We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable. Close enough to the action, but quiet within”
Review of Nipa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nipa Resort
Ranked #118 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable. Close enough to the action, but quiet within”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Not the prettiest building from outside, the Nipa Resort was very well presented inside and offered pretty good value for money. Location is close enough to Patong beach and facilities to easily walk there. The pool is great, and the staff are friendly and helpful (some limited English, but the message gets through).

The biggest drawback is the currently unmade road at the front and with the slightest rain, it be becomes a quagmire very quickly. While this is temporary, there isn't any work going on at the moment, so I assume it will be like that for some months. Thank goodness it only rained sporadically through my week. It would have become an issue in the rainy season.

Yes, the hotel clientele is heavily Russian and, to a lesser degree, Chinese. But hey, it's international travel, so if you embrace the fact that we can all have holidays, that shouldn't pose a problem.

Don't waste your money on a superior room. For about $5 more per night, you can get a Deluxe - I ordered a superior by accident on-line and, when i saw it, immediately chose to pay over the odds for an upgrade. Deluxe pool view is the way to go - Deluxe non-view does not offer anything pleasant to see.

Breakfast is disappointing, but edible. Wifi is limited to certain areas only and I difficulty connecting at times.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    116
    48
    21
    21
See reviews for
50
132
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed stayed five nights at the Nipa Resort during a roundtrip to South-East Asia in December 2012. Unfortunately I was disappointed, both with the hotel and Patong Beach in general.

We got a small and dark room with a balcony facing a concrete wall. The bed was not very comfortable. The was no wi-fi in the room, so we had to go to the reception area to get internet connection.

The reception staff were very friendly and service-minded, even though they spoke English badly.

Most of the other guests were Russians.

The best feature of the hotel is probably the nice pool area.

I don’t think I will ever go back to Nipa Resort - or Patong Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sraLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Set back a little bit away from the beach and the on going road works outside of the hotel made it a bit dusty when you went out.
Room was ok although looking a bit worn and tired, nothing special but it was adequate.
Front desk staff and doormen were all helpful and attentive.
Buffet breakfast while it was included in our room rate was pretty ordinary and just so so.

Room Tip: We found that late at night the swimming pool guest were noisy, best get a room not overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roscoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I had a very good experience at Nipa Resort. Our room was spacious with a sliding door access to the pool, and because it was situated near the reception we had wifi internet access which was a bonus! The pool is awesome - definitely the hotel's best feature. Nipa is in a convenient location in Patong and a short walk (5-10min) to Bangla Rd, mall, market, beach etc. The staff were quite friendly and helpful although there is one guy at the reception that could do with an attitude adjustment (very arrogant).

Nipa is not perfect of course, and here are a couple of improvements they could make:

1) The aircon in our room was quite clunky and noisy although it did the job. These aircons get used non-stop so perhaps more regular servicing will help.

2) The crockery and glassware in the dining room smell of egg!!! I totally hate this. Please Nipa, sort this out and use a good industrial dishwasher.

We would go back and can recommend this hotel based on our experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel should certainly be avoided. The hotel staff are the rudest I have come across in asia, are completley disinterested and didnt crack a smile once during the entire stay. Often good customer service can excuse a small room and a few room issues, but given this place has severe room issues and bad staff to boot and bad location, this hotel is just a bad holiday experience.
The rooms are very small, bathrooms flood and are very cramped, and rooms that have the private plunge pool are more expensive and PITCH BLACK because they face a wall so high no sun gets in, and there are harly any lights in the room, making for a dark miserbale hotel room looking at a wall.
Staff only provide on key per room despite 2 people paying and staying, and with issues such as broken bulbs (we had 2 in our pitch black room), our bathroom flooding etc, we were met with a grunt and barely even spoken to.
Upon requesting asssiatnce with a cab to the airport to go home, as phuket has no metered taxis, we were told its 650 baht that the final price (insert grunt) then told to go outside and find a better deal. The staff here are just awful and I would never return nor reccomend. For US$130 or so that I paid for a pool view room, i expected more (for $30 more, i stayed in Le Meredien in Bangkok which was nothing short of fantastic). I do NOT reccomend this hotel and it is nowehere near 4 star. The only redeeming quality is the hotel main pool which is quite good.

Room Tip: dont choose a swim up room - they face a wall. Choose a balcony room on an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just got back from thailand, we were there for the New Year. Nipa Resort is not a bad hotel..but it also isnt really clean or accomodating. We had to switch rooms 3 times. Examples: Ants (not like 5 or 6), a hole in the wall, and the air con was being held up by paper, the bed left us crawling the next morning from muscle pain..thank god a million massage places..In all honesty if you wanna save a buck and stay at a place thats right in the center, but still have a little style this is the place for you. If your looing for a romantic, family or and expereicne where you are taken care of...this place is NOT for you. depends on how you like to travel. Also when booking they have a new wing and an old wing...I highly advise the new one....

Room Tip: choose the NEW side!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYWEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in a pool access room. Originally we booked room in another hotel for 3 nights and then the plan was to stay in that one if we like or look for another. Well I have to say we were smart and after first night we went for long walks and checked around 20 hotels. Based on the availability/price/lockation we checked about 6 hotel rooms and then choose Nipa. The room, hotel and the staff was very friendly. The location is good however I have to say street and the surrounding is not the nicest. Room was very nice, there were lot of russians but thanks God they were nice ones. Hotel offers transfer to the beach however it's about 10 minutes light walking distance. Close to 'downtown'. Massage is very very good however compare to the booked date we had to wait more that 40 minutes - not only once :-( All together I recomend this hotel - compare to other 7 I've been.

Room Tip: this is the hotel were it doesn't matter which room you get however defenetly the pool access ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoraSza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Andakira Hotel
Andakira Hotel
#89 of 322 in Patong
522 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#46 of 322 in Patong
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Naina Resort & Spa
Naina Resort & Spa
#145 of 322 in Patong
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nipa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipa Resort

Property: Nipa Resort
Address: 33 Sainamyen Road, | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nipa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nipa Resort is a luxurious-modern resort located in Phuket, Thailand. Our facilities offer nothing less than comfort and relaxation. After a long day of actions and activities around the city, you will find yourself back to peace and serenity as you lay back among the greeneries of plants and floras that have been carefully planted around our facilities. Nipa Resort is located in the prime area of Phuket. We are only a few minutes walk from the world-famous Patong Beach where you will find endless activities to do throughout the day and night. We make certain that getting around town is never a hassle, so we have provided our guests with a transportation service for your convenience. The restaurants, pub, bars, and the Jung Ceylon shopping complex are all within reach. Your trip to Phuket and your stay at Nipa Resort are bound to be an unforgettable experience for you. Our facilities include 117 luxuriously decorated rooms, complete amenities in every room, sparkling swimming pool, kiddy pool, bars, and Thai- International Restaurant. We pride ourselves on the hospitality and high quality of services we offer to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to Nipa Resort where you can expect nothing but the best out of your vacation in Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Nipa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nipa Hotel Patong
Nipa Hotel Kathu
Nipa Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing