We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place in Phuket”
Review of Valero Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valero Guest House
Ranked #90 of 413 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is more of a small hotel, although not the Ritz Carlton of course, than merely a guesthouse. Foremost: it's away from the noise of drunk tourists, which we liked. But still just a 15 min walk from the beach, nightlife etc. At 100 metres there's a market with good places to eat, where you'll find fresh seafood for half the price you'd pay in town. Friendly owner. Pool. Safety deposit per room behind reception.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 85 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

the valero guest house is a wonderful little gem tucked away just a ten minute walk from the jungceylon shopping mall. rooms are cleaned daily also fresh towels and sheets daily it has a very laid back atmosphere and nice size rooms with a lovely wet room. a small but ample clean swimming pool and a small restaurant complete the picture we stayed three weeks and enjoyed the hospitality of inigo who is very informative of all the local trips and bars. you will not be dissapointed and the price is extremly cheap cheers carol

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kween123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This place is very cheap, and considering that the places to be near patong beach aren't too far away, it is worth saving money by booking this and simply getting a taxi/tuk tuk to where you want to go.

The service is quite good, and also for the price you pay, the rooms are great. They have air-con, fan, wifi and tv. Pretty much all you need.

For a backpacker, these rooms are perfect and you have the added benefit of a small/but relatively well kept pool.

Would recommend this place to young travellers/ backpackers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamessyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Four of us stayed here in November for a week. We loved the location as the hotel is set back from the road so no traffic noise is heard.
The rooms were spacious and clean. The room had aircon and a fan which was lovely. The bathroom was fine, sink/shower/toilet. Always had hot water too.
The rooms all had tv and fridge freezer which was lush to cool our chang!!! Excellent value for money, would recommend staying here.

We emailed the management team prior to arriving and they gave us two rooms next to each other. We also arrived very late at night and they were happy with this. They could't have done more to help us.

The hotel is a good 15 min walk to the beach so we got a tuk tuk everyday

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor, walk straight out to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornishpastyTorpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We had a great time here, fantastic hosts which were extremely helpful with any questions we had and easily the best value for money accommodation we found in Southern Thailand. Wiould recommend to all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Really good place to relax and enjoy the sun. Friendly management and staff and beatiful puppy called junior. Will stay there this year all being well. Some of our friends have been there after our return. Well done boys.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seatreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

It was a wonderful stay, my husband and I stayed for 3 nights. We're very thankful to the owner, Inigo, for being very flexible with our stay and being able to accommodate us at the very last minute. Quiet place, but less than 5 minutes to the bustling busy Patong beach area by bike. We rent our bike through Inigo as well, at THB200/day. Hassle-free, definitely!

The hot water doesn't really work in the morning, but that's okay, cos we're used to not bathing with the hot water.

Overall experience - We'll definitely be back!

Thank you very much Inigo, you're wonderful! (=

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itnayirsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,245 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 331 in Patong
150 reviews
1 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#18 of 232 in Patong
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.7 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valero Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valero Guest House

Address: 140 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 413 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: $32 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Patong, Valero Guest House is 1000 metres from Patong Beach. It offers an outdoor swimming pool, 1 restaurant and air-conditioned rooms with a cable TV. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi.Featuring floor-to-ceiling windows and modern Thai interiors, rooms at Valero are equipped with a fridge and a kettle. Shower facilities and toiletries are in the private bathroom.The restaurant serves Thai, Western . Light snacks and refreshing beverages are offered at Guest House Bar.The hotel has a 7:00-00:00 hour front desk that can arrange for airport shuttle and motorbike rental services. Free parking is available near the hotel.Guest House Valero is a 5-minute walk from local dining outlets and a 15-minute walk from Jungceylon Shopping Mall, nightlife and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valero Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valero Guest House Hotel Patong
Valero Guest House Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing