We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, shame about the location ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arimana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arimana Hotel
Ranked #218 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, shame about the location ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The staff here are excellent - really lovely and friendly and helpful. Room was spotless. Very good aircon, lots of hot water. We didn't eat here as breakfast wasn't included and you can have the same for less in a number of places in the area.
It is very near a very poor night market that is aimed (and priced) at tourists rather than locals.
Generally the area is pretty horrific - it's a ghetto for westerners - lots of men in football shirts walking around with young thai girls. If you have to go to patong then the hotel is lovely

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here as it was booked via a bangkok travel firm :( , But in all honesty it was a nice experience , we had room 101 by the pool and it was clean and comfortable a lot similar to a travel lodge room in the UK ,the hotel is around 10-15 walk to bangla road and about 15 min to patong beach ( take a 4x4 taxi to freedom/paradise beach as its 10000% better and cleaner than patong and 10 min by taxi) , also
Our travel company messed up our transfer to phi phi , but the reception staff helped us out and translated for us and found us another hotel of the same standard, ( didn't catch receptionists name but she a young tiny girl with braces) and a happy smile, I think she's what made the hotel better than expected , would stay here again :)
The hotel also has safety deposit boxes in reception for free hire , 2 keys to open seem secure enough,

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CortyTurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. The location is good, very close to the night markets and about a 15 min walk to the beach. The hotel is very clean, rooms were cleaned every day and the rooms are a good size. The breakfast is very nice, and the wifi is super fast. What really makes this hotel good is the service, the staff are really nice and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
424 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. The room was rather small and the brick wall opposite the balcony (about 1 metre away) wasn't much to look at. My bed under the air conditioner would stay wet in one small area from dripping water. The shower had virtually no hot water, and when on the 'hot' setting the pressure was nothing more that a drizzle. If I moved around under the shower it was just ok but I had to switch to cold to get enough pressure to wash my hair.
The hotel has a lift which is helpful and not always the case in Phuket, and there is also a small pool. The best feature of the hotel is the reception staff who were excellent, always smiling and very helpful.
Of concern one afternoon was when my daughter was having a rest in the room when one of the housekeeping staff entered the room with her own key without knocking first, and when she saw my daughter said sorry and left. The room had already been made up and the girl didn't return for whatever it was she was there for. She obviously thought we were out at the time. It just made us concerned why she would need to go in and why she offered no explanatioin or came back to do whatever. Nevertheless, apart from that and the terrible shower, we enjoyed our stay. Thanks reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonRSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARIMANA, Manager at Arimana Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for posting your opinion, because as it is important for us to know positive and negative points about our services. Your feedback helps us to evaluate and improve the service we offer.
It a pleasure to receive your warm word regarding our staff. However, we are true sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel is not what you've expected. One of a main hot water pipe was broken. As a result, we had to turn it off to fixed. That is why hot water in some room did not flow very well.
Regarding your concern about the housekeeper, we have investigated this case. The staff said that she was not sure if she's already check and refill minibar to your room. Then she returned in order to check. Carelessly, she open the door without knocking the door. Due to the fact that she's not good in English, she cant explain to your daughter why she came. We have addressed this with our housekeeping team to improve our service.
Please accept this response as an apology. If you decide to come back. It would be a great pleasure having you in our hotel again. We promise to you an outstanding service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkley, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel was very clean, friendly staff. In good location to the beach, fresh market, shopping and the nightlife. The pool was to small but well designed and clean. If I ever get to return to patong will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARIMANA, Manager at Arimana Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all staffs, we would like to thank you for giving us a chance to take care of you during your stay in Patong and for taking your time to share your experience through Tripadvisor.
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your vacation at our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact us before your return.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Arimana for 2 weeks, good location near all amenities. Loved the staff at the front desk always very helpful. Cleaners seem a bit lazy and loud sometimes room was never swept. Ants ransacked our room ever too often. Air on is super good in the room. Pool abit small but does the trick in the humid Thai weather. Good hotel, will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARIMANA, Manager at Arimana Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance to take care of you during your stay in Patong.
Refer to your comment, cleanliness is our first priority. However, during rainy season the insects such as ants usually evacuate from the ground to building. We try our best to maintain our cleanliness standard. We have already issued a warning letter to the room maid who were in charge of your room and send her to retrain our basic service course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Dont really have many good things to say really.
The pool is what we would call a water feature in the UK, way too small and of no use really unless you just sit in it.
The room was overlooking the street with a balcony, it gets very noisy and hard to sleep.
The key to start the electricity in the room was wobbly and kept cutting out which was annoying.
This was followed by a power cut...
The bathroom light didnt work, the toilet seat was half hanging off...
The location I didnt mind, was just a good 5 minute walk to the large shopping centre and from there you could explore the side streets which lead to the beach.
Would I stop again, no way. If it is the best you can do for the price, go for it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaikai88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Baumanburi Hotel
Baumanburi Hotel
#166 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amata Patong
Amata Patong
#84 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
M Narina Hotel
M Narina Hotel
#203 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arimana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arimana Hotel

Property: Arimana Hotel
Address: 64/1 Nanai Road, Kathu, Patong beach, Patong beach (Phuket), 83150 | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Arimana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arimana Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing