We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
22
14
9
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
14
9
1
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 50 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights in an outside rom (double bed w/ fan) for only 150 baht/night (not sure how much more the nicer "inside" room are). There was a decent outdoor shared bathroom with a hot water shower. The lady that runs the place is very friendly and speaks a bit of passable English. She tried to get us to book a tour with her (through her friend's company) but it was expensive-- I highly recommend just renting a motorbike for a 150 baht/day and driving yourself to the local attractions (Karen long neck village, waterfall, fish cave, etc.). The room was clean, but simple. The bed was firm, but comfortable. They don't have food or coffee at Johnnie House but the it is close to everything-- the location is perfect. There is a back gate that opens to Jong Kham Lake with a beautiful view of the temple on the opposite side. Also, at night vendors with street food and the usual handicrafts set up around the lake and sell things til about 9 pm. For food, I'd recommend walking half-way around the lake to Salween-- great Thai and Western food. For something to do nearby and free, walk (about 20 minutes) up to Mae Hong Son mountain wat (Wat Phrathat Doi Kong Mu) for sunset or sunrise-- beautiful view over the whole town and into the mountains.

Room tip: The "outside" rooms are just fine for 150 baht/night, but can be a bit loud until 10 pm or so.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRVLbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This morning we reached MHS from Pai and the bus station looked completely deserted. I think not many come to MHS by minivan. Well, we had no option but to hire a tuk-tuk to the city which costed like 100 THB for 3 persons. 60 THB is standard for 2; we paid this with the same tuk-tuk guy on return. When we asked him for some budget hotel, he took us to Johnnie House. We checked the room and it looked good with fan, twin beds, hot shower en-suite and a clean place. This place also has rooms for 150 THB for 1 person with a common bathroom. We thought why not try the vicinity, but we liked none. So, we came back to this place and it was a good stay. This place also as an entrance from the lake side. Nothing much to expect for 250 THB for 2 persons. For renting bike, have to walk towards the lake.

Room tip: Fan room with en-suite bathroom is better
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were originally staying for one night in Mae Hong Son and came accross Johnnie House by chance, we got a double room with shared shower/toilet for 150B, cheapest room we could find in the city. Very good value for money, the room was clean and the wash areas were cleaned every day. The lady who runs the guesthouse, Noi, was very helpful and very friendly. Due to the weather on the first day i slipped over onto my back outside the room and when we woke up the next day the whole area had been thoroughly cleaned and was spotless and free from water. Laundry service also very cheap and quick, 30B for a good machine wash! one of the best places we have stayed in Thailand, Definately recommended!

Room tip: rooms with shared bathroom and rooms with ensuites, great value for money
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomhollytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I was staying there one night and I completely agree with the first review. Perfect place if you are traviling on a budget and not looking for something amazing.

This is the best place to book a trekking trip to the Karen villages as the owner organizes treks by himself and will guide you to the most remote and amazing villages. The guide speaks good English. He also speaks Karen and this is a must as the Karen don't speak thai. Soi organizes treks as you want, from 1 to 6 days. I had great fun on a two days trek and this was the highlight of my two months holiday. It was uniquie experience in my life to stay together with the Karen and sleep in their huts.

Also the service of Johnnie Guest House was great. The drove us for free to rent motorbikes, drove us to the bus station to get our tickets in advance, etc. I can just recommend this place for the basis of your trek.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovetravalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

It's what we describe as 'thai' style. It was 300 baht for the double with ensuite and was okay and right on the lake. If you are wanting luxury, this isn't for you, but if you want clean and sleepable with a great hot shower, then this is for you. Noi is Johnnie's wife and is just fantastic. It's a great spot to just walk around the lake, look at the night markets and temples, if you are into that. Fine for sleeping, although we didn't get to sleep in because of other guests being up and about....but why would you sleep in, you'd miss something.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews