We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
12
33
18
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12
33
18
10
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 82 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at Lamai hotel in Sweet Suite for 4 nights in september 2012 went to pattaya for a week then returned for 4 nights left for 1 night and came back for a further 6.

I booked using agoda through trip advisor.

The room was very clean, large neat and tidy looked like a honeymoon suite flowers and rose petals everywhere. Was serviced daily with fresh sheets and towels. The minibar fridge was virtually street prices and the AC worked well apart from 1 day when i started leaking water the staff at the bar and restaurant also do the maintenance and came up straight away to sort it out.Room has nice big plasma TV a PC and printer all worked well but hotel has free wifi anyway that worked well for your phone or laptop.

The staff were really good and helpfull. The location is great, very central for Patong. everything you need is just meters outside the front door close to all things patong beach has to offer Bangla, Beach, Jung Ceylon, Otop Markets, all within walking distance. Hotel also has scooter hire 200 baht/day you can find cheaper but for convenience and parking was easy.

Breakfast included in my room price had 4 western options big American breakfast bacon eggs etc and 5 thai style dishes only had it a few times slept in most days !. Had a few meals at restaurant was pretty good.

***(copied from previous review as this sums it up perfectly, its a good smoking area)***The rooftop garden is a bit of a non-event. I only went there because I was staying on that floor. In the whole week I was there I saw not one single other guest go up there. It's simply too HOT in the day time.. But great at night to look out over the hustle and bustle of the streets below, once the sun goes down. With a pool this hotel would be almost perfect. Without a pool, it's very good.

I would defiantly stay here again .

Room tip: If booking a sweet suite get 501 or 502 these are the only 2 rooms on the top floor
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at Lamai hotel in Sweet Suite for 7 nights in July 2012 as first week of a two week holiday. Considering I paid for 7 nights less than 1/4 of what I paid for 6 nights at HIR down the road… the Lamai Hotel was a fantastic little hotel. Not a resort-style fancy hotel with all the trimmings. And still 80% of the resort "trimmings" without the resort-style price.

I booked online via their website and it was a little confusing when you're used to booking through major chain hotels or the big reseller sites. I got an email back but it was unclear if the reservation was actually made or not. I rang to confirm the next day and the kind young lady I spoke to was not sure either and my lack of Thai language did not help. A follow up email and reply from Lamai clarified that I had made correct reservation, and it had been accepted and I was booked in. Next time I will just ring them directly I think and book over the phone.

The room was very clean, neat and tidy. Was serviced daily with fresh sheets and towels. The minibar fridge was virtually street prices and the AC was amazingly efficient. Room very spacious. The curtains were very good at blocking out the light and letting me sleep in when I wanted to. Big plasma TV very good also. Did not use the PC or printer etc. Was older machine running Win XP, and I had my own laptop anyway. Frankly I would have preferred the extra desk space that the computer took up. But it's a very minor quibble. And I knew before booking how the rooms were laid out.

The staff were super friendly and created great family atmosphere that's great when staying in smaller non-chain hotels. The location is great, very central for Patong. everything you need is just meters outside the front door.

I had breakfast included in my room price but if it was not, I would have gone elsewhere to be honest. The food was very nice, but nothing spectacular and you can get better for cheap cheap at dozens of places nearby IMO. The restaurant seemed very popular during the day and at night for lunch/dinner though, lots of passing trade and the food looked good when I was walking past.

I love the open nature of the bottom floor foyer/restaurant area. Right on the street, right in the middle of it all. Would often order another coffee after breakfast and just sit and watch the passing parade, hang out with the staff.

The rooftop garden is a bit of a non-event. I only went there because I was staying on that floor. In the whole week I was there I saw not one single other guest go up there. It's simply too HOT in the day time.. But great at night to look out over the hustle and bustle of the streets below, once the sun goes down. With a pool this hotel would be almost perfect. Without a pool, it's very good.

The free WiFi was amazingly good. Better than my service at home. Rock solid and it simply worked all day everyday… I used iPhone, iPad and MacBook all without issue. Skype over WiFi was crystal clear. Where I am staying now and paying 4x the price could learn a LOT from how Lamai does it's WiFi.

I was sad to leave Lamai hotel even though week two of my trip was 5-star wing at Holiday Inn Resort. Same planet, different worlds. Lamai Hotel has the feel of a travellers hotel, real people, genuine staff, family atmosphere.

I will definitely be back to stay at the Lamai Hotel.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

As per what to previous reviewers had said, rooms here are big, with PC, Wifi, printer and a Large TV avail in room. Did not have any noise problem from the street. Receptionist can't be bothered!
Did not try the restaurant as I understand the price were little expensive. The popular Let's relax spa is just two blocks away, 5 mins walking distance to Jungceylon and Bangla road, restaurants ant 10 mins walk to the beach!
Will recommend to anyone who needs a short stay while on a budget.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel doesn't have the bells and whistles of a resort, but is in a great location only a short stroll to Jungceylon Shopping Mall and Bangla Road. The rooms are exceptional, very big with free use of a desktop computer with large screen, printer and internet. There are a lot of guys taking back thai girls to this hotel, but if this doesn't bother you then it's a great budget option with better than average rooms. I would stay there again for sure. The motor bike rental is cheap and hassle free. I'd rather book there than try elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I wanted a cheap hotel in Patong over Christmas, so I booked 3 different ones over 10 nights to hedge my bets. The first I stayed at was Sino House which is literally over the road (or lane in this case) from this hotel. I found that although it had far less facilities, I preferred the simplicity of Sino House (see separate review).

I think I'd love Lamai Hotel more if I was 22 again and reincarnated as an American frat boy.

By that I mean its sort of got a 24-7 party feel. Which is great when you are 22, but this old fart just wants peace and quiet. Its just got so much happening, i.e. it has a street front bar and restaurant which contribute to that frat house feel, also a 5th floor rooftop garden that could do with a pool (good view though), and an excursions/day trip desk, a massage shop and scooter hire.

And in room it has a computer with very slow internet, (but free nonetheless) , great blackout curtains for sleeping during the day after a hard night of partying. A huge range of not over priced drinks in the bar fridge, a huge LCD and DVD player. But the icing on the cake for me was a 4ft wide painting of a tasteful yet slightly erotic nude in a gold gilt frame. Maybe they lifted it from Imelda Marcos' private collection. Maybe its to put you in the mood for a massage which is only a stone's throw away. There is no joiner fee either at this establishment, so if you meet the bar girl of your dreams, she can stay o-n without penalty.

There were only two things I wasn't crazy about. One is the old sour-puss who mans the front desk. She's a liability and unless she owns the place, should be retired immediately, the rest of the staff I dealt with seemed fine. And the second are the lockers that are located in the foyer. Maybe I'm paranoid, but I don't like everyone being able to see me access my valuables. The flip side is that yes, they are in plain view, so hopefully, that's a deterrent. Personally, I prefer the in-room safes that I can set the combo on, not that I think they cant be easily cracked. But out of sight out of mind....

It also has a nice clean elevator. so good for oldies who don't want to carry bags upstairs. Mind you, the porter was only too happy to help, and you don't have to give him a $5 tip, 20 baht will make him smile.

Would I stay here again? yes, quite readily, but perhaps only if my other preferences (Deevana, Patong Beach Lodge, Sino House) were booked out.

I don't have any photos to add, as a google search will provide a plethora of accurate depictions of all this hotel has to offer. (I got exactly what was represented to me on bookings.com)

Room tip: if you are after a quiet stay, maybe ask for one not on Raj U Thit, as that road *never* stops humming with tuk tuks or scooters.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews