We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MAZE ING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fern Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fern Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A MAZE ING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have recently returned from a month travelling around Thailand. My husband and I are 58 so wanted some degree of comfort but with the thrill of being in the jungle. Trailfinders suggested Fern Resort for one of our stops. It was truly amazing. We stayed in the hut previously occupied by Brad and Angelina so it was hard to drag me out of it!!! We were there for 10 days, we had hard days trekking, easy days at Fern - reading, listening to the birds, watching the butterflies, evenings in Mae Hong Son eating from the street sellers around the lake. And when we left the lovely staff ran out to wave us good bye. One of the best times in my life.

Room Tip: As for room 39
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    152
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
83
215
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Perfect few nights stay in the peaceful Heaven of mae hong son.

Staff wonderful and friendly, room excellent . Just what I expected .

In regards to the bad comments on this hotel do your research first. If you want too see everything green then come in the winter months.
I love the fact there is no tv and limited wifi I could actually get a break from work. (As you are always connected up work with smart phones now)
The dogs are so friendly to. We didn't really come here to trek but to spend done quiet time together and if that's what you are looking for its great. The food is at a good price ( it's the same menu in there city based restaurant but at higher prices there )

So if you are looking for a few days away from it all then this is perfect.

Thank you so much fern resort

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longframlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Where do I start with this resort? If you are looking for somewhere typically Thai but with the comforts of the 21st century - this is for you. If you want total relaxation outside the hurly burly of a town - this is for you. Lively, noisy and close to other restaurants and bars it isn't - so remember that when you book here.

It consists of 39 wooden villas surrounded by typical rice paddies with various indigenous plants, shrubs and flowers all around the place - it really is a beautiful and natural location with the jungle covered hills leading across to Burma as a backdrop. Please note, although the rice paddies are part of the resort, this is not a working farm as such. Pleasant paths criss cross the resort to get you from your bungalow to reception, the sunset bar (what a sight that is!), the dining area or the pool. There is flowing water via ponds and streams everywhere and in the evening the place came alive with the croaking of frogs, chirping of chit chats and the lovely evening sound of crickets. In the day too, there was wildlife galore - huge butterflies, lizards, tree living animals (looked a bit like squirrels - fascinating!) There are nature trails around the surrounding woodland which the resort will supply you with maps for (for a small charge) and often one of the resorts several dogs will come with you. Don't be put off by these amimals they are as tranquil as the resort itself!

We stayed only 3 nights but would be happy to stay for longer next time. The bungalow we had was one of the de-luxe type and it was the only one completely on its own away from the others. (The staff told us Brad and Angelina stayed there - there were photos of them everywhere in the resort). It had 2 balconies, an enormous bed and an enormous bathroom. Although there was air con don't expect a fridge, telephone or a TV in your room here because there aren't any. They try to keep it as eco friendly as possible and is government funded in that regard with the staff recruited from local hilltribe people as far as possible. They don't have much English but are learning fast and we didn't have any communication problems. The food is not bad and reasonably priced and the pool is big, cool and refreshing. The bungalows are cleaned every day.

The resort is a long way out of the centre of Mae Hong Son but it has a shuttle service about 3 times a day there and back. It's a lot smaller than Chiangmai or Chiangrai with a few restaurants and bars, 7/11 type shops and - inevitably in Thailand - a small night market and a rather handsome Wat. We ate in the Fern restaurant in town (owned by the same people as the resort) and had 2 fantastic meals there very reasonably priced, although most of our time was spent in the resort itself because we loved the spot so much. It is honestly one of the most lovely places I have been to and it will stay in my memory for a long time.

Room Tip: Bungalow 39 is big and secluded. The others are closer to each other so if you want total privacy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

this is one of the most idyllic places we have ever stayed and it is affordable, tt. It is outside of town, but it is so serene, has a lovely pool, great massages and you can get dinner there ,too. The breakfast was yummy.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shulamit657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I hate to say anything bad, but my experience is the place is not what it seems to be...
The setting is unquestionably beautiful, but I would not call it an eco-resort. There are some native trees with signs, a rice patty that looks like it has not been watered in years and some narrow trickles of water.
The restaurant food is decent and the staff tries to be helpful, but they are not conversant in English and some not pleasant things happen. For instance there are a number of dishes on the menu that indicate spicy and the waitress said “you want spicy” and I said "the menu says spicy, is it spicy? “She says yes, you want spicy? So I said yes and they brought out a dish that was so spicy to render it uneatable. The same happened to me in their restaurant in town.
The front desk staff gave me and my wife the same feeling that they did not really want to be bothered, There were two things that left bad taste in my mouth;
1) They encourage taking the 2 or 4 hour trek directly behind the hotel restaurant but to do so they charge you for the drinking water. Really? How can they expect you to go on such a hike without water? So they charge you for it? Amazingly cheap to me and not hospitable.
2) Watch out for the tours, for me they were a rip off. Our tour encompassed the following. “Slow raft down the River” (accompanied with a photo that looks like you’re going past native huts on the river). Well, it was 90 minutes going sloooowly on the most boring countryside imaginable. Just brown, dusty, riverbanks with nothing to see except poor Thai laborers dredging rocks out of the water. 90 minute of this under a hot sun. You get out at a non-descript landing place, no explanation about anything and driven to a Chinese village close to the Burma border.

The drop off at the village is a bunch of store huts set up for tourists to buy things. You’re given a decent meal and then you drive back on the road for the next feature “visit three tribal villages.” You stop at the beginning of a string of Thai hut storefronts, the same as 10,000 other storefronts you pass, and told three tribes live there. You get an explanation how they got there through a gov’t relocation program. You have zero interactions with anyone, you see zero culture, you see nothing, you just walk the length of the storefronts and that’s your visit.

The tour brochure says something about “Get close to the Burmese Border.” How was that played out? The guide pointed to some mountains and said “Burmese border.’

You’re next driven to see the fantastic waterfalls (as the brochure picture reflects). Well, it hadn’t rained in a while so after we got to the barren place the guide giggling told us no waterfalls, no water. So we looked at the rocks the water would have been going over had there been water. The vendor selling nuts there also giggled and said “no water.”

Next was the Royal family’s wild life refuge (many brochure pix of wild life close ups, implying you get the same). The grounds are beautiful but as for the wild life? You see a few deer, sheep and goats, never getting out of the car. The brochure also says visit the roil estate and the guide pointed to a distant wall with a fee window and said “That is their bedrooms.”

My wife and I paid $140 American for this, and I felt like a ripped off tourist.

My wife and I are not the kind of people who expect to get catered to, but I expect authenticity.
I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place is just lovely. It is peaceful and very beautiful - the bar overlooking the rice terrace is just gorgeous. Nice rooms, spacious and clean. We only stayed for one night but would have liked to have stayed longer as we didn't get to explore Mae Hong Son town really. Went in December when it was very cold in the evenings, so they had a camps fire with jacket potatoes cooked in it! The restaurant food is very nice, breakfast doesn't have a lot of choice but it's OK. Nice staff, nice service, would go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

From the moment Miss Pum of the Fern Resort confirmed our reservation until the resort van dropped us off at the airport, we could not have asked for anything better. We will definitely return. The entire resort is run on ecologically sound principles. The 38 individual Shan-style cottages all have running water trickling by outside the windows, with small bamboo channels and spouts making peaceful noises. Each cottage is surrounded by lush greenery. The staff is friendly, informal and helpful. The on site restaurant prepares delicious northern Thai, Bangkok Thai, Chinese and European meals at very reasonable prices, and regular van rides are scheduled into town, where there are other restaurants, attractive Shan-style temples, and a fun night market. Clientele during our visit were both couples and families, from Europe, the U.S., China, Japan, and Thailand.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Hong Son hotels
2.6 mi away
Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort
Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort
#1 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
9.1 mi away
Golden Pai & Suite Resort
Golden Pai & Suite Resort
#5 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
3.6 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#9 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phu Pai Art Resort
Phu Pai Art Resort
#2 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gims Resort
Gims Resort
#3 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sang Tong Huts
Sang Tong Huts
#2 of 30 in Mae Hong Son
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Resort

Property: Fern Resort
Address: 64 Moo 10 Ban Hua Nam Mae Sakut | Pha Bong, Mae Hong Son 58000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Mae Hong Son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mae Hong Son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fern Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven (7) km out of the town of Mae Hong Son , Fern Resort is nestled in a small valley. Surrounded by forest-covered mountains and rice paddies, it offers comfortable accommodation in unspoiled,yet soothing nature. A small creek and a well maintained ground with rich fauna and flora make this eco-tourism resort the perfect place to stay for nature lovers. We would like our resort to be the forest home for the naturalist who is looking for a peaceful place. You will not find telephones or TVs in your room, but instead you can enjoy the beautiful sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Fern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Resort Mae Hong Son
Fern Hotel Mae Hong Son

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing