We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, well maintained guesthouse.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence @ Mae Hong Son

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Hong Son
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Residence @ Mae Hong Son
Ranked #13 of 45 Mae Hong Son B&B and Inns
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well maintained guesthouse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a gem of a place in Mae Hong Son. Close to the airport, but not noisy, Newly redone rooms with all the comforts. Breakfast is not offered, but restaurants abound in a short walk including the morning market. Very pleasant and helpful owner. I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The room was cozy, the bed especially the linen was comfortable, and the location was convenient too. But compared to other family inns I've been and liked a lot, service was not that good, I remember that the airport is only 5 mins drive away, but I chose to walk when carrying two very heavy luggage, and a very friendly guy on motorbike in my opposite direction saw me in difficulty and offered to give me a ride to the airport and helped me take off my luggage, in a very "Thai gentleman" way.

Mae Hong son, on the other hand, is one of the best places in Thailand. The flowers, the clouds and the mist, the overlooking on the valleys, all of these, you should not miss it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larvik, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed there during the New Year holidays 2011/2012. A cozy, quiet place very close to the airport (few flights, noise no problem!). No problem to walk if you have light baggage or suitcases with wheels. Nice, very clean room and bathroom. Good water pressure and hot water. No breakfast, but good choice of restaurants within easy walking distance. The owner speaks good English and is very friendly and helpful with information about the place, trips, costs, etc. Paid 1300 bht per night which I consider good value for money. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thor3267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

A very clean and comfortable hotel within walking distance to everything in Mae Hong Son. The rooms are a good size with twin beds and a decent (clean) bathroom. The owners are very helpful - giving you a map of the city with key landmarks to help you get around - they even delivered fresh fruit to us on our second day (nice touch).

Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houligans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I had an extended stay at The Residence in Mae Hong Son. The room was clean, reasonably sized, and had two double beds (all of their rooms have this setup, they don't have any rooms with one bed). It included a TV with cable access (about 3-4 English-speaking channels including France24), a mini-refrigerator, and daily bottled water. Free wi-fi, though the signal was weak and the bandwidth was poor. They also have some bicycles that you can borrow for the day, which is a great way to get around town.

The price is on the high-end for Mae Hong Son (1200B high season, 900B low season, cash only, no negotiations). However, their bathroom and beds are also the nicest in the town center, and the rooms are more comfortable than the other similarly priced (but rundown internally) places like the Chalet or Panorama.

The only issue we had with the Residence is that the entire time we had a creepy feeling that we were being watched by the owners. They definitely tracked our entrance and exits, and there were a few occasions that they commented our our personal belongings, which disturbed us. That said, there are also B&Bs in the US where the proprietors have similar tendencies.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

A great little place to stay in Mae Hong Son. The simply decorated rooms are spotless and provide a very comfortable stay. The bathroom was very small.

When I visited there seemed to be no other guests and it was very quiet indeed. Everything I needed in Mae Hong Son was within easy walking distance and there was a place to park my car outside.

The courtyard area outside the rooms was a nice touch and would work nicely if you decided to bring back a take away or have a few drinks in the evening.

The room had a fan as well as the A/C which was very useful when it was very hot!

I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Invisible_Shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

While the Residence is a nice hotel with a bright courtyard and large clean rooms, we were disappointed that there was no service due to the fact that we were the only ones (or perhaps one other) staying there. We felt that they should be discounting the room rate if they are not offering service at all. It took a few times to get the young boy staying there to show me where the router was so it could be rebooted for internet access. Residence cannot claim to be a boutique hotel if they only offer service part-time but charge full-time rates. MHS is a lovely little town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatkaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Hong Son hotels
0.4 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#9 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.7 mi away
Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort
Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort
#1 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Mai Guesthouse
Baan Mai Guesthouse
#2 of 45 in Mae Hong Son
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boondee House
Boondee House
#3 of 30 in Mae Hong Son
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gims Resort
Gims Resort
#3 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huentai Resort
Huentai Resort
#8 of 45 in Mae Hong Son
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence @ Mae Hong Son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence @ Mae Hong Son

Property: The Residence @ Mae Hong Son
Address: 41/4 Nivespisarn Road, Mae Hong Son 58000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Mae Hong Son
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Hong Son
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing