We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Food Sucks!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Rim Pa Patong

Baan Rim Pa Patong
Ranked #45 of 548 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $87
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Baan Rim Pa has celebrated 25 years in business. Not many restaurants can continue to win awards year after year. It is one of Phuket's most famous restaurants. The location is spectacular with panoramic sea views. Open from midday right through until late evening 7 days per week. Offering exceptional Thai cuisine, piano bar with romantic atmosphere. Special for all occasions.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Food Sucks!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went there for dinner and food was really horrible! Satays were chewier than dog's rawhide. Dong yum gong is just red chilly water, red curry duck is rubber cooked in sugar syrup. As returning customers we are very disappointed!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermanababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    430
    216
    112
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic venue for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently held our destination wedding at the Baan Rim Pa and our expectations were totally exceeded. Everything was absolutely perfect and we can not thank all the staff at Baan Rim Pa enough for making our special day such a memorable one!
Sue and Micky made organising a wedding over the internet so easy (we live in Australia). Our emails were responded to without delay, special requests met, and nothing was ever too difficult to arrange. Sue and Micky were outstanding in their organisation, and went out of their way to make sure our day ran smoothly (including a pre-wedding meeting with the celebrant).
The food was amazing, the service was infallible, and the views were breathtaking. Our guests still comment to us about how amazing the whole day was. If you are considering a destination wedding in Phuket, make sure the Baan Rim Pa is shortlist of venues.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Somosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuePhuket, Manager at Baan Rim Pa Patong, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We loved having your wedding at our restaurant. It is always great to work with lovely people and to make their special as perfect as possible. Hope to see you again in Phuket. Warm regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
178 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Food and view are excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Baan Rim Pa is one of about 5 restaurants in the Patong region worthy of making a special trip to. The food is great if you keep to the specials and the seafood. We have been over a dozen times and the only complaints we've heard are from those that don't like spices or want a Big Mac, otherwise you will be in for a treat. I recommend the lobster, any of the prawn dishes and definitely any of the traditional Thai dishes such as Pad Thai, Green Curry and Chicken Rice. One favorite of mine is the fish with mango salad, adding a little extra fresh chillii. The staff have always been helpful and accommodating.

When booking definitely ask for one of the 'bay window' tables, those at on the deck/terrace and over looking Patong Beach. Best to go just before sunset also to have the best experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWiseTraveller_RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very nice place in Phuket for Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The whole world was there, seems to be the place for Thai food in Phuket. Scenery is truly amazing, food was very good although not excellent (we preferred the Oriental spoon at Twinpalms).
However, still worth more than one visit. You wont regret it if you like Thai food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharkdive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were at Baan Rim Pa in early February 2013. Sorry to say it, but our dinner in Baan Rim Pa restaurant was a very disappointing experience. Food was bland, not tasty, service was not good, their wine was overpriced, and one of the restrooms did not have any toilet paper in it.
It is especially sad because the setting of the place was excellent - gorgeous view of the sea and of the beach from the second floor where we were seated. Our evening promised to be a beautiful one, but this restaurant managed to spoil it. Four of us ordered different dishes, and everyone was disappointed.
I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaTv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Rim Pa Patong also viewed

 

Been to Baan Rim Pa Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing