We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but good”
Review of The Bird Cage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bird Cage
Ranked #104 of 411 Patong B&B and Inns
Sundsvall
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small but good”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had an economy room here. Room was small but cheap. It was clean. Quiet street although very central location. Most of the crew was good. The surly one working at night hardly knew a word of English :-) WIFI was fast and reliable. Laundry delivered on time (Thanks). They also offer to book 'cheap' transport to the airport for 600 baht. I paid 1000 baht for the room in January 2013. Cheers! /Anders

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tretjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    72
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
1
27
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We had this booked for one night whilst moving on to kata beach. The room was clean but very small. No natural light in the room and felt quite claustrophobic. Staff were friendly however and location is good. Five min walk to the nightlife.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few years ago and it has deffinalty declined since then . Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else , the beds were so hard we did not have a good sleep all week , by the morning you felt battered and bruised . Their was even a cockroach in our room. It is budget accom in a good position for young party gooers if you want somewhere relaxing stay at karon beach any where but patong ! Hotel staff friendly enough . Will be staying else where next trip . Also bathrooms were no overly clean on arrival witch is off putting .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

OK so this hotel is not 5* luxury, but the staff are friendly & helpful, it has a great location, the rooms are clean & it's not overly expenisve - what more could you ask for?
The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the huge shopping centre & also Bungla Road (where you will find hundreds of bars/night clubs/restaurants to choose from). Its just a few minutes further on to the bottom of Bungla road where you will find the beach - and if it's the beach you are mainly looking for I'm sure you could find something a closer.

Only downside is that there is no lift and when you have a girlfriend with possibly the heaviest suitcase in the world then carrying it up 3 flights of stairs isn't ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Friendly owner and staff who attended to my enquiries. If you want to buy day tours, there is an agent outside the guesthouse which offer at a reasonable rate (able to buy airport transfer if you are staying here till the last day of your trip).

Located very near Patong beach (5-10 mins) walk just turn right from entrance. Jungceylon Shopping mall, restaurants, pubs are within walking distance. Staff recomended Banzaan Market near Jungceylon if you looking for nice streetfoods. Try the Thai tea/ coffee at one of the vendor.

Hotel room has basic facilities and good for backpackers. Also offer laundrette services as well.
Recomend to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank kytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legazpi, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and I was surprised how friendly the receptionist was to us. The guesthouse was strategically located, takes about 10 min walk to Patong Beach. I only took a swim in patong beach once anyway.

It is very close to the bars, restaurants and the mall.
Room we had was small but was okay. No lift so if you have so much stuff with you, get the lower floors. I went to the rooftop to get a view of Patong.

Room Tip: lower level rooms as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ib_yang14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights , cheap,comfortable,friendly staff & strategic location, we happened to get a room on the 4th floor,no lift available, its not reccomended for eldery travellers.
Food,shopping,beach,bar street is within 10-15 minutes walk

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litaindahsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.2 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#91 of 328 in Patong
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nouveau Guesthouse
Nouveau Guesthouse
#105 of 411 in Patong
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
La De Bua
La De Bua
#101 of 411 in Patong
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fong Kaew Mansion Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Patong Budget Rooms
Patong Budget Rooms
#150 of 287 in Kathu
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Phusita House 3
#90 of 411 in Patong
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird Cage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird Cage

Property: The Bird Cage
Address: 6/1-3 Rat- U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bird Cage 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Bird Cage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird Cage Hotel Patong
The Bird Cage Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing