We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$21
View deal
Priceline
$17
View deal
Agoda.com
$15
View deal
Hotels.com$21
Booking.com$17
Destinia.com$32
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
32
107
74
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
32
107
74
20
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 243 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We chose this hotel as it had some facilities, importantly the shuttle bus into town, which is a free service (as was our departure transfer to the airport) and the pool, as we thought we might relax after touring. Never got to use the pool but it looked dated, in need of refurbishment and some decent furniture to lay on.

The hotel is tired, as many reviewers have commented, but the room was acceptable - spacious, good storage. It was at the front of the hotel overlooking parking/gardens to the road, which was noisy if you went out there. But, as there was not any furniture at all on it, we weren't out there long! The bathroom was a disappointment, small and in need of a good deep clean, (for things like tile grout), but was superficially fine to use.

Found the staff a little remote but that could have been a language problem and certainly they helped with all our queries. Lunch in the restaurant was good and a reasonable price of an hotel of this kind.

Mae Hong Son is not big. We stayed 2 nights, enough to visit the night market, walk around the lake and visit the temples. Enough restaurants and bars to keep you entertained for that time, but we were all fine to move on when the time came. But we all agreed we'd enjoyed the visit and were glad to have visited.

We made enquiries through Rose Tours for sightseeing but the costs quoted were incredible. We waited till we got there and used an operator close to the lake. His van wasn't the newest/most comfortable we experienced in Thailand, but our driver stuck firmly to the times we'd requested and the places we'd asked to see - very efficient. Our last stop was to the Karen village closest to Mae Hong Son and we were pretty uncomfortable there. Selling touristy goods and a few of the things they have made themselves is the only way the people can support themselves, but that generates a difficult atmosphere - you can't buy from every stall, but you feel you should. Hopefully all finance is pooled.

All in all, we would stay at the Imperial again, but would love it if meanwhile the owners could spend some money and restore the standards the staff are trying to achieve.

Room tip: Rooms at back overlook the pool and gardens,
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srussell300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialMaeHongson, General Manager at Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for staying at The Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort recently. We do appreciate that you taking time to answer us. Your comment are helpful for us and we look forward to welcoming you to The Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort again.

Yours faithfully,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We agree with the other reviews. This is a clean and comfortable 3 star hotel in major need of renovation. It's about 10 minutes out of the village center and there's a shuttle for transport into town although the times aren't very convenient. For example if you miss the 5.30 shuttle then you have to wait for the 7.30. And if your 7.3o dinner was slow and you missed the 9 pm shuttle then you have to wait a whole hour for the next one. There's not much to do in town besides eat so waiting for the shuttle can be boring. The rooms are large but dated. The tv and fridge are from the 80s and the bed is hard. No safe. Bathroom is sad looking and the shower leaks. I don't believe there are many better options in this small village so the hotel can get away with being dated. Despite our criticism, the hotel is clean and comfortable and convenient and probably the best there is here.

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiceMillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Externally, the Imperial is an 80s concrete block. In fact it is younger, but much in need of refurbishing.

The site is lovely, with extensive grounds, mature trees and a stream in the valley below the hotel. Surrounds are mountainous and very beautiful. One could only wish the somewhat tired hotel bedrooms matched the surroundings! Swimming pool and deck was dated and “sad”. Public rooms were better.

We had a very big room – about 900 sq. ft. plus small bathroom. Included was a kitchen (why?), lounge, dining and sleeping areas. Bed was not great, but linen was fine.
Kitchen contained (only!) 2 cups, saucers and teaspoons, two water glasses and two brandy glasses. Also tea, coffee, sugar and powdered milk AND a rice cooker! Nothing else- and no kettle! Go figure!

Included breakfast was OK, but juice probably not fresh, coffee stewed (day one, next morning was better) and no cheese for my “ham and ham” omelette. Buffet (Thai food) lunch was good value – Pad Thai excellent, but fried rice not great. Dinner was better and quite cheap. We stuck to Thai and the shrimp rolls and tempura fish/veg mix were very good. The “American Fried Rice” was an adventure – I will say no more.

Hotel spa does really great, cheap Thai Massage – just what you need after an hour on the neck of an elephant!

In summary, the Tara is about the best there is in Mae Hong Son and is only a three star hotel after all. Plus it was excellent value. Staff were ever willing, if not always 100% efficient. Not a bad hotel, but – Imperial Group – please spend some money on it!

Room tip: All rooms have excellent views, but the "higher the better".
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Mae Hong Song is only a small town so this would be one of the biggest & best hotels in town, but in a large city this would not be the case. The hotel is showing its age, with tired rooms but having said that it is a comfortable hotel set in lovely gardens full of teak trees with a small river running through the grounds. It has a nice pool and all the rooms overlook the pool and garden. It also has a sauna a small gym area by the pool. The rooms are basically equipped, they don't have tea/coffee making, robes, in-room safe, however safety deposit is offered free at reception. The rooms all have a balcony, but strangely only have one chair on them (in a room for 2).There is a tour desk, but it was not manned and you had to phone a number for service (we did come off-season), so we booked our tours in town. Tip: rose garden tours were over priced and the service was rude, so we avoided them, we booked with a small operator near the night market.
Breakfast was a basic buffet breakfast, fairly ordinary. They do have a restaurant but it was empty so we ate in town, where there were sufficient eating options. Previous reviewers have mentioned that the hotel is out of town (around 4kms) but they offer a free shuttle at set times, 7.30am, 9, 2pm, 7.30pm, 9 &10pm returning 5 mins later. If these times are not convenient there are no taxis waiting outside the hotel (but I guess reception would call one for you). The town pretty much closed by 9.30 so coming back at 10 is late enough.
The staff at this hotel were pleasant a tried to be helpful . When it was time to leave they gave us a free transfer to the bus station which was great.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were surprised at how nice this hotel actually was as we weren't expecting much at all. It is in a really pretty setting with lovely big trees all around and a small river flowing through the grounds. The pool and outside deck was a very pleasant relief from the heat.

We stayed in the junior suite on the ground floor and were basically just beside the pool deck. The room although a little older style was huge and very nicely furnished and clean. The restaurant food was a little average but the food we ordered from room service was really good. Not a lot of choices in Mae Hong Son I would recommend this hotel as probably the best.

Room tip: Junior Suite is really nice if you want a little more room.
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieH6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews