We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Transit guesthouse” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bird Cage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bird Cage
Ranked #94 of 396 Patong B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Transit guesthouse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

First time I visited, i found it worth the money I paid. However, this November 2012, though i see it well renovated and wifi provisioned in the room, I was quite disappointed to see not even a bottled water and an ashtray in the room. Toilet tissue was seen nowhere other than a tissue role kept along with 2 empty glasses in the bedroom. 4 floors, no lift. So take care in choosing your room in case you are not able to climb up the stairs. No coffee facility in the room, minibar was empty. I moved to a different hotel priced at same rates but worth it. From my room on the 3rd floor, I could get a nice mountain view. Overall, looked like very simple amenities and facilities were missing - no drinking water in room, mini bar was empty, no bed switch etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    72
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
1
27
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Bird Cage is one of those interesting propositions. It's location is sandwiched between the two main roads around Patong, which is a one way affair and forms a circuit around town. Anyway, if you're in Patong you're most likely more interested in shopping and partying rather than white sandy beaches. I happened by during the "low" tourist season and got a rather good deal off the internet. I got the superior room, which faces the street.

It's located in an alley along with several other budget class hotels. Checking in is a no frills affair and the receptionist is rather friendly. She called me out by name as I was alighting from the taxi. Great service. That or the hotel is a bit empty at the moment. As expected for a hotel of this class, the rooms are best described as "adequate". I'm a bit disappointed that there isn't a hot water flask but do note that Thailand's water isn't regarded as potable; bottled water is quite cheap. No carpeting but that is to be expected.

Do note that there are no lifts. Invalids may need to take this into consideration.

Complains I really have none except for one minor gripe. For reasons unknown, there seems to be a 101 things that goes bump in the night. Not so much as the walls are thin and you can listen to the going ons in the adjoining rooms, but what I mean is that there's the odd water flushes, squeek from the wiring, and so on occurring quite regularly that at times, border on intrusive. Guests with nervous dispositions may find themselves waking up at night often to bumps and bops.

What I liked most about this hotel is that it's located right next to where all the action is. The mall, the party streets (family and non-family friendly) and convenience shops are just round the corner. Try, please try the street food.

I'm the sort that spends more time out of the hotel room than in, so The Bird Cage suits me just fine.

Room Tip: Budget class hotel. If you're the sort that only needs a room to sleep and wash, this is an opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here number of times for one or two nights. If you stay somewhere else in Phuket and decided to stay in Patong before you fly home, this is the right place. Cheap, comfortable, spotless bathroom, friendly staff and very strategic location.

Massage parlor and restaurant is very near. You can use tuk tuk to reach Bangla Road if you really really lazy to walk. The beach is 10 minutes leisurely walk. Just ask people the direction or follow those tourist who bring the towel with them.

I will definitely stay here whenever in Patong!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tafe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Very good accomadation,set back from the beach, 10 minutes walk and centrally located, stayed there the first week it openend and stayed for one week,the owner and her daughter were very polite and put on some food in the evening on new years eve. The room was excellant with a good veiw over the north end of the beach. Quite in the evenings when i stayed there so a good nights sleep was assured,bangla road is only 10-15 minutes walk away, will possibly stay there again if i go back to Phuket this December. yours truly . Guitar man .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 747Traveller747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

the room was small but clean - had cable tv, comfortable bed and free wifi. we happened to get a room on the 4th floor with no lift (to climb up the stairs after a whole day of tour under the hot sun was not funny). u may need to put that into consideration.

however, the lady who handled the tour booth deserves the credit for making our phuket stay worthwhile. other than providing excellent tour recommendations, she gave directions of places to shop and eat. always smiling and accommodating. a total opposite to the girl behind the hotel reception in the afternoon - loud, defensive and obviously rude. we even saw her quarrelling with a guest (european lady) at the reception! a total holiday spoiler!

would i be here again? i dont think so... i would get the hotel next door but frequent the tour-booth for service

Room Tip: if you really need any help, the guy working the night shift is polite and more accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasontea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is clean, receptionist seem very friendly and helpful, but no lift.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isskandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed at the Bird Cage in January 2012 for five nights. The staff was immensely helpful. I wanted to stay another night but they were full, they offered to find me another room in a different hotel (I ended up staying with them when someone cancelled). They helped me book different excursions, gave me some fantastic recommendations on where to eat, and were super friendly. It was a bit of a challenge to find the hotel as the taxi driver got lost.

The rooms were clean, cleaned daily, and the perfect size for a singleton or a couple. The hotel is close to everything (beach, bangla street, restaurants, shopping, nightlife). The hotel isn't all that fancy, no pool, or great gathering area, but there are so many places around it for that it didn't matter. The beds were a little hard, but thats true of everywhere in Asia I've noticed. I had a fantastic stay with them and would book there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Ruen Buathong Boutique Guest House
0.0 mi away
La De Bua
La De Bua
#108 of 396 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Connect Guesthouse
Connect Guesthouse
#279 of 396 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Album Hotel
The Album Hotel
#68 of 396 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiger Inn
Tiger Inn
#124 of 396 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gallery Hotel
The Gallery Hotel
#18 of 396 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird Cage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird Cage

Property: The Bird Cage
Address: 6/1-3 Rat- U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bird Cage 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bird Cage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird Cage Hotel Patong
The Bird Cage Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing