We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel!”
Review of Nipa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nipa Resort
Ranked #116 of 334 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Arrived to Nipa and were greeted by lovely helpful staff. Check in was swift and we were shown to our pool access room immediately. Room was very comfortable and impeccably clean. Swimming pool is gorgeous but not many sun loungers! Breakfast is nice and varies from day to day....we made good use of the shuttle bus to the beach also. I would highly recommend this hotel-so friendly they even sent me a Christmas card!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HennersDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 335 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2008

Booked this resort through Agoda.com, after spending ages trying to find something we would like in Patong, Phuket, for a few days. The minibus from the airport had trouble finding it, which was strange since it is actually a very large, new building, with not much else around it. But because its so new, not many people know about it yet. Its back off the beach, but only 10 minutes walk away. We had a deluxe double room on the second floor, with a balcony looking out onto the pool. We were welcomed to the hotel with a cold towel and drink, then quickly taken up to our room. It was contemporary and very well decorated, with a big bed and crisp white sheets, large flat screened TV with a few English speaking channels, fridge, safe, table and chairs to put out on the balcony, and room service.
The only problem would have been the slight smell in the bathroom, probably from the pipes, and that the bath leaked so the floor was covered after a quick shower. But it was very clean, and housekeeping came every morning. They also supplied towels for the pool and beach.
The breakfast was included in the price, and was a buffet of toast, cereal, eggs, etc. and tea or coffee. Not many people went to the restaurant in the evening, and to get you in they offered 10% off the bill. But with so many good restaurants around the area you can see why people wouldn't choose to stay there. Just over 5 minutes walking got you to the main tourist street (Bangla Road) with bars and restaurants, although quieter areas near the hotel are more suitable for those with children.
The pool was good, large enough, with different areas for people to swim in, and enough sun beds around it. It was low season, so not sure what its like when the hotel is full. I suppose lots of people would go down to the beach.
We thought it was good value for the 2 nights stay we had, which included breakfast. The mini bar wasn't expensive, although you would be better off buying from the local shops and putting it in your fridge. Two bottles of water are complimentary every day from the hotel. There was a kettle and cups, with enough tea and coffee for one a day.
Would definitely go back there or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

The resort is beautiful and offers great value for money. We booked their deluxe room pool facing for about USD 40 in Sep. It is about a 10 minutes walk to the patong beach, but I think that is absolutely fine considering the huge tariffs at the resorts situated much closer to the beach. The resort has a beautiful building (try to get a pool facing room), a lovely pool with jacuzzi, and very helpful staff. The only thing that could be improved is the breakfast (but I am not at all complaining after the wonderful experience that I had here).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Raptor22India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We came across the Nipa while searching for "pool access room in Phuket" and it's everything it says it is. Rooms are a good size, breakfast cooked for you (would be a buffet when they're busy) and the pool access fantastic. Had to laugh as the pool outside of the pool access rooms is really deep and I'm not that tall - but great if you want to swim. Only problem with a four night stay is being bitten terribly by mosiquitos even though I did have insectant repellant on - think they must be breeding in the little river out the front. Loved the free shuttle to the beach area (at 10am and 1pm) but got dropped off at Jungceylon most times and walked back. Great hotel, brilliant price ($81 AUD for pool access and breakfast), very friendly staff. Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone. Will be a gold mine for the owners when they finish constructing the new road out the front.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank tigerlilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We stayed for 10 nights at the Nipa (our 6th visit to Thailand) in a pool access room. We chose this type of room as we were travelling with our 7 month old son and thought it would be convenient.

From the moment we checked in the service was wonderful, the Nipa staff are sooooo friendly and helpful. They absolutely adored our blonde haired blue eyed little cherub and often took turns at holding him at breakfast, which was handy.

The rooms and the resort itself are kept spotlessly clean, this hotel is really worth considering for your stay in Patong. As far as value for money goes it is excellent (we paid AUD $81 per night-low season) booked through the asia rooms website. Breakfast is good- it seems that if there are not many people staying you order as much as you like off the menu, otherwise some mornings they have the traditional buffet.

The pool is also superb. There is a Taxi stand out the front of the Nipa and we met the most wonderful driver ever called Yan. He has a great new clean car that seats 7 (we were travelling with friends) so this was great for us. He will take you wherever you like at a very reasonable rate...he was fantastic and we will definately be using him again on our future trips.

Overall the Nipa needs some more good reviews, so that people are aware of the good rooms and service available.

The only downside of the Nipa is its location. If it was just my husband and myself travelling it would not have been a problem as it is only a 8-10 min walk to Bangla Rd or the beach, but with our little one and body boards (yes there are waves in Patong this time of year) it was a bit of a hike, but wonderful Yan was always there to give us a lift if we needed one.

A special thankyou to the staff at the Nipa, especially Ms Siriwan and Moss, who made our stay very memorable and who took a real interest in our son Noah. Thanks again....We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank parkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We were a bit sceptical about this resort, but when we were arrived we were so impressed. The staff are friendly, the rooms are good. We stayed on the second floor, try the pool access rooms as you can get out the pool and walk straight into your room. We rented a scooter for 250BHT per day, arranged through reception. There is no beach view, but Patong Beach is only a short walk away approx. 8 min. Their Chicken Burgers are excellent and the breakfast is adequate. Happy hour is good from 16h00 - 18h00 daily - buy one, get one free. The only down side to this hotel is that we had a bunch of noisy tourist that arrived back at the hotel at around 3h00am and you can hear them slamming doors (for whatever reason, I don't know, perhaps they just liked to slam doors). Overall, the hotel is clean and good value for money. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tray899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Before arriving at this hotel, the only information I could find was on the hotel's website. Although the photos of the rooms, facilities, and pool area looked nice, I was unsure if it would live up to our expectations. As it turned out, I needn't have worried.

We booked our airport transfer through the hotel directly, at a cost of 600 Baht, or slightly less than $20 US. The drive to the hotel takes about 45 minutes. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with juice and friendly, smiling service. Check-in took about 5 minutes, upon which we were escorted to our rooms. Since we were traveling with my mother-in-law, we booked two rooms, a superior and a deluxe pool access.

From what we could tell, the superior room is the lowest category. Yet, the room was nicely appointed, with access to a small garden, color satellite TV, and a very nice bathroom. The bed was queen sized and there was a small seating area next to the window. All in all, a very nice room. The deluxe pool access was appointed very similarly, with the addition of an outdoor terrace with two chairs and a table, plus direct access to the hotel's pool. This was a great feature, which we took advantage of the entire time. Both rooms have central control of all lighting and airconditioning via a bedside panel.

Breakfast was inclusive in our rate, and the spread included a variety of western and asian food items, such as bacon, sausage, eggs, made to order omelets, congee, noodles, croissants, cereal, juice, tea, and coffee. It was a phenomenal way to start each day. Breakfast ran from 6:30 - 10:30am each day, which allowed us to catch breakfast before heading back to the airport for our return trip.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be part of the Patong Beach experience, but is unsure about staying in the heart of town. The hotel is about a 10-minute walk to Bang La Road and about 15 minutes to the beach. Close enough to the action, but far enough away to permit a peaceful sleep when you are ready to crash. We cannot wait to return to Phuket and to this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Naina Resort & Spa
Naina Resort & Spa
#142 of 334 in Patong
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#32 of 334 in Patong
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 334 in Patong
791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coconut Village Resort
Coconut Village Resort
#79 of 334 in Patong
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nipa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipa Resort

Address: 33 Sainamyen Road, | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Patong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $40 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nipa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nipa Resort is a luxurious-modern resort located in Phuket, Thailand. Our facilities offer nothing less than comfort and relaxation. After a long day of actions and activities around the city, you will find yourself back to peace and serenity as you lay back among the greeneries of plants and floras that have been carefully planted around our facilities. Nipa Resort is located in the prime area of Phuket. We are only a few minutes walk from the world-famous Patong Beach where you will find endless activities to do throughout the day and night. We make certain that getting around town is never a hassle, so we have provided our guests with a transportation service for your convenience. The restaurants, pub, bars, and the Jung Ceylon shopping complex are all within reach. Your trip to Phuket and your stay at Nipa Resort are bound to be an unforgettable experience for you. Our facilities include 117 luxuriously decorated rooms, complete amenities in every room, sparkling swimming pool, kiddy pool, bars, and Thai- International Restaurant. We pride ourselves on the hospitality and high quality of services we offer to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to Nipa Resort where you can expect nothing but the best out of your vacation in Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nipa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nipa Hotel Patong
Nipa Hotel Kathu
Nipa Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing