We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice, very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Breeze Hotel
Ranked #3 of 412 Patong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed in two different rooms, a superior and a junior suite. The superior was 33 dollars US and the junior suite was 40 dollars. I write this for the novice traveler to Phuket, as if you are seasoned, likely you don’t need my advice. Patong is a place that should be on ever man’s bucket list. If you have a pulse and a wallet, you have to go. If you have never been to Asia or Thailand, Summer Breeze is a great starting point.

Summer Breeze is located on Soi Sansabai, basically a small street off the main road. It is about a block to all the action and night life without itself being too loud or busy. You have Bangla road to the west and if you are gay, Paradise Complex to the north – literally minutes away. Most guest houses or small hotels are similar. The ground floor is usually a bar, restaurant and lobby which is open day and night, maybe not the restaurant. Most of the these guest houses do not have elevators. But otherwise they are charming, have a local owner and staff.

Summer Breeze is owned by an American named Bill. You can usually find him in the morning hours in the lobby and he’ll be happy to talk to you or answer any questions. Need laundary done? It’s about $1.50/kg, and it will take maybe two hours. If you do it through the hotel they will put it in your room folded or hung. Need a taxi? It can be arranged. It might be cheaper to get a taxi down the street, but I enjoyed the security of having them arrange it and the driver was polite, the car was clean and pumping the A/C.
Want to do a side trip, rent a motor bike, looking for a legit massage or tailor? Bill will personally help you out.

The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and kind. You will not find geckos chirping about. Most of the staff speak English quite well. There is a terrific night watchman (his name escapes me), who will take care of things in the evening hours, and look out for your welfare. The Thai people are kind and if you respect them and show that respect, you will be repaid 100 fold. One night there was a power outage and while Summer Breeze did not have a back up generator, there were battery operated emergency lights on every floor, and the night watchman was alert with flashlights. Summer Breeze is a guest friendly hotel. If something seems amiss, the night watchman will call your room to make sure everything is okay.

I would definitely book at the Summer Breeze again. The prices are quite reasonable. For my preference, I would get a junior suite at the back of the house, as things can get quite noisy around 4am in the street when people start to leave Bangla. For some, this might not be a big deal. In fact, when I go back, I would probably just book for the entire duration, and take side trips. HKT has direct flights to Koh Samui, Penang and other destinations. You also have the option of leaving your major baggage securely with hotel staff if you are coming back. This is very nice.

Room Tip: lots of good restaurant choices nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cody w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've been coming to Phuket since 2000. This was my first time staying at this hotel and it was recommended by a friend. This is my last night here and I am actually sad to leave. Everything at this hotel is perfect. The room is great, super clean, the staff is exceptional, food is great, location is perfect and I will start staying here from now on. You can very much tell the owner cares about his establishment and has done an excellent job. The reviews aside from mine are spot on and I would encourage you to stay here first before anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveitinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, the hotel and staff where absolutely perfect. Located a two minute walk to the nightlife and local mall makes this a great place to stay. But with the staff you dont need to go out full of entertainment at the bar

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, the hotel and staff where absolutely perfect. The food served both western and local foods where excellent. Located a two minute walk to the nightlife and local mall makes this a great place to stay. But with the staff you dont need to go out full of entertainment at the bar. A special thanks to Bill the owner and the staff for a fantastic stay. Next time I am in Patong I will be definiately staying

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris622_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Best hotel in the world! Not the best rooms, but they are clean and the staff is probably some of the nicest people around. The bar is a great place to pre-game and the food is about as good as it gets!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Summer Breeze a few times now. I cannot say enough about how good the staff is here. It is reasonably priced, and I have never had a bad meal here. The bar always has a friendly atmosphere - even at 8 am :)

If you are looking for a hotel in Patong that is close to everything, then I recommed the Summer Breeze.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmotorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Phuket has a number of different tourist worlds. If you're looking for the nightlife of Patong Beach, then you should consider this one. A good functional hotel in a great location with very friendly staff.

The bar downstairs is very friendly and the restaurant food is generally good. The staff are very helpful and I can not compliment them enough.

Stopping it from getting an excellent are: 1) the aircon in my friends room was below necessary capacity, 2) bringing one's own luggage up three flights to one's room is not usual in S.E.A., and 3) on my first food order, the waitress argued that what was written on the menu was not what was on offer, which gave a very unprofessional first impression.

Room Tip: get the BTU ratings for the aircons in each room and ensure they are satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bear_dee_arr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#40 of 331 in Patong
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#67 of 331 in Patong
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#87 of 331 in Patong
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Breeze Hotel

Address: 171 / 12 Soi San Sabai, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: $27 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summer Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Breeze Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing