in August to this wonderfull Resort & we will always recommend La Flora to anyone who is going to Phuket.

Thank you once again to all the great staff at La Flora & a very special mention about the General Manager at La Flora who was always aroundand made you feel part of the family.

See you all very soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suekunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Been staying here since it first opened a few years ago and it still is my favorite place to stay in Patong. Have stayed in other places in Phuket (Kata, Karon, Panwa etc) but in Patong this hotel can't be beat. The breakfast is quite good. Juice freshly squeezed in the juice bar and your choice of coffee; not just the regular instant. Courteous & attentive staff with the hotel GM always available around the breakfast buffet. More privacy in your villa rooms, but deluxe rooms are just as good. 2nd floor have views of ocean, 1st flr have pool access. If you prefer 1st floor pool access grab the rooms nearest the restaurant since only 1 side of the pool has access rooms for better privacy. Free mini-bar, wi-fi, scented room oils etc. The only thing missing is an I-pod speaker dock. Beach is a few steps aways and the rooftop bar has great views of Patong.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TroyAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My husband & I just spent 14 days at La Flora Patong (originally booked on 7 days but didn't want to leave so we extended for another week) it was so relaxing the accomodation was perfect we upgraded on the second week to a Pool Access room. The staff are the best I have come across they treat you like royalty and will go to any extreme to make sure your stay is the best it can possibly be. I'd like to thanks all the staff , Wutty you are to be commended for the staff you have. Our concierges helped with every little detail from day trips to transportation & transfers. We will return later in the year sooner if you want to hire us :-) .

Debbie & Bernie Burke Room 208
Sydney Australia
4th feb-18th Feb 2011

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BurkesfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We were lucky to stay at La Flora through a web deal so it was very affordable compared to their usual prices.

However, this has to be one of the BEST hotels we have stayed at - location, service, amenities, comfort, etc, etc!!

The minibar is complimentary, the internet is complimentary, the pillows are brilliant, the location is right on the beach in Patong - but this hotel is a little oasis away from the "energy" of Patong. Everything is in walking distance and it is near some very good restaurants.

Across the road is a laundry service for the equivalent of A$5 per kg; we had two of the greatest meals in Patong - Saveoy - fresh and beautifully prepared seafood; and a little place just further down the street from the Sea Hag (and I think it is better than the Sea Hag).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chook57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brit in korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in late Jan. I wouldn't have stayed here if I hadn't got a very big discount on the published rates. I stayed in a pool access room because my wife was pregnant so I thought it would be nice for her to be able to slip in and out of the pool with ease. This turned out to be a bit of a waste (more on that below). I then moved on to the Ramada in Khao Lak so I thought i'd put some comparisons in there as well at the bottom.

Positives
- Nice quiet resort, definitely with an exclusive feel.
- Rooms are decent, but showing their age, don't know if it was just my room but the floors were dirty though.
- Free mini bar is a great touch
- Free WiFi didn't work very well but also nice to have
- Staff were excellent, very attentive. At breakfast you only had to think you needed something and they were there with a big smile on their faces asking how they could help. The buffet was quiet, never crowded with a good selection of food, juices and coffee. This was one of the best things about this resort.
- Food prices in the restaurant were not unreasonable, i was expecting them to be a lot higher than they were. Food was excellent.
- Direct beach access from the resort which is not easy to find in Patong. Not the best beach in the world though.

LET DOWNS:
- The pool access rooms unlike in other resorts where you have steps into the pool require you to climb over a ledge and into the pool. Which then comes up to your chest, so to get out you have to jump up and out. So as you can imagine older people or the less mobile (like my pregnant wife) have a hard time getting in and out. The other option is to walk along the ledge to the end of the pool and use the steps there. This takes you within about 50cm from everyone else who has a pool access room. Then of course on the opposite side of the pool which must only be 5 metres wide there are the other pool access rooms, looking directly at you. Poorly thought out layout in my view.

- Concierge proved to be pretty useless in helping me get a scooter. Increasingly the thai rental places want to take your passport if you rent a scooter. No way i'm handing that over. I tried to ask if the hotel would vouch for me (given I have clear check in and check out dates and they have all my credit card and passport details) and basically got told to walk down the road and negotiate myself.

OVERALL: probably would not stay here again because of the poor layout of the pool access rooms and lack of privacy. If you don't want a pool access room and don't think you'll use the pool much then everything else is pretty good and service some of the best I've experienced.

Versus Ramada :
==============

This was more a family resort, with the stereotypical Germans reserving sun loungers, honestly if felt like it was 90% German (NOT that this is a bad thing, just clearly very popular with the German tour agencies). The breakfast was crowded, often hard to get a seat, the staff over stretched and at times a little rude as a result. As for a latte? What's that? Cappuccino? No? Just horrible tasting filter stuff. Food was decent, although a little repetitive. Average marks for the food, below average for service.

The pool here was pretty good, catch it in the morning when empty and you can swim lengths (probably a touch over 25m). water fountains, a small jacuzzi area, very nice really and great for kids. Lots of room around the pool never really had trouble getting a spot. Nice in-pool bar. Beach very close by and much more relaxed than in Patong of course. Pool staff were good and eager to help out.

Oddly, the restaurant cost was more expensive than in Patong (probably due to lack of competition) but it wasn't much of a walk to restaurants nearby where prices were 1/3 the price.

Next time I'll skip Patong altogether and come straight back here.

La Flora Khao Lak:
===============

As coincidence has it, La Flora Khao Lak is right next door. I had a look around and to be honest would probably have gone with the Ramada over this. The pool at La Flora was crowded and small and looked dirty. There was a large pool a good walk from the beach for the pool access rooms though but unless you were in one of these rooms you'd probably feel a little odd using it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seoultrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This resort is first class. I have been in many top and low quality joints all over the world.
Everything they provide here is of a top quality and professional manner.
The restaurant and facilities are first rate. The breakfast is incredible. The rooms were immaculate and clean. There was absolutely no fault.
You pay quite alot for the accommodation but you get absolutely what you pay for here.
honestly i could chat for a while about these people. The loud and busy patong street cannot be heard from within the establishment. We sayed 3 nights longer than we thought, and all other patrons were obviously well looked after and very relaxed. All the staff were very pleased to assist with any requests and local information. There are many chioces in Thailand, but quality really differs, heres the best.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p4pablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#28 of 322 in Patong
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 322 in Patong
1,638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#10 of 322 in Patong
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Flora Resort Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort Patong

Property: La Flora Resort Patong
Address: 39 Thaweewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Patong
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#24 Spa Hotel in Patong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Flora Resort Patong 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Flora Resort Patong…Beachfront bliss embraces at your stay…Discover contemporary design, only a step to the beach, features truly relaxing Pool Villa, Pool Access, Surface Bar with panoramic views and indulge yourself throughout lifestyle entertainment in tropical paradise on Patong Beach. Just steps away from the pristine white sands of Phuket’s finest beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Flora Resort Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Resort Patong Hotel Patong
La Flora Hotel
La Flora Patong
La Flora Resort Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing